2020 How Badly Do You Wanna Write It Off? Think Carefully Before You Answer That Question!

in Self Improvement4 years ago

How has the shambles that has been 2020 so far affected your self view and the goals you wanted to achieve at the turn of the year?

In my day to day conversations I can almost narrow down people's perception of the year to date with regards to success and improvement in to two camps.

Those who constantly say

"I just want to tear the last page from the calendar and start the year again... There's no point trying to begin anything in 2020, I have essentially written the year off."

The other camp have a very different view...

"I haven't been able to go on holiday/vacation this year so I saved a tonne of money and put it in to something else, the time I haven't lost on parties, sports, visiting friends and family has given me masses of time to try my hand at new stuff/learning/any number of different things"

Now obviously the details are different to everybody, depending on what they normally do or want but the framework of the story is essentially the same. I could almost simplify it down to pessimism or optimism but that's not really a fair distinction as people have lost so much this year in times of connection, family, stability and such, that even if they did fall in to the pessimism category, maybe that was inevitable all along and not their fault.

Lockdowns and being furloughed from work brought up some polarised views too. Some people hated every second of being 'stuck at home' interesting terminology, right?

Others utterly relished the chance to be able to press the pause button on life and do things they always meant to do. Some were so thankful of the opportunity to spend time with those they loved most in the world in a way that the 'workaday world' has never allowed them except for a few scheduled, long planned days of the year.

So very interesting how the same scenario could provoke such conflictory thoughts, sentiments and ideas, right?

I wanted to share a view on this with you today which was basically the reason for the setup, I could have used so many different scenario's but of course almost everyone on the planet can relate to the events of 2020.

I dare NOT write off 2020 and restart my life in January 2021!

What if I am not here then?

Imagine summing up the last days of your life in your head at the end and thinking "I was so dumb... This pandemic didn't need me to put my life, hopes and dreams on the back burner, NOW I get it'!!!"

Let's assume I will be here, I am only 48 and not at all ready to end my reservation just yet so I most certainly hope so however I assume nothing and take nothing in life for granted.

By the time I pick up the reins again I would have lost momentum completely, right? Imagine you had been pushing a huge boulder along for the past year with 2 other people in split 8 hour shifts and as long as you jumped straight in and joined in pushing as soon as your shift begun, all is fine. Imagine the herculean effort that would be required to start that big old thing moving again?

A few small changes.png

Yup I know that analogy was appalling but it was fit for purpose and understandable so I know that you will forgive me Dear Reader ;)

I guarantee you that between now and the turn of 2021 you could begin something amazing. You could achieve something fantastic. You are capable of so much more than you could ever imagine in almost a third of a year ,which is just short of what we have left of 2020.

I am not making light of, or saying the sacrifices that have been demanded of us are insignificant BUT they must not be allowed to define us.

I don't see the start of 2021 being completely problem free and life resuming the normalcy of 2019 anyway, do you? So what percentage of your entire life are you willing to write off and be placed on mothballs as far as your growth and progression are concerned?

What do you think? I sincerely would love to know!

Do you think life will ever go back to 'normal?'

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the so-called real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am a proud member of the recently formed #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

The pandemic generally hasn't effected me in the slightest, Since my normal everyday life is one of seclusion and anxiety. Sure it up my improvement plan on the back burner cause of the lockdown, but now I can sort of go out and about like I had planned so alls good, for now.

I do get to say with certainty that now everyone knows what my life is like all the time haha. Well almost, the being stuck inside part. Not so much the anxiety i guess.

So I guess I'm in the second camp, I got plans for next year, mostly getting my new custom aquarium. I'm hyped for december or january next year as that's when I finally finish paying off a loan so I'm better off each month.

I've actually got a lot to look forward too and I've not really lost much in 2020. I gained hive which is nice, Making like $70 a month every month so far from streaming and other posts. I'd say that's been the best highlight of 2020 so far, oh and the hive meet of course. :D

I also don't think covid is going to be done and dusted for at least 2-5 years. IF we get a vaccine, SARs happened years ago, still no vaccine.. People will just need to adapt to the NEW normal. The old normal is pretty much gone forever.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Even though the Covid story did even affect my life, it wasn't that much that I would say 2020 is a lost year. No not at all ... I have learned a lot about myself. And I have set my goal to which working to get there by July 2021. There is much going on, and most of the time I'm watching it from my little safe corner of the world. But that's nothing new, I am in this corner for the past 5 years and that had nothing to do with Covid.

The hope I had to get more social life with being a member of the local photoclub, well ... that was not possible because of Covid, but besides that there isn't even that much changed for me personally.

I still feel like I'm getting stronger day by day, I'm still working towards my goals, and I'm still the same person I used to be before. Enjoying the days with my dogs. No I don't see much changes in the nearby future, maybe even a second lockdown ... I think it could go worse before it gets better. But eventually we will get through this. Does is ever go back to 'normal'. I really don't know. I can only hope so ... and that this 'new normal' will become history.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Do you think life will ever go back to 'normal?'

Let's see, did it depart very much from being normal for me? Not really, I had to put a mask on once for one business, but after that they were will to work with me about the mask. Only two business lost me as a customer because of their actions.

No big fires here close by to me like last year, so I was able to spend a lot more time outdoors, and without having to wear a mask because of the smoke from the fires. I always look forward to the next year. A lot of shit goes wrong in just about every year, but a lot of stuff goes right every year also.

Our memories are what we want to keep, if people want to hold on to tragedy and feelings of hopelessness then they are the memories that will be remembered. If people look for and see dark and foreboding times ahead then that is what they will find. We chose what we remember, and to an extent what we will see.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I think it's best to live what's in front of you at the time rather than wish time away - It can be taken far too quickly as it is without wasting it by being on hold for better times. Having said that, 2020 can fuck off now.

We are a long way from out of it yet, and it's certainly been an eye opener how in our technologically advanced world a simple virus can bring the Human race to it's knees. It has not changed much for me really, I have just been working even more - partly just to tidy up the warehouse but also in difficult trading times taking every opportunity to keep a little income coming in.

Congratulations @stevenwood! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month