Speak Up Now Or Forever Hold Your Peace. You Have A Voice, Time To Use It!

in LeoFinance4 years ago

((Many of you are waiting on a response from me. I have had a strange old week and not gotten to respond to as many of you as I had planned to. However if you know me, you know I will get to you and probably leave a 7000 word comment... Curse my inability to just shut up sometimes.))



Up until a few weeks ago, I was writing for 3 blockchain communities.

One became something completely different to what it was initially designed to be and became akin to a centralised dictatorship that, despite a deep melancholy at having lost my first love... Blogwise I mean of course, I could no longer support.

I then witnessed a second, collapse, I mean the blockchain literally shutdown, this was particularly difficult because I was within that community from day 1, was well established, and had many very close friends. The chain was re-started but I felt like I had gotten a glimpse behind the curtain and there was no wizard!

Now do not take the next comments as FUD in any way, shape or form, that is far from what they are meant to be. However, I believe that as a community that is pretty freakin' solid right now:

we really need to talk...

Screenshot_2020-06-19 Steven’s.png

I am not a Dev, I am not a huge stakeholder, I am certainly not a community leader, although out of the three, that is the one that appeals to me somewhere down the line.

The reason is simple, communities are about people, it's the part where blocks give way for me and personalities, lives, loves, conversation and discussion take centre stage, you know what I mean, right?

I have always said in my life that genuine conversation is pretty rare. Often what happens is two people are talking and the one who is not, is doing a pretty decent impression of someone who is listening BUT what they are actually doing is thinking of what they are going to say next.

In doing this they miss a tonne of non verbal clues, micro expressions and nuance that tell the accompanying story to the verbal narrative. It can be like watching a 3D movie without the glasses... You are kinda present, kinda privy to what is happening but missing a huge part of the narrative. Hence my statement that:

genuine conversation is pretty rare

When you find it though, WOW! it can blow your mind and you can have transformational moments, deep connection and consider viewpoints you never thought you could ever entertain.

This is why, of all the aspects of the blockchain, community is the one that appeals to me most, it is quite literally head and shoulders above the rest. We need all the other stuff that goes hand in hand with that of course, the devs, artists, musicians, the writers and so on.

So then, if we wish for that aspect to become magnified, if we wish to grow beyond what we are right now and transcend the expectations of even the most optimistically bullish among us:

What is it gonna take?

What do we need to learn?

What could we do better?

Is Hive possibly a candidate for mass adoption, if so, why?

Screenshot_2020-06-08 MaKe mondays great again.png

I for one intend to learn from the mistakes of the past. I want to be the evolved version of what I have seen before. There is a lot of processing and pondering taking place in my oh-so-busy head, right now! I am incredibly eager to hear your thoughts.

I do not care in the slightest if you have 1 Hive Power or are rapidly approaching 1 million Hive Power. What I do care about is that if you wish to share your thoughts about this topic, I do want you to be someone who cares about the community. The chain or even the price of Hive ramping up due to our efforts in years to come. Any of those things as your central focus could help us to grow.

The serious devs are not supposed to spend all day and night engaging up a storm, that is not their area, right? That is not where we need them to be. The mass 'engagers' are not intended to be developing a cutting edge Dapp right and I should never do comedy...

We need to be ready to act swiftly if we see any sort of decline, any cracks starting to appear. However I believe we are all likely to be far more vigilant nowadays, once bitten, twice shy, right?

Thank YOU for taking the time to read my post and if you're one of those amazing people who like to hit the comments section... Then I doubly thank YOU!

Either way I want you to know that you are appreciated!

Keep taking the time to connect with each-other both here and in the so-called real world and try and look after each-other, because as you already know...

Together We're Just Better.png

image.png

I am a proud member of the newly formed #TeamUK I love the global community immensely, but it is nice to have a home-team banner to add to my posts. The banner was made by the inimitable RoastMaster General himself @c0ff33a If you are an active UK member and would like to be added to the teamUK community on Discord, just let me know 😎

Sort:  

Thanks for the reminder that I was going to get back to this! 😅

I've had some of the best conversations on Hive that I've ever had. There is so much to be said about this platform, however, I find it hard to envision mass adaption because of the daunting prospect of the passkeys and the learning curve, which is not only figuring out how it works, but the right way to interact on here while avoiding doing the wrong thing and gaining the attention of hivewatchers.

Having said that, if we had the kind of mass adoption that Facebook, for example, has, would the conversation level drop to that of mainstream social media? Is it the tough learning curve and the heavy responsibility that comes with the passkeys that brings a certain type of people here?

Yup I understand what you mean entirely. Myself and a workmate, who I brought to the chain shortly after I joined, discuss this constantly. For any kind of mass adoption, ((what I should have clarified)) I envision Dapps and forks and upgrades that address the idea of the keys and also see a day when getting fiat on to an exchange is not akin to a military exercise.

I almost accept this as done in a year or two for the simple reason that if it is not, investment and mass adoption would never be feasible. I write when discussing the chain, from a place of this already having happened.

The funny thing is that this comment actually forced me to quantify what I mean by 'mass adoption' that's what quality discourse is for right, that's what the best comments do, elaborate on the narrative proposed? I now understand when I talk about mass adoption that I mean a few million users, ((mass enough for me lol)) I guess in the big scheme of things that is not the mass, that many mean, we bandy that phrase around a lot here and I bet many have never quantified it in their own mind.

The only way the massive multi-national corporate social media that we all know are really relevant, is that we know there is a small core of the user-base who would love what we have here. I think for us to ever seek to compare us and them, it is not gonna be useful. MSM will always drive the agenda and promote them before us because they are not a threat to the status-quo and indeed enhance the propaganda narrative.

would the conversation level drop to that of mainstream social media?

Indeed. It's pretty crucial that as a community, we bring people on in the right way, there is an etiquette and no mistake. I would share those concerns though, mass adoption that equals dilution of quality is a price that is too high to pay.

Thank you so much for this amazing addition to the ideas from the post. On a previous chain I was known for a time as the optimism witness... Sometimes my ideas reside in a place that doesn't conceive of the bad actors and gaming of the system by some. Because I don't contemplate it, I assume we are all rowing the boat in the same direction in harmony. I become aware from speaking to others that it is happening.

Have a wonderful weekend and a stunning brand new week to follow :D

Sorry to go on so long, it's kind of my MO now... I may contemplate changing my name to Captain Verbosity!!!

Hive is Mass Adoption, just the masses have not found it yet. You certainly don't need to worry about stability or reliability - @hive has @gtg and a blockchain taming Wizard is rare indeed.

What is it gonna take?

It is going to take some work, people need to understand Blockchain to appreciate it - and that does require a fair amount of background reading.

What do we need to learn?

Virtual bums on virtual seats laddie, the more people involved the better the community for all.

What could we do better?

Educate, while Hive needs more users it needs more users that are Investors - nobody has ever to my knowledge set up a Pension Plan and never ever paid anything into it. Hive is a cryptocurrency investment, you can get away with creating an account and putting nothing in - but the greater rewards come from investing in the Hive token and helping it grow.

Is Hive possibly a candidate for mass adoption, if so, why?

Of course it is, create a blockchain backed blog that will exist forever with little investment, grow your investment and see your blog generate cryptocurrency rewards for your effort. It makes me wonder why people Tweet, Facebook and Instagram for free multiple times a day.

Oh man! That is an awesome answer! I freely and fully admit that there are many aspects of BC tech that I am just not up to speed on. In fact I have started a small pool of questions that I would like to cover at the Northern meetup. I am certain there are some key fundamentals I m just not getting. In a face to face setting I am sure it will be easier to articulate them well.

There's a feeling of right place right time that I have been aware of for a little while now... Oh I do hope it's right! :D

Hi @stevenwood,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I'm literally just on my way out, but I'll try and get back to this.

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 14/21)

Thank you so much. You are very much appreciated :D

I hope you have a wonderful weekend and an even better week to follow :)

I can barely cope with ONE chain!!! Crikey.

HIVE gives me hope and global connectivity. Facebook makes me feel despair and loneliness. That's all..

Since focusing on choosing a home to give my all to, my journey, sense of connection and making new friends has moved rapidly and I once again feel connected in a way I haven't felt in a couple of years.

Thanks ever so much for stopping by my friend, it certainly is appreciated, wishing all the very best to you and yours, from me and mine :D

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because of the use of a service (reward.app) to liquify rewards.Our upvotes are reserved for content which is created with a commitment to long term growth and decentralization of Hive Power.

This exclusion only applies to this and eventually other future liquified posts and not all your publications in general.

Take care and hive five!

Yes that is correct. I volunteered to help out and test a new system after reading a post about what I read to be an interesting enhancement to curation, it involves me receiving less curation too. Funnily enough I didn't even see the potential downside or the fact that liquefied rewards could be removed immediately but then I guess others see scams where I see innovation.

I understand your community has a stance on this, and am even somewhat understanding of your reasons

I had never factored in the idea of maximizing curation, I didn't realise that for some apparently it is a almost an Olympic sport. Such unpalatable strategy is something I have never even contemplated.

BUT now I feel like I NEED to respond to this message as you have chosen to place it on my post which could perhaps raise a question or implication regarding my integrity. I'm sure you can understand this?

To anybody who follows me, I feel I should mention that I have never ever taken a cent from any community I have been involved with, only time funds have ever left my account is to sponsor contests, send gifts in lieu of tips or to donate to causes of chain.

I am not the slightest bit concerned at having lost out on the curation. I used to spend 4 or 5 hours on posts at times when I knew that something in the region of 3 cents would be my reward, I write because I have something to say or share, what rewards may come are welcome but I hope the day never comes when I use a spreadsheet to maximise my rewards.

TL;DR

Now I researched, I understand your stance, whether I like it or not is irrelevant.
I have had support from @curangel several times in the past for which I'm grateful and so have no hard feelings.
All my rewards are always powered up or donated.
Take care and hive five!