Garden Update November - Plus a Drone's Eye View of the Garden!

in HiveGarden7 months ago

Goodness, I must apologise to all the gardeners whose posts I haven't read this week. Life's a bit crazy busy at the moment! I got a chance to walk around the garden this morning and take a few photos, and it really made my heart explode at how darn amazing it is! Everything is flowering and fruiting like crazy. I wish it was like this all the time!

I really must net the raspberries. There's millions this year and I want to get them before the birds! It's almost my favourite part of the garden as the white sage sits behind this patch and it's really beginning to dominate with it's huge silvery flower stalks.

It's really hard to limit myself to ten photos, and I might even break my own rules and hope @fantagira isn't payint attention. Side note, the whole POINT of that rule is to stop people posting the same plant from ten different angles - maybe I should change the rule a bit?

)

The iris have just been extraordinary this year. When I divided and put them around the garden I didn't think they'd like it but they DID like the dynamic lifter fertiliser I gave them over winter and rewarded me with this beauty!

There's lots of things seeding at the moment - coriander and kale, which I allow to flower for the bees and seed so things self seed the following year. I have been eating them as well, nipping off tips for salads and vegetables. I mean, we eat a lot of flowers anyway, like bouquets of purple flower broccoli, my absolute favourite!

We're still overloaded with lemons. The irises are just gorgeous. This one is almost my favourite I think. The colours are fantastic. They do seem to really like a bit of extra fertiliser to flower well.

The beautiful West Australian natives are out. Their flower is so trippy - I love it. Oregano of course is everywhere.

The white sage is going gangbusters, sitting pretty next to the white and purple lavender. I love this plant! It's so hardy as well.

image.png

I also took the drone up. I panic a bit and hit 'return to home' when it disappears - I just don't feel too confident flying it yet. But you can see how much garden I have to manage - and this is probably only a fifth of it! I can't wait til I am skilled enough to do a video of the drone flying through the garden. If only the wind would die down for longer so I can get a chance to practice!

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort:  

So many lemons. You can sell them right? 😄 this drone hobby I also need to get into and your garden is huge. I did not not expect it to be this big 🤯😁😄

 7 months ago  

We can't sell them because everyone else has them too! Lemon trees are common in this part of Australia. And rural Australia commonly has big gardens. We are lucky to have 5 acres!!!

That is lucky you can drink lemonade every day then 😁😄😁

 7 months ago  

Hahah true - I like lemons in soda water!

The drone's eye view looks amazing, it gives a different perspective from what we used to see from the ground. By the way, I also love the lemons, they all look very nice.

 7 months ago  

It's pretty cool isn't it? When the wind drops I'll take some more.

Yes, pretty cool, good morning, and have a nice day ahead.

Cool to see the drones view of your garden. 😎

 7 months ago  

I will take some more when I get the hang of it.

Awesome… looking forward to it.
You can do amazing things with drones.

Omg... So jealous! Millions of raspberries sounds like heaven. I can't wait to have my own piece of land again and start a veggie, fruit and herb garden. Here we keep being forced to move house so I am kinda giving up on making the garden all nice. Next year should be the year that we own land again if all goes well and if we find something we like and can afford. Enjoy your garden and I hope you find some time to practice your drone skills.

 7 months ago  

Its hard when you rent! Hope you find somewhere soon. Are you still in Cambodia?!

Still in Cambodia. But the hubby is going to Portugal in March or April to look around. We might do a few years closer to the family before going to South America.

 7 months ago  

That'll be lovely. We'll be in Portugal then we hope. At least for a few weeks.

Oh I hope we are there at the same time and not too far from each other so we can meet. Once the hubby finds a few nice spots I will travel to Portugal for a week or 2-3 and hopefully leave with a property in our name!

 7 months ago  

Omg that would be incredible!

What an abundant garden! I love the drone shot.

And the lemons! The vibrant yellow color gives so much happy vibes. The irises are pretty, too.

I don't need to say I'm jealous of the raspberries. Please throw some hundreds of thousands over here at the desert before the birds get them! 😋

 7 months ago  

Hahahah raspberries are soooo good aren't they! I will net them today.n

Haha 😂 How can I not be paying attention when I see a tag? 😁

It’s tricky to limit yourself to 10 pictures, but not undoable. If you have a lot of plants though, it’s mega tricky and I do love to look at what people have growing around their gardens.

I’ve never eaten any flowers in salads. I might start doing it 😁💙

 7 months ago  

Oh yes they are awesome! And you can find wild ones there too like ramson flowers which are super garlicky.

Ha! Not sure I’d know what to pick. Need to read some more about edible flowers 🌸 😁

 7 months ago  

Most flowers are edible, well, any herb or vegetable, plus violas, calendula, elderflowers.

I didnt know coriander bears flowers

 7 months ago  

Yes, otherwise how do you get coriander seeds? Fresh coriander seeds are ammmmaaazing.

From the look of things i must say you had a pretty good walk. Seems am there taking that walk with you cause you took the pictures step by step. Those lemons sure will taste great, is it ready for harvest?

It has been a pleasure to visit your garden through your photographs, you made me laugh when you mention that you want to pick the raspberries before the birds, I imagined you in the middle of a bunch of them scaring them away.

On the other hand, how nice that the compost gave a positive result, in gardening one tries a lot of trial and error, sometimes the results are within or even over the expectation and others, well the opposite and I think that is part of the charm of this activity, your photo area with the drone is spectacular, you will have more confidence in it and you will use it better.

Looking at your garden from the view of the drone, I must say you are hardworking. You get to manage this huge garden, well-done 🙌 Oh wait! You are picking the raspberries before the birds? Hehe! The birds are sure going to host meeting because against you😀

 7 months ago  

I think i have a lot of nervous and anxious energy I channel into garden work!

Ahhh, spring in November! Love that iris! Cool shot from the drone.

Hello riverflows!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 9th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You receive 🎖 2.7 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 111 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START