Do you like StemQ's way of contributing questions and answers?

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)

Do you like StemQ's way of contributing questions and answers?


feedback-3709752-640.jpg
Credit: Pixabay

Today we are launching a dpoll survey to find out what you think of StemQ format for publishing articles about STEM subject.

As you may know StemQ is quite unique in that regards as it puts questions and answers on the same footing by enforcing answers to be published as root posts, rather than comments of the question.

In our mind this has the following main advantages:

  • Answers can be curated like any other posts by curation guilds such as @stemq, @steemstem and @curie.
  • Answers are usually longer than questions, therefore it makes sense to treat them as parent posts in their own rights.
  • Questions can be answered a long time after initial publication. Allowing answers to be published as root post give them better visibility.
  • Answers do not get mixed up and lost among general comments.

But does this make sense to YOU, and do you fully understand how StemQ treats contributions?


  • Yes, I understand and it makes sense to me.

  • Yes, I'm happy to follow this format though I find it a bit confusing.

  • I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ.

  • No, it doesn't make sense to me. I would prefer answers as comments to the question.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for No, it doesn't make sense to me. I would prefer answers as comments to the question..

What about an option to choose for yourself? I would probably be much more likely to contribute with answers if I had the option to decide for myself.

Hi @valth, thank you for your feedback.

There are some implementation complications with allowing answers to be provided as main posts or comments which would need to be resolved.
Not impossible but with flexibility comes more testing and work when new features are added.

Remember that our preference is for people to use the StemQ UI when contributing answers, rather than blogging Steem apps like Steemit or Steempeak.

StemQ makes it very easy to answer a question. It's just a matter of clicking the "Answer this question" button really.
So in that respect, it's not any harder than commenting.

As I explained in the post, the issues are that comments don't really get curated by @curie, @steemstem, etc.
Also, nobody would notice a comment on a question post that is several weeks old.

But of course, one is free to provide a short answer through a comment as well.
It's just that it wouldn't be treated as an standalone, browsable, answer by StemQ.

Thanks again.

Voted for Yes, I'm happy to follow this format though I find it a bit confusing..

I am okay with the format. But there is a confusion for me when I am using other interfaces like steemit or steempeak. There should be some way to see all answers and root question from any associated question posts irrespective of the interface. At least all answer posts should contain url to the respective question and each time a new answer is added, a comment to the root question post should appear posting the url to the answer. This is just a suggestion.

Hi @dexterdev, this is a good suggestion indeed.
What could be done easily is to add a link at the bottom of the posts that would redirect the user to the question page with all the answers on stemq.io.
This link would not be visible when viewing the post on StemQ.

We could also add a link "Answer this question on StemQ" which would be visible when the question/answer is viewed on Steemit, Steempeak, etc.

Very good ideas.

cool. that would be great!

That was the comment I too was going to make.
I actually found the original post on Steemit, but no comments are visible on there at all; I would imagine the same for other platforms.

Given that comments are treated the same as posts within the Steem system, meaning that they can be voted on in the same way, what was the logic behind creating some contributions as new posts yet some are comments?

Adding a link:"answer at steemq" would be very helpful.

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

I just need to spend some time reading all the background info, I think.

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for Yes, I'm happy to follow this format though I find it a bit confusing..

Voted for No, it doesn't make sense to me. I would prefer answers as comments to the question..

It depends.

Is every possible answer on stemq requires a huge blob of text? I would prefer comments for a content consists of a couple of paragraphs.

Did you consider making this optional?

Of course there is nothing that prevents you from providing a short answer through a comment.
Others have done that.

A main answer post should normally be used where more details are provided.

Thanks for your feedback!

Voted for Yes, I understand and it makes sense to me..

Voted for Yes, I understand and it makes sense to me..

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

Voted for I'm still confused about how to contribute questions and answers on StemQ..

Can you explain me better? :))

Hi @psos, why don't you join our Discord server and we'll be happy to give you guidance:

https://discord.gg/AMSChmj

Cheers.

I will try the app with more focus ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for Yes, I understand and it makes sense to me..

Congratulations @stemq! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!