PSA: Powercuts kill witness servers....

in #witness3 years ago (edited)

Who knew? 😱

So yeah my witness is currently disabled due to an unexpected powercut, The blocklog got corrupted and during attempting to repair it WSL2 decided to cause Windows to BSoD and corrupt my complete WSL instance.

So everything is gone.

Now rebuilding my node, switching back to Virtual Box because I really don't want WSL2 causing more BSoD...

Task:

  1. Install base linux system. DONE
  2. Build hived. DONE
  3. Download 400GBs of blocklog. DONE
  4. Configure witness. DONE
  5. Replaying Blockchain. Ongoing

Need to search around for info on configs again. I stole the layout and format of the privex docker one cause it's nicely set out will have to try find it again. Default config file really could do with having all the options already defined in it except commented out.

So yeah... Might be a few days as I slowly get this thing sorted.

untitled.gif


If you enjoyed my post feel free to upvote, reblog, and drop a comment below too!

You could also vote for me as a witness!

Thanks for watching!


Where to find me:

PeakD | hive.blog | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram | Youtube | 3Speak| Vimm.tv

Join Hive!

Check out these blockchain games!

Disclaimer! These are referral links

CryptoBrewMaster | Rising Star | Exode Game | DCity | Splinterlands

Sort:  

Oof, that's nightmare fuel for us techies.

Sad times.. I feel the struggle haha. I've got a nice copy of config param definitions if you still need it, just shoot me a message on discord. Have you ever looked into using a containerized node in docker instead of using a true virtual machine?

I used to use docker versions like HIAB or just building with docker. But WSL is causing BSOD on my host machine so don't want to use it anymore. only alternative is virtual box afaik and I'm very comfortable building from source anyways.

I don't have a native linux box to use for a server, at least not one even remotely as powerful as my windows pc. :D

I've been meaning to store backups of my witness server instances but currently don't have the space. Need to get myself a few 4TB hhd or just fork out for a 32tb one xD

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@sicarius! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @shmoogleosukami.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/20)

That's a bummer. I assume you don't have a UPS. Part of me wants to run a witness node, but I'd have to invest in some hardware and find space for it.

!BEER

Yeah I don't have UPS.. yet. honestly thinking of getting one now. these power cuts are getting rather frequent around here.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@steevc! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @shmoogleosukami.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/20)

Can you post that info you are looking for, and consider making a walk through on how to setup a node/minimum specs required that'd be so cool!

I've been meaning to make a post or two about running a node via virtual box but just don't have the time right now. soon maybe. :D

Awesome!! I like soon! It's better than "Fuck off newb!"

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...