Diagnosed with Oligohydramnios

in Motherhood9 months ago

image.png
(Me trying to smile so that my husband wont worry because visiting hours has a schedule in my ward)

On July 16th, I was diagnosed with Oligohydramnios. For those of you who don't know what it is, Oligohydramnios is when the fluid (Amniotic Fluid) surrounding your baby falls below the normal level of 5cm. Actually, I'm not yet considered Oligo because my total AFI is still at 8.97, but the OB sonologist told me that I should rush to the hospital because one of the quadrant has zero AFI, so I did as she said. I went to our city hospital, where I was admitted. They hydrated me and performed many tests, but they couldn't find the reason why my amniotic fluid was decreasing. They said there was no leak or anything that could be causing the decrease.

On July 29th, I was discharged because the results were fine, and both me and my baby were okay. I was asked to have a BPS (biophysical score) on July 31st, which I did. The result of the BPS was poor, and my amniotic fluid had dropped to around 3, which is below 5.

Since our city hospital is not yet a tertiary hospital and lacks equipment for premature delivery, I was transferred to a semi-private hospital. There, they conducted tests again and hydrated me with IV fluids. On August 7th, they tested my BPS again, and the result was now 11cm, with a score of 8/8 on the BPS scale. I was discharged the following day because of the increase in amniotic fluid and because they cant find any problems with me and my baby. However, the cause of the decrease in amniotic fluid still hasn't been found.

I thought that since it came back to normal, that everything now will be fine but I was wrong.

Last week, my husband and I decided to change our OB. Our previous OB was a public OB at the city hospital, but now we've decided to go to a private OB. The new OB advised me to stay calm and continue taking the vitamins provided by the private hospital. She also recommended drinking more water. She explained that the plan is to continuously monitor the baby until we reach at least 37 weeks. She told me that even if I reached my 37th week but Im still not laboring we will try to reach until 39 to 40 weeks, but for now, our target is to reach 37 weeks so that my baby will not be premature.

I'm currently at 33 weeks now, she also mentioned that if the fluid decreases again, she will admit me to the hospital so I can receive hydration until reaching the 37th week of pregnancy.

Yesterday, I visited a diagnostic center to check my BPS score again, and it had decreased to 8.1. My OB assured me that this is still within the normal range and advised me not to worry or stress myself. She reminded me the importance of staying hydrated and drinking plenty of water. In addition to water, my husband has been providing me with egg whites during every meal, as that's what the hospital gave me for my diet during my stay. He also bought pomegranate juice, which is rich in protein.

I have stopped worrying now, I don't want unnecessary stress for myself and the baby. I am doing my best to stay hydrated, get plenty of rest, eat nutritious foods, and pray to God to watch over me and my baby, as that's all I can do for now. I would also appreciate your prayers as I aim to reach my 37th week of pregnancy.

Are there any mothers out there who have had the same experience? Any advice would be welcome.

Sort:  

Congratulations!
Your post has been manually curated and reblogged.

You can follow our curation trail on Hive.Vote

If you want to support us and the authors we vote for you can upvote this comment or delegate some Hive Power to our account. Thanks!

Propose a worthy post by mentioning us in the post or in a comment.

We reblog curated posts, follow us if you wish to see them in your feed.

Congratulations @sharmbabe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the second Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of the first Semi-Final
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2