Can You Spot The Difference? This Is Not Your Average BBQ!

Happily, Mr Sun has been present here in Merrie Olde England of late.

Sadly it appears that his scheduled appearances are somehow tied into my work rota. My first day back each week is glorious and my first day off is usually overcast, rainy, or just mildly pleasant.

In many ways, I have the last laugh as I am still incredibly happy to see the gloriously sunny, bright, warm days, even when I am at work. It just means I look forward to my breaktimes even more than usual as I spend them outside.

So you can imagine my delight today as the stars finally aligned, my time off work coincided with the most beautiful day and I was struck with a bloody marvelous idea.

I acted immediately and started cleaning down the trusty barbecue & the garden furniture and I set to work to be ready when my eldest daughter and my partner returned home from work.

img_0777.jpg

If you look a little closer you will see my sous chef, Gnora the gnome.

img_0782.jpg

Gnora was looking a little washed out after a long winter but she has just had a touch-up job thanks to the wonders of the internet and some fabulous acrylic paints.

There hasn't been an opportunity to use the barbecue this year, either the weather has been a little inclement or the family work rotas have been out of sync. but not today...

Something is definitely going to be burnt today.

img_0762.jpg

Yes, you did see what you thought you saw in the above photo. I had an experimental idea about something I wanted to try out. Whenever I make veggie kebab skewers, small chunks of peppers fall off and plummet to their death in the burning embers below.

You can see the trial effort of my idea below:

img_0734.jpg

I was pretty pleased with the way the peppers cooked evenly, ready to be quartered and stuffed although I did need to re-apply oil a couple of times during cooking.

Accidental burning is the best part of BBQ'ing - You know it's coming but are absolutely powerless to stop it. It's an inevitability, a rite of passage, oh! Is that just me?

Seriously though, it is great for the family to all eat together in the garden without anybody being absent due to work, uni, or any other interruptions. This doesn't happen so much nowadays, not like it did when our daughters were younger.

When the opportunity arises to spend time with your loved ones, grab it with both hands, who knows what the future has in store for us, right?

My youngest even got in the act, preparing a dish to add to the table. She tossed some small salad potatoes in basil-infused olive oil, mixed with chilli powder, a roughly chopped garlic clove, fresh basil, oregano, sea-salt and ground black pepper. After 30 minutesish in the oven the smell in the kitchen was incredibly aromatic and the potatoes were utterly amazing.
img_0749.jpg

img_0751.jpg

There is a perfectly justified reason that middle-aged white guys from England should be banned from wearing shorts.

This is it!

img_0738.jpg

img_0743.jpg

img_0744.jpg

img_0745.jpg

So once the food was prepared, salad chopped, plates cutlery, and condiments on the table, it was time to pour the drinks. So I poured fresh filtered, ice water for everyone who wanted it, isn't that a healthy way to top off a wonderful meal?

img_0752.jpg

There was just 1 person letting the side down as usual... Dad!

img_0756.jpg

What can I tell ya? I just love my beverages to come from Belgium!!!



So do you remember what I asked in the title of this post?

Did you spot the difference between this and most BBQ'S?

No you didn't? Oh really. Maybe the following 2 pictures of the cheese and mayo used for the side dishes will help you out.

img_0747.jpg

Ohhh now it's obvious, right Dear Reader?

This was a completely meat-free BBQ.

Although M'lady and my eldest both still eat meat. I am a vegetarian and my youngest daughter is a vegan. There are so many fabulously tasty alternatives to burgers, sausages and the like nowadays that we usually have an entirely vegan-friendly BBQ.

We have a lot of friends & family who claim that they would always know the difference between meat and the alternatives and we have conducted many a taste test, often fooling the tastebuds of even the most diehard carnivore. Many alternatives when cooked with good quality ingredients, cooking sauces & relishes taste incredibly like any other meat dish.

Burgers, chicken nuggets, and chicken/beef style pieces in bolognese, curry, and casserole-style dishes are incredibly similar.

In case you are wondering, guests to my home are never EVER persuaded or coerced to eat meat-free products. I have made a choice I am happy with, everyone has gotta do exactly the same. No one has the right to thrust their views onto others.

By nightfall, I felt incredibly satisfied with my day and was thrilled that the family all came together, even for just a few hours.

img_0634.jpg

I really am the luckiest guy I know and utterly filled with gratitude about it.

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post & if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way, I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each other both here & in the 'so-called' real world & try & look after each other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am an incredibly proud member of #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable Roastmaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member & would like to be added to the team UK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Were those Morrison patties? Those were Morrison's patties weren't they. I'll say it in British, Mawwrrsnn'z. Tesco stocks more than phone cards.

There is a perfectly justified reason that middle-aged white guys from England should be banned from wearing shorts.

They are. You've been gone awhile.

Ironically you got both lol. They were Tesco small veggie burgers and 2 large Morrison's ones haha. Psychic Dan strikes again, cross his palm with silver and he'll tell you where you buy your shopping!!!

They are. You've been gone awhile.

Meh! I was always gonna get cancelled sooner or later, I can't complain, I had a good run!

BTW That English accent is really coming on dude. 😎


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Love the pepper kebab idea, but next time put 'em in proper stoplight order ;)

I was a vegetarian for years. Currently back to eating animal stuff, but your post has made me hungry for some meat-free BBQ!

P. S. I used to have a gnome. Its name was Gnemo, a play on the Latin word for "nobody" and also an anagram for "gnome" :)

{insert gnome emoji}

I was raised as a vegetarian for the first 17.5 years of my life, until I was booted out of home to go find my own way. From then I became a flesh eater but to be honest I don't feel the need to have meat every day and sometimes a meat-substitute does the job. We're all different I guess. What counts is that we get those we value around the grill and connect; good company makes even the worst food better. [Not that I mean the food you cooked up was bad, just in general.]

I want to come to yours for a Vegan Barbecue xxxx

Now that would be bloody spectacular! An appearance from the wild woman herself.

I think we would find much to talk about and I believe that after the first 2 minutes we would feel as though we had been great friends for years, I guess in many ways we have, I find connections made in the online world to often be just as valuable and nourishing as those made in so-called, real life.

Take good care my friend 🙂