Joy in All Things, and None

in The MINIMALIST8 months ago

I reject the things that bring me joy. They are impermanent, cumbersome burdens that tie me down. One practices detachment more and more as one gets older.

But still, as long as one is prepared to let them go, one can smile and enjoy them. Then, of course, there are the bigger things, the ones you cannot hold onto - the wind, the birds in flight, the bugs, the seasons, the sunshine through the window in the late afternoon. These would be harder to let go of, when my time comes.

There are objects that remind me of the bigger things in the universe that go beyond the material, touchable, seemingly permanent things that I attach value to.

Garden - Om

the hum in my chest
the spirit that rushes in
seeing the ground from the sky, the sky from the ground
your heart beats in time with mine
we are born, we die

The painted brass 'om' is faded now, once red and green. It is obscured by the grape which tangles and entwines the posts which surround the greater vegetable garden. It is a constant reminder of the sound of the universe, the all pervading oneness that is the divine that connects us. Out in the garden I can feel that sense of unity with all things.

IMG20231025083805.jpg

I pick broad beans and feel the soft inner casing
pop peas onto my tongue
rub herbs between finger tips and inhale
this is a life of riches.

Birds

did you know some birds train their offspring to recogise song in ovo?
birds teach us to step light on the earth
the most important thing here is the bird baths are full
they need us, we need them

A white goshawk occasionally lands on the posts of the vegetable patch. A flock of gang gangs sit in the peppermint gum and croak like rusty doors. A noisy wattle board swings off the kangaroo paw flower. A harem of blue wrens curiously approach when I weed, knowing bugs will break surface. A baby magpie falls ungracefully out of the nest, and sits clumsily on the driveway, recovering.

image.png

A Vintage Landrover

a conundrum: we're running out of oil
yet the road beckons: the simplicity of it

What a large, cumbersome, unwieldy, uneconomical thing to be in love with. We have spent so much time restoring her that she has become her own person, dear Buttercup, with character and old world style. She will be hard to let go of, when it comes time to sell.

image.png

we're all running out of road

Shiva

ebb/flow
born/die
dawn/dusk
rise/fall
gain/lose

Dear dancing Shiva, destroyer of the universe, creator of all that is, father of Ganesha, the one who carries the burdens of the world, great compassionate one, source of strength and guidance, god of transformation and renewal. The gods here on my land are not because I am Hindu, but rather, because they remind me of essential aspects of life. I appreciate the philosophical and spiritaul aspects of these deities, find insight and inspiration by engaging them. Shiva was bought home from Indonesia years ago and takes pride of place in our bookshelf. It is also Shiva who was gifted by India to CERN, the centre of scientific reserach and the home of the large hadron collider. Shiva is a reminder of the interconnectness of art, culture, and science - in the home of a writer and a scientist, this resonates deeply.

IMG20231025083356.jpg

Surfboards

a wetsuit drips from where it drapes over a line
the scent of wax
salt on skin, eyebrows
skin tingling with cold
the slide of the board down the green line
a memory: my father steps out of the sea

I have three - a stand up paddle board, a 9'1 longboard, and this red one which isn't really mine, but my son's. Actually, it was bought for Jamie, but he doesn't ride it. By default, it's mine. It was shapped by Peter Ashley, a deaf shaper from back in the old days that knew me as I was growing up. He's retired now, but his boards can still be seen every now and then, vintage stylie. Not being a surfer, Jamie wanted this board out in the shed. No way would I let it gather dust. It sits in my yoga room. A surfer likes a board as an ornament.

IMG20231025083512.jpg

*This is my response to this challenge by the Mimanlism community.

Sort:  

a conundrum: we're running out of oil
yet the road beckons: the simplicity of it

This. I feel it too.

How many months/weeks/days til you go away?

!LUV

Feb 14!!!!!

Cooooool! !LUV

Lovely post, @riverflows. So many thoughts, ideas and reflections that beckon my to slow down and ponder!

I love the sculpture of Shiva. And Buttercup. And the longboard as decor.

Thanks! I can get it out to surf but it's tricky .. and I have two more which suit me better.

I think it’s so cool that you surf!

There are not many objects as such that I hold dear. I too find joy more in the things we can't really hold onto, more like they are not ours to claim. Just to enjoy, the wonderful beauty of nature.
Although I did put two objects in my response, a stone and my juicer. Things that really enrich my life.
Love your response xxxx

🤍🤍🤍 I could have easily discarded these and choose different ones as I could let any objects go.. except for surfboards and birds 🤍

Well, I believe that if something brings me joy, we should embrace it till it lasts
That's what I always do

I guess defining joy is part of it too. I am contemplating that now!

I absolutely loved the poetry in your text. But the objects that truly caught my attention were undoubtedly the OM and Lord Shiva, as I am passionate about Hindu culture.

Thankyou 🤍🌱 I have collected a few over the years. My postman is an Indian Hindu and was surprised and happy to see Ganesha at the front door. He had to ask me why he was there 😂

A rush of good feeling after reading through this publish. I have realized that everyday is a gift through just being alive. Thank you for sharing.

Aw yes it is. A real blessing.

 8 months ago  

Thank you for your entry, we appreciate your participation, and trust that you'll enjoy the entries of other contestants.

Have a great day:)
4.jpg

Image created using Canva and logos belong to respective communities The Minimalist and ThoughtfulDailyPost

Thanks @minimalistliving, I'm getting through a few of them this morning over a cuppa!

The grape intertwined with the post by itself is a beautiful poem of many meanings. I adore this post, your thoughts, and the poetry.

Thanks so much, that means a lot coming from you xx

This post is beautiful all over @riverflows; The title is powerful and each item has a riveting story that makes you appreciate and ponder.
I'm pleased that you shared this with us, and I'm a little late catching up with messages 🙌

2.jpg
Image belong to me and edited in Canva.

Thanks darling, I know how hard it can be keeping up with life and our communities! 💓💓

🤗💓

Hmm.. when I read your post it reverberates deeply with in me.
Love of all things nature and faith in all things higher than us
Peace and love in spending time connecting within and without
Lovely writing as always.

I think we are alike 💗💗💗