The Un-meltable Snowman Story entry for the - - The 24 hour short story challenge - - by @mctiller

12-16-2018

Snow Angel Valley

Image Source: Contest page

"Well Bob, what do you make of it? Why is it not melting like everything else"? Jasper asked as she looked around at all the warming going on around her and the town. She was a bit concerned, it was still February yet it looked like late May. "Do you know who built the Snowman Bob? Where did it come from? Why is it feeling like late spring in the middle of February? Is that thing actually growing? It seems bigger than yesterday? Jasper just kept rattling of question after question to Bob.

"Slow down on the questions Jasper, I think most of us are as much in the dark and as concerned as you are. As for it not melting, I am not sure, I need to do some more test. The temperatures right next to it are a lot colder than away from it. Of a more important note, the dew point up close to it is very low. No moisture hardly at all in the air around it." Bob looked around, then saw her, "Hey, Shelly do you know who built the snowman? You are always walking by here on your way into work." Bob asked her.

I think I saw Matt, Michael and Rachael out here just before Valentines Day. I heard Rachael say that they needed to get a heart for it, so it would last longer than their Christmas one. But that was a few days ago. Come to think of it I haven't seen any of those three lately. I do agree with Jasper though that thing does look to be a bit bigger than yesterday." she informed Bob.

Walter spoke up "I think Shelly is right on both accounts those three are always together. They came into my hardware store looking for a heart for their snowman they said. You remember that New York City snow globe heart I have Bob, well when Rachael saw it she went nutso over it pointing and smiling that's the heart that's the heart she kept repeating. Matt asked me how much to buy it. Well now it was a gift to me, you see from that odd fellow who had car problems last year, oh what was that fellows name, really odd, old sounding name...give me a sec I'll think of it. Any ways you and I helped him fix his car and he gave us that Heart snow globe from New York...hmmm...yeah, yeah Mansown that was his name I'm sure of it, Mansown. I thought he kept saying Manson you know like that whacked in the head dude, but he spelled it out, he did not like that Manson name one bit. Well any hows, since it was a gift to me I thought I would let the kids have it and told them when spring came if they could bring it back I would appreciate it. They smiled and seemed real happy about it being free."

"I remember him now, yeah he really did not like that Manson name now that you mention it. How long ago was it that they stopped by your place Walter?" Bob asked.

"I'm pretty sure it was Valentines day, I had a box of chocolate hearts that I was giving out to customers that day." Walter replied.

"O-Kay", Bob said, "maybe we should get Matt, Michael, and Rachel over here and see if they have any ideas. After all they built the snowman. Shelly would you mind trying to round those three up?" Bob asked of her.

"No problem, be back in a bit" Shelly replied as she turned to go hunt the trio down.

Bob continued to do some temperature readings. he sent Walter about 20 feet away in one direction with a remote temperature sensor, and Jasper in the opposite direction. The readings were growing in degrees til they stabilized at about the 20 foot mark, to be sure Bob sent them just a little bit further away, there was no further rise in the temperature beyond that point. The Snowman seemed to be the central point of warming.

Bob looked around at the small crowd that had gathered around the snowman area looking to see if Sten the water maintenance man was around. He was the only one with the key to the water tower. Bob did not see him initially so he just called out for him."Sten, Sten Mortinson, are you here with us?"

Sten rose to his feet, "Yep, was just taking a breather Bob, what do you need?" Sten asked.

"You have the only key to the water tower, and that's the highest point in town for a good look around, any chance I can get you to go up and take a look see"? Bob asked.

"Sure no problem, let me stop by my truck and bring you a radio so I can let you know what I see". With that Sten went to his truck retrieved the radio for Bob, and went on his way.

Walter and Jasper had just returned when Sten was taking off. "Caught the tail end of that Bob, good idea sending Sten up the tower", Walter said as he and Jasper came up."So any ideas yet Bob"?

"Well it seems as if the temperature stabilize at about 20 feet. Right at 68 degrees, and about 32 percent humidity. Strange thing is no winds. Its 12 degrees cooler here, but it really does not feel like it, and humidity is about 45 percent. Now as close as I could get to the snowman due to some sort of barrier is about eight inches away and it is much colder and a lot drier. I don't know how its doing it, but that snowman is the cause of the temperature rise we have been experiencing....Bob, Bob, this is Sten, at the tower. You won't believe this but Ill tell it like I see it. We are in some sort of bubble from the looks of things. I can see it green and spring all around us out to about twenty miles, then there is nothing but snow. and I mean a lot of snow". Shelly came running up about then almost out of breath.

"They're...they're frozen Bob, all three of them over at Rachael's house. Sitting in a circle holding hands and smiling. They are frozen, but not frozen, I can see their eyes move, and mouths move, but they look like they are almost frozen in time. You need to see them Bob". Shelly said.

Everyone including Bob looked around at each other, then almost as one they all looked up, there was no sun, yet it was bright, just a sky of white all around them, no blue, no clouds just white.

After a few days, there was no doubt in anyone's mind, they were in a globe of sorts. A spring globe, but trapped in a globe all the same. They all met again at the snowman to decide what to do.

"Does it look like everyone is here"? Bob asked as he scanned the crowd. "I think so Bob", said Sten. "What do you think we should do?"

It was this question that caused an "Uh mm" sound from the snowman. "Hello good folks of Snow Angel Valley. Please do not be alarmed, I will explain. I have traveled to many towns large and small, your little hamlet was the one bright spot in all my travels. I could not let you perish with the majority of the human race. Some will survive and thrive outside your community, in time they may be come a problem for your ancestors. Walter and Bob, it was your kindness that caused me to look further into your town, then Matt, Michael, and Rachael found me appearing hungry and they brought me food, told me stories, and entertained me. Jasper you do not remember me for I did not look to you as I did to Walter and Bob, you saved a stray dog from being run over, and fed and took care of it and worried for weeks when it disappeared. Each and every community member did me a service with out asking. Truly no town has ever been as deserving of it's name as your little hamlet of Snow Angel Valley. Do not be alarmed about Matt, Michael, and Rachel, they are fine and learning, they will be your leaders, to the new lands when the time comes. Mansown, yes Walter that is me-Snowman-

The 24 hour short story challenge

Here was the topic for the short story:
After a huge snowstorm some kids make a snowman that mysteriously does not melt when the rest of the snow does.

Check-in every now and then at @steemUSA, they may have a new Monday Photo or Thursday thought post.