Do you like the idea of polls?

in #dpoll5 years ago

Do you like the idea of polls?


I think that tonight I will test the polls function here at dpoll.xyz as I think that it has the potential to be used to get large scale results from the community on some cases. It might be an interesting feature if say @steemitblog ran some polls.

Right now though, I want to have a look at what is possible in terms of layout so I am going to add a description (what you may be reading) and image and then the questions. Remember that to be counted in the poll, you will have to log into Dpolls through the link provided at the bottom.

So far, I don't have a preview of what I am writing so I have no idea what this is going to look like once posted as I can't see where the image will be placed or where the poll will be inserted into the post. That is okay, this is an experiment after all. The frame doesn't pull out to see the entire text either.

So the question is:,Do you like the idea of polls?


  • I love polls

  • I don't want to see a million useless polls

  • I only enjoy poll dancers

  • What's a poll?

  • I despise polls

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

I refuse to take this poll because there is no option for "all of the above" or "none of the above" ;)

... but if I vote at all I am at least indicating that I'm willing to participate in a poll... you slippery fellow ...

Voted for I love polls.

Like most humans, I have never met a pollster. Depending on how a question is framed, polls can be manipulated to ensure certain responses garner more responses.

Yep, I think that this is an issue with them in general as design, wording and position all have quite dramatic, if not obvious effects. On the internet their are other concerns including time of day. There is one newspaper in Finland that runs online polls and publishes results as 'relevant' when they are broadcast for a few hours during the middle of a working day. Obviously, who has access to being able to answer is going to skew the results markedly regardless of the number of responses. I am guessing at 1 pm on a Thursday, not too many business people are giving their response about the state of the economy.

I like polls as they provide sentiment and perspectives... I have been following dpoll for a while but am hesitant to participate given the interface and needing to use SteemConnect. It is a great concept though!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Perhaps there should be keychain integration added also.

I think it could be fun and it would be a way to collect data that is obviously not manipulated. It could also be turned into an SMT where you pay people in cryptos for their participation... it seems like a great idea!

There are plenty of ways to manipulate the at this point but perhaps later they will be much less so.

Voted for I love polls.

I think polls can be useful.

I'd like to see the possibility to add other answers (and have them validated by the poll author).

Voted for I love polls.

Polls can be super useful. Was about to select option #2 -- "dont want to see a million" - - but decided that wasn't a useful answer.

Given the right question(s) -- polls can be insightful and quick respond to.

I agree and it might actually be a little bit of fun and offers some more dynamism into the mix . I don't want to see a million of them in my feed though and those that overuse for pointless will likely get unfollowed =)

Voted for I love polls.

I would expect nothing less :D

Voted for I only enjoy poll dancers.

But I wouldn't mind having some polls around, it helps with the communication, takes only 2 minutes of your attention and there are some funny stuff going on at dpoll polls.

Yep, I agree and I think if used sparingly by some accounts with high visibility they could actually raise very effective talking points.

Voted for I love polls.

Polls -- a perfectly peachy path to promote participation. Pencil me in, pardner!

Voted for I love polls.

Dpoll is still new and there is a lot of features to add but I believe everything will be in place with time.

This idea of poll is great!. You already cited a very good example with steemitblog

Voted for I only enjoy poll dancers.

You should still consider this a vote in favour of polls. I was thinking of trying to utilize one the other day. I thought it could be a useful feature for one of the front-ends trying to stay competitive (ahem, @partiko, @eSteem) ]=)

As far as I know, the coming Hivemind hardfork has some poll functionality so perhaps then.

Voted for What's a poll?.

Voted for I don't want to see a million useless polls.

... but I do like poll dancers :P

I am not sure if editing the typos upsets the poll so I will leave it for now.

Also, the responses have been shuffled, it is not the order I chose them in. This is potentially a good thing for results in some ways but does potentially upset the validity of response in others. I am not a poll design expert though.

Thanks for the feedbacks. Poll is editable on dPoll until the first vote. The changes made in alternative interfaces doesnt reflect to dPoll interface since keeping a global state between different interfaces is hard considering dPoll uses json_metadata in Post objects.

It has some usability pitfalls and we’re aware of the issues you have mentioned. It’s much different than the first version and we constantly make new development. It’s not a fast pace but we’re slowly getting there. :)

Poll is editable on dPoll until the first vote.

Good to know, thank you.

It’s much different than the first version and we constantly make new development. It’s not a fast pace but we’re slowly getting there. :)

I don't mind as long as progress is getting made and I actually like the possibilities so thanks. If I remember correctly, Hivemind brings some poll potential with it, does that effect or enhance your model?

Are there any plans for surveys? i.e. polls with multiple questions and answers?

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of emrebeyler.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Congratulations @tarazkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9250 replies. Your next target is to reach 9500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I voted for Poll Dancers, cause... ya know... Yet, you should still consider this a vote in favour of polls. I was thinking of trying to utilize one the other day. I thought it could be a useful feature for one of the front-ends trying to stay competitive (ahem, @partiko, @eSteem, @steempeak) ]=)

Voted for I love polls.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.223 which ranks you at #237 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 235).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 280 contributions, your post is ranked at #12.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.

Voted for I love polls.