You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In The Shadow Of Mount Vesuvius

in #travel4 years ago

We were in that area a few years ago, but we stayed in Sorrento. Got a nice AirBnB in the old town. Of course we visited Pompeii and well as Herculaneum. Both are well worth checking out for a view of what life was really like back then.

We had a look around parts of Naples when we were heading back to the airport. The harbour and castle are nice, but the city did not appeal so much. Sounds like we did well to avoid where you stayed. Did have some good pizza in town though.

I've found Italy in general to be very different to the UK in style and the attitudes of people. I spent a little time in Milan for work and that was not too bad, but we were warned to look out for taxi drivers cheating the fares. Just seems to be more corruption built into the society and the crime gangs have a lot of power. That said, I have met lots of lovely Italians.

Sort:  

You picked the right place to stay haha. I unwittingly picked the cultural experience package haha.

Yes I'd say the pizza there is the very best ever. I heard that's where pizza originated anyway, Napoli.