Garden Journal Early March: Hops, Apples, Basil & More - Plus, The Case of the Missing Sunglasses And a New Hat

in HiveGardenlast year

Oh dear, I hope I'm in time for the #gardenjournal challenge! Kinda got so busy I always forgot about it. Naaah, just kidding. How can you forget the challenge? And have you been threading on Leo Threads with the #gardenjournal #hivegarden tag yet?

First of all, beware artichokes. They'll steal your sunglasses when you aren't looking. Seriously, I'd been looking for them for ages and there they were.

image.png

Question is, do I look better in them or does the artichoke? I got a new hat from the Vic Market by the way. Cheap at half the price. It certainly keep the sun off whilst gardening this weekend - it was SO hot!

image.png

Sooo... best thing that happened today is the single red apple that was growing on a new apple tree just plonked off right in front of me , as if to say: 'would you like a fresh apple with almond butter?'. Seriously, yes please. I've been intermittent fasting and I find an apple and some nuts or yoghurt good for lunch. This was downright spectacular.

IMG20230305111304.jpg

I have plenty more apples, don't worry. Just that red one (damn, what was the variety??) was special.

IMG20230305111036.jpg

I'm sooo into these strawflowers. They just keep on coming. The rate they are dropping their seeds, I'll have three million of them next year.

I decided to grow seeds inside this year. People assume as we're headed toward Autumn and Winter, we won't be growing, but we live in temperature southern Australia and we can grow broccoli, kale, a lot of root vegetables, onions, garlic, leeks, etc etc. I've had a bit of a problem with the blackbirds ripping things out of the pots so I thought it'd be safer growing them indoors. Two days and they are already breaking soil.

image.png

The greenhouse is producing some tomatoes, capsicum, chilli and a few varieties of basil. The tomatoes haven't done that great in the rest of the garden due to wierd weather but I'm getting a few ripe ones now.

The turmeric is going great guns in the pots. In fact, most things are doing better in tubs. I think it's because next door's pine roots are getting in and drying out the soil. I think I might just get wicking pots and pots for plants in there now. The curry plant is happy too I think. So is the thai basil. Yum. Jalapenos have been wierd - in fact, last year's hot jalapenos are now not hot at all. How does that happen?

IMG20230305111339.jpg

The hops is almost ready to pick. Brewer mates are waiting. Plus, a tincture - Jamie loves it in his herbal tea at night.

IMG20230305112300.jpg

The big job this weekend was weeding around the gazebo area, cleaning up a lot of fallen bark and leaves, pruning excess branches and cleaning out the pond. It's a bit of a mess, and we're trying to figure out how we can make it inviting to sit under but haven't found a solution yet.

IMG20230305110902.jpg

I think the pond has sprung a slow leak. Still there's enough water to keep the bees and birds happy. I like cleaning it out once a year, and move the water to the veggie patch as it's so rich with nutrients from rotting plant matter.

IMG20230305110922.jpg

There's lots of things to talk about but I don't want to bore you. I'm closing off some beds and mulching them because I dont want to maintain them or have anyone else have to when we go to Europe in 2024. Oh, by the way, if anyone wants a cheap rental for a year and look after the garden too, get in touch.

The choko hasn't born fruit yet - it did bear two the first year but I dont know why I have none now. There's pumpkins everywhere but no fruit yet either. The bees are around, no problem there.

IMG20230305111009.jpg

I've had ashwagandwa self seed everywhere which is cool. The rabbits don't eat it, but as I transplanted it where I wanted it, the chooks had to be kept off it. One chicken is in the bad books at the moment because she leapt up on and stole Jamie's scrambled eggs on toast RIGHT OUT OF HIS LAP! What the.. he nearly cried. But I do make amazing scrambled eggs. The trick is garlic chives and a good whack of butter.

IMG20230305111022.jpg

The wild dagga is stunning at this time of year, and huge. We just dug up a rabbit warren under there. I love the bright flowers as a backdrop in the garden.

IMG20230305110953.jpg

Still lots and lots of Autumn pruning to be done, and then it'll be pulling out the pumpkin vines etc etc. I dont think I'll grow garlic this year - I'll leave a bed fallow I think. Kinda no point as we'll be away in 2024, hopefully. Due to this year's rust I'm not keen on it anyway. I've been growing garlic consistantly for fifteen years so this was a strange decision to make.

Hope your garden is growing well!

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @bhattg by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Beautiful to see parts of your garden and some what it produces.
Thanks for sharing 👋🏻😊

 last year  

It is great to see your garden and learnt of all that’s happening. You have a large property- lovely. That Apple must have tasted heavenly. I am happy it had a better fate than the scrambled eggs. I will definitely try the garlic chives next time. Btw like you I did not plant any this winter. It was my first time and my yield was not impressive. I see your lovely red pepper - I am excited to plant them again this year as last year went so well.
I hope you will find someone to love your garden when you travel next year.

 last year  

I hope so too. I am sorry I haven't had time to get to your post yet and will try today...

Your garden seems whack in the middle of the outback, just the way I like gardens. messy. beautiful bounty. well done.

 last year  

Ha, nah, it's only half an hour from coast so not outback at all...

Outback wild kinda. beautiful anyways !

You winding down, me just starting up... I loved your red apple!

 last year  

Me too!!! It's gonna be a great tree!

The tree guard looks like a spider web, impressive. I can see your plants are well taken care of. I have seen basil during Gordon Ramsay's cooking show. This is my second time. ☺️

 last year  

Basil is beautiful! You should try growing.

Fun post. Where do I vote for the artichoke 🤣 jkjkjk I like the hat and btw butter makes everything better 😋 I'm getting a travelling jones. I could seriously take a year in Australia. We are off to Florida this week which will be great fun and WARM sunny weather. I'm jealous of the fresh apple. Hopefully we will have some luck with our young apple trees this year.

 last year  

Yes come rent my house 😂😂 It'll be cheap but you'll need to garden. 😂

Wow, I'm so jealous of your garden @riverflows. Everything there looks so well. Now I realized how much I miss gardening full-time at home.🥺

 last year  

Oh I know you miss gardening. Hope you are well.

Thanks, @riverflows. One of these days I will share some garden updates since I'm already preparing some plans to return to my gardening session despite my busy schedule. Stay safe always and best regards!


No doubt you dear @riverflows look spectacular in your sunglasses!

You have a garden with an exquisite variety of fruit plants and wildflowers. I'm partial to green apples, but this red apple provokes a big bite!

Could you try, I don't know if the soil there would suit you, with a grape vine? That will eventually function as a gazebo roof, provide shade and allow you to welcome your visitors comfortably in the open air.

I really enjoyed reading your eye-catching post, thanks for sharing, and in advance I wish you happy travels for 2024!


FENIX.png



 last year  

those sunglass.... ermagerd... lol so funny.
maybe we should have a competition for "dress up a garden plant"
that could be really fun.. So you need to take a small garden element and dress it up or turn it into a scene or something. i'm not quite sure of details, but it might be funny.

I'm hoping we can grow broccoli this year. I didn't eat it early enough last year and it all went to seed. The native bees loved it though. I have an amazing recipe for broccoli soup that i just love.

happy gardening

I laughed a lot with the flower with glasses!
Beautiful pictures @riverflows
Greetings from Venezuela.

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator sharminmim & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

 last year  

Wow! You have a lot of plants in your garden and you know what I love the most? The apples! Apples is so hard to grow here in Philippines, I know some but only very few we're able to grow this fruit here but not in our place only in some part of the Philippines.

 last year  

Isn't it funny? I get jealous of tropical plants and people get jealous of my apples !!

 last year  

Yes that's the reality. We are dreaming to have those fruits not available in our place and vice versa.

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Feedback from the March Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - February 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

The artichoke is looking cool with the sunglasses on :D But you look great on them! :)

It's so nice that you can grow apples in your garden and they are generously fruiting! I can tell you have a vast space and amazing you have a variety of plants on them. You have quite a sustainable paradise and I'm feeling envious 😅

Why should a chicken eat eggs? Oh, these things never cease to amaze me. Lol. I once gave chevon to a goat and guess what? It devoured it and needed more🤣🤣

I'll definitely try that garlic chives never knew garlic could be added to eggs. Love it so much in sauces and stew but then eggs has just been added to the list. Thanks to you😊

Your garden looks so beautiful with lots of nature's beauties growing here and there, I envy you.💜💜💜

 last year  

I KNOW RIGHT! And the bloody things LOVE eggs.

GArlic chives are perfect in eggs! So good.

And the bloody things LOVE eggs.

🤣🤣

GArlic chives are perfect in eggs! So good.

Can't wait to taste it 😌🥰

 last year  

Yes! Fine chop and saute in the butter first til they are soft, then add the eggs, salt and pepper, and a splash of milk if you like. I promise you'll love it.

Thanks a lot for this recipe 🥰. I really appreciate it

Now growing some hops to make beer with sounds fun!