ULOG 103 - Evening Gardening

in #ulog6 years ago

ULOG 103 - Evening Gardening

The weather has been good with us today, it was warm and nice but it won't last long as tomorrow the rain is to be expected again. At least, I won't need to water the plants for the rest of the week.

As I got back home, it was still bright enough for some gardening before diner thanks to the daylight saving time. I noticed some clumps of moss on the top of the aviary, they were feeding on old decaying leaves that were stuck on the roof. They look nice so I took some photos.

Moss

Before starting the work, I had a look at my wife's garden bed and her mustard greens have grown quite a bit since she seeded the bed.

Mustard Green Seedlings

I then started making some potting mix with a combination of premium bought potting mix, some cheap one, composted horse manure, composted chicken manure, vermicompost, leaf mulch and Zeolite (rock dust).

The Zeolite is a type of rock that is harvested locally and I have bought many kilos from the quarry few years ago and still have a lot left. One property of Zeolite, apart from the high number of trace minerals, is the fact that it is has micro-pores that can trap water, nutrient and micro-organisms. Which makes it a good material to not only add minerals to the soil, make it better draining but also retains moisture and nutrients to then give it back to the plants when needed.

The garden bed where I previously planted Okras is now topped up to a better level.

IMG_7230.JPG

I then did the same with the garden bed that is surrounded by the Mulberry trees. I used to plant mustard greens in it along with white clover but I took the whipper snipper and cut everything down and left them there before topping up with the potting mix.

IMG_7231.JPG

Finally I transplanted the seeds that I left to germinate from their permiculite mix into the freshly topped-up bed. I'm a bit lazy this year because I have other projects going on so I decided to transplant them now instead of waiting for them to grow a bit bigger in their seeding container. This might or not be a mistake, we'll see. I hope the seedlings won't get eaten by snails or other critters.

IMG_7232.JPG


Previously on my Ulog:


Vote for my witness
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


I'm a member ofthese communities
Team Australia BannerTeam Vietnam banner
Steemit French community bannerHomesteaders Online
Member of the SmartVote communityMinnow Support Project

Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key
Sort:  

Your photo of your wife's mustard greens reminded me of this quote:

"If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, nothing will be impossible for you."

In saying that, I will start believing that the seeds that I have sown will grow into a beautiful plant that will give me vegetables or fruits, just like yours in your garden.

Nice quote!

Like everything, failure is to be taken as a lesson. Just keep trying and changing a little something and see if it works, else try again.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I definitely will try until I succeed. I can't wait till I'm able to take a photo of my beautiful plant and post it here on Steemit. :) I'll just keep on trying.

UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Hi @quochuy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.660 which ranks you at #459 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 458).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 304 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @quochuy!

You just got a 0.84% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.