Food As (Chook) Medicine: SuperFood Mash

If you're not an antipodean, or have had strange conversations with us peppered with words like 'rego', 'flanno' or 'stubbie', you might not know what a 'chook' is - so I'm here to rectify that, as I find it very difficult to say the word 'chicken'. It just takes far too long. They say it comes from the English for 'chuck', an abbreviation for 'chicken' - like 'chook', it's onomatopoeic, a sing song call to my poultry when I toss them treats - oats and sunflower seeds, weeds and greens. 'Here chookie chookie chookie!', I call, sounding like a chook myself, or so I'd like to think as I cluck away to my girls.

image.png

My birds are also healthy and fat, and very rarely get ill. In fact, the only illness I've had with my birds are minor complaints that are just unlucky, such as a pullet with a dislocated hip or an unidentified malaise that ends with it's death. I've been lucky enough to never get mites, or other problems that can plague a flock, but then I do take a lot of preventative care with them, just as I would my own health (mostly!). In this weather, preventative medicine is food. Coming home freezing myself, I feel sorry for the hens out in the yard, imagining them craving something warm too. My man says I spoil them, and that's fine with me.

image.png


‘There should be a word for the way
they look with just one eye, neck bent …
… And for the way they run
toward someone they trust, their skirts
hiked, their plump bodies wobbling.’

from ‘A Glossary of Chickens’ by Gary Whitehead

image.png


🐔 A Healthy Chicken Winter Mash Recipe 🐔

I guess a 'mash' is a kind of porridge, and that's where you want to start - with a base. It might be oats, or leftover rice (brown rice is great - full of protein), quinoa (so hipster) or barley. I tend to squirrel around in my cupboard for empty packets or jars of grains, or cook a little bit extra when I'm making a meal for myself.

And so, this is a recipe of 'sorts' as it's really not a precise art. It's a matter of adding what you have, and what you can afford. The point is that it's nourishing and healthy. Try adding some of the following to the base mash.

  • Seeds of any description - pepitas, linseeds, sunflower seeds. You can grow some yourself, saving them for this purpose. Flax is a good one as it's high in Omega-3 fatty acids.
  • Good oils - any kind of oil can be added to the mash. I gave them the dregs of my bottle of flaxseed oil this week, but I also emptied out 3 large fish oil capsules into the mix, and a tbsp of coconut oil. Coconut oil contains a lot of lauric acid, which has antibacterial, antifungal and antiviral properties - just what they need to boost their immune system at this time of the year. I credit the oils for my chooks lovely shiny feathers, too.
  • Garlic - which you'll have to chop really fine or they leave it behind. I tend to blend the garlic with some water or coconut milk first, then I add it to the mash. Mites are meant to hate the smell of garlic, but it's also antiviral and antibacterial. It's excellent to prevent respiratory infections in your flock.
  • Turmeric - Anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial - what's not to love about turmeric? It has an amazing effect on animals and I've seen it work wonders on dogs with arthritis, so in the mash it goes. Makes for a very sunny yellow mash!
  • Ginger - I put a few slices in the blender with the garlic. It's anti-infective and anti-viral, adding to the immune boosting function of this mash.

Of course, this would break the bank if you were feeding the chooks this every day, and you don't want to - like us, moderation is best. I tend to give them this once a fortnight in winter when the weather is bad, and less in summer - or I might give them more if they're moulting or under any kind of stress or boredom.

Some say that garlic will impart a strong flavour to your chook eggs, but I've never noticed that, and to be honest - garlic and eggs? Doesn't sound like a bad combination!

Do you make your chickens a superfood mash?

What do you put in yours?

image.png



https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmU9f4FK9j91cnUGYk9hnMXuYdAFcnF6ekkpXZ5DfiByfG

B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine

image.png


Mindfullife.png
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

Oh! Oh! I now what stubbie and chook was. I feel awfully proud!

But please do tell, Rego? Flanno? I'm baffled.

Nice plump chooks!

Hahaha!! A flanno is a flannel shirt..think 90s grunge or farmers. Rego is our car registration or road tax. Glad to educate ya!!

There you go! Every day is a learning day. I shall chin my oz friends for being remiss in their education!

What is it they call uncouth chaps again? Drogans? Zogans? Damn, my memory is really failing!

Hahaha BOGANS. Its our pet word for the poor, but we are too uncouth to see it. Irony abounds

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha that's the one!! Ah it cracks me up!

Oh, the Bogans... I remember once I had to prepare a student for moving to Australia, so I was looking for some Ausie TV shows to expose him to the language. I found Upper-Middle Bogan. Till then I had been unfamiliar with the term, but figured it out quickly. It seemed to be less about financial poverty and more about mental and social one.

They are so beautiful. I want them :)

Hey, I wonder about chocolate eggs. How about it?

Sounds like an Ayurvedic recipe for healthy chickens. All chickens deserve superfood for a healthy immune system. Farmers gotta give them chickens some love.

Yes!! I guess it is! I wonder what their doshas are haha!!

Oh, they are beautiful! No wonder with such a healthy diet!

This was a post I did on feeding a while back:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/feed-them-well-about-chicken-nutrition

Another about some of the herbs I feed:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldenoakfarm/march-6-2019-goldenoakfarm

Most all the things mentioned in these posts are fed daily, the herbs more in winter when they can't get green stuff.

Oh fabulous, was just about to do a herb post on chickens!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I wish I was one of your chickens!!

And thanks for the education. Flano will now be in my lexicon. I use my favorite flano daily as a pillow for my naps. When it's cold I'll use it as a light jacket. I need to get a wool one though...

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

They are marvelously healthy looking! I agree with you if you are going to do animal husbandry then do the best you possibly can and it looks like you have come up with a very healthy (and that's what we want, right?) mash for your chooks!

This fortnight, we're having a Herb Medicine Challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Though I am quite good in making up my own words these were all new to me.... BTW the chicken mash actually sounds yum lol

I know right? Probably not as pretty as your meals!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yay a lesson in Aussie hehe. j/k Nothing wrong with spoiling the girls. They make you happy, so you keep them happy. They truly are picture perfect @riverflows.

I used to feed my chickens (sorry, chooks) a much blander version of a mash in the winter, but since they have multiplied and I now have close to 50, I don't do it anymore. I probably should, at least a few times in the winter. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

Now, can you tell me what a stubbie is? Flanno I figured out on my own, and I saw your definition of rego, but unless a stubbie is a cigarette, I've got nothing.