On Goats, Polytunnels and Puppies

in #homesteading4 years ago

Many years ago, we bought a kid. No, not a small child, as that would be ridiculous, but a baby goat. Jamie was just charmed by the creature at a farmer's market, and I couldn't say no. We brought it home and called it Petal.

And it cried, and cried, and cried.

We didn't know much about goats.

In the end, we realised a baby goat was not what we needed, and it was a bit irresponsible of us to even think we could.

So Petal went back to it's owners.

And I cried, and cried.

image.png

For years we've wanted a dog. We've had dogs before, but because of the pain of saying goodbye to Rosie, the dog we had in England who ended up being lovingly raised on a narrowboat, we decided that until we could truly, truly be present for a dog, we wouldn't get one.

And this week, busy building a polytunnel, we decided that now is a great time for a puppy. We're home, and present. And we really, really wanted a puppie. So we found these beautiful kelpie pups on Gumtree, and decided it was time. I'd had kelpies as a kid - they're loyal, highly energetic and intelligent working dogs, and I love them. They've always been the only breed for me.

image.png

And then at 4 am this morning, a few hours before we were meant to go pick her up, I woke up thinking about the polytunnel. There was so much work to be done to get it operational in time for Spring. In fact, I wanted it done last week. We've made a great start - the hoops are up - but there's the plastic to go on and the beds to be put in, seedlings to plant and the irrigation and all.

image.png

It's part of a whole list of things we wanted to do before we went back to work. Plant more trees. Build a perfect chicken coop. Fabricate a perfect roofrack for the Landrover. Sort out the front garden, the eaves, the olive grove. Paint the ceiling, tile the splashback in the bathroom.

And how does one get all this done with an energetic puppy?

Jamie also woke up, and was thinking the same thing. Kelpies take a lot of work. A lot. And if we go back to work next year - when we do - we're just not going to be around as much as we should be, for a kelpie.

Adulting is tough.

We're going to have to babysit the puppy my son is picking up on Sunday instead. That's a good substitute, we think. Better than doing wrong by a dog. They're a gift to the world. We'll always be dog people, but for now, that has to be sans dog.

Back to the polytunnel, then.

With Love,

https://gateway.ipfs.io/ipfs/QmcGSZxvsXD8YbSCNAo6KWc4a9RjXyRCjWupZdPXJapkXk

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


PeakD - The Best Way to Experience The Hive Blockchain



Sort:  

Shared on Twitter.

image.png

You got a massive garden there! I'm not a dog person, in fact I'm not a pet person at all, but I think they do need a lot of TLC so its only fair that they get that. I hope the folks from Gumtree weren't too annoyed about your last minute change in decicision

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 36/45)

Thanks for the tipu!!! No, they weren't - in fact, they stressed to me that a change of mind was fine, it meant we were being responsible about puppy ownership!!!

My husband's fishing buddy has 6 kelpies (I think, I lose count...) and they are marvelous dogs! But a lot of work and need a lot of attention. His are very well mannered and LOVE attention. Nothing like 4 full grown kelpies laying on you soaking up pats...

Oh don't... I really, really wanted one.. I adore them so much. Do you have a dog?

No, a dog takes more energy than we have spare. The 19 year old deaf, half blind, arthritic cat is our speed... :))

Hahaha... hilarious. Yeah I will stick to chooks for now.

Cute little guy. I had two dogs for 24+ years, and after they died, like you said in this post, I've never had the time nor the stability to take care of such a thing.

Not sure if I'll ever get another one, but it sure is fun hanging out with other people's dogs, no responsibility involved.

I wish we did have other puppies to play with. Luckily my son is picking one up tomorrow - a kelpie cross schnauzer!!!! I have Grandma puppy rights now!

yeah, being itinerant makes it so hard to have a puppy. How's that barking dog going?

Wait! Did I made that happened???

Ah, so beautifully written. You will have a dog again when the time is right 🙂And please don't stress yourself out with all the stuff you want to get done before going back to work. I'm just offering a friendly reminder to enjoy the process and what's already been done or started. That polytunnel looks great, it's pretty big, right? 🤗💚

It's huge.. 6 m x 4 metres ish. We have the space. Oh yes I've finally slipped into ENJOYING not stressing... having so much fun!!

I love goats we used to have them when I was a child .. grew up drinking fresh goats milk. I also love kelpies .. although we have Australian cattle dogs, which I also love. :) But you're certainly right they take a lot of time and effort .. hence you'll know when the time is right for you. Great to see the poly coming together .. I've been thinking along the same lines. ;)

Hey!!!! Do you Have land for the polytunnel? I've been browsing them on Instagram (yeah yeah I know) and there's a LOT of UK folk doing amazing things with them..

Awwwww.. can I get a photo of your cattle dog??

Well the poly tunnel would probably take up my entire garden lol .. but I think we may look into hiring a little bit of land. Yeah sure, here she is :)
DSC01205.JPG

AW! She's a blue heeler! She looks out of place in England! Haha - yeah land is hard in the UK!!! You might be able to build a small one? I don't know how much space you have, things are pretty tiny there! HOpe you are welll and enjoying the sunshine.

Yes there aren't many of them over here .. my old boy just died so I really want to get another, but following lockdown the prices have gone stupid .. so I'll have to wait .. impatiently! :) I have a fair amount of room .. but the garden is a bit bitty and not a continuous flow. That said, I may be overestimating how much room we actually need lol

I'm still in a fair amount of pain .. but hoping to be able to get out for a bit of walking next week. :) Hope you've also been keeping well.

Fabricate a perfect roofrack for the Landrover.

Me, me me me me me! I can do that. Let me do that?

Sure. Pop over anytime. Have you seen our most recent Buttercup posts? Here's another photo for you.

img_0.709918885999256.jpg

And another

img_0.8211892406162414.jpg

Pop over anytime.

You and J will regret so bad the day I suddenly knoc on the front door hahahahahahha

You know, I ended up loving the grey color! in the beginning I was kinda sad that Butter was gonna lose its former glorious color.

Yeah, me too, but it does look good. Next time I want marine blue.

Ah! That puppy is so cute! I think being a puppy sitter is a great alternative for being responsible dog owners is quite the undertaking!

Dogs are not like cats that can fend for themselves pretty good, even keep them as outside cats, where dogs are more dependent on you and tie you down a bit more (although I just remembered the farm yard dogs that were outside all the time and could be left with just someone checking in on them.

German Shepards has been the type of dog we go for with friends that are breeders. My husband has been retired ever since we got our dog Bruno so he is around most of the time and I will soon be retired so he will have both of us at home!

Enjoy your time with the puppy - such fun!