VERTIGO Warning - Looking up in NYC

VERTIGO Warning - Looking up in NYC

For those who suffer from vertigo you may not want to view this post as they are all looking up shots taken when I worked in NYC, I chose the first photo as I thought it may be the one that affects people the least with the trees breaking up the skyline looking up.

but for those who do not suffer from Vertigo feel free to continue reading this post and scrolling down and seeing the other photos.

As I have said probably far to many times in previous post I am a country boy at heart, and I was asked to come to the HQ a few times which I declined each time till the last time when it was made clear it was a question of how soon could I come and work in HQ and not a matter of if, so I agreed on the condition it would only be for one year.

As it happened the year became two then three and I ended up working in NYC for close to 20 years up until I retired in 2020.

Now I wont say I grew to love NYC but I did enjoy early morning walks around the city and seeing all the sights, parks, art, buildings etc, but I never go over my dislike of crowds and tried to avoid walking around or going to places with lots of crowds, other than Grand Central Train Terminal which I had to pass through on my commute in and out of the city.

But I have waffled on enough lets get to the photos, one thing I often doing when walking around the city I stopped and would look up at all the high rise buildings.

this first shot is just across the road from one of the entrances to Grand Central.


looking up NYC-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F7.1 1/60 Sec ISO 125
Click here to view larger


Now its been a while so I cant say for certain where all the photos are taken, but I am fairly sure this next shot is near Times Square


looking up NYC.jpg

Sony A7iii 18mm F7.1 1/60 Sec ISO 160
Click here to view larger


Again I believe this is again near times Square on 42nd Street


looking up NYC-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F4 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This next shot shows one of my favorite buildings in the city the Chrylser building


looking up NYC-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F7.1 1/100 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


and similar area but another angle again with the Chrysler building in view


looking up NYC-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 17mm F7.1 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


Sort:  

Awesome images, JJ, I love them all and the first one, looking up through the trees, is my favourite 😊


!invest_vote

Thanks my friend

!invest_vote

It's always a pleasure, you're very welcome my friend ☺️


!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@tattoodjay denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@tattoodjay thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Beautiful!
It was a good idea, view from below.

thanks I thought it was a nice change to mix up my posts

I've never been to NYC as yet, although I wonder what it would be like to be among those tall buildings, especially coming from a place where you can see miles around, I'd like to go, maybe one day. Thanks for this post and again, lovely photography.

It is well worth experiencing I never thought I would work there for so many years i am a country boy at heart

I was picturing the angle of the shot in my mind and feels unreal, I still had to adjust my device to view the pictures from different perspective. I'm an enthusiast, so creative shots as this blows my mind. Great choice of subjects.

Thanks, Many never look up when in NYC they are in such a rush to get from A to B I on the other hand looked up so much I sometimes got a sore neck LOL

Yeah, the buildings are tall, I've never seen anything like it, so it's usual quite normal you'll get a sore neck, especially when trying to take these shots.

Wouldnt be so bad with my current camera since i has a swivel LCD screen which the camera I had back then did not have


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tattoodjay ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Hey @tattoodjay, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

https://leofinance.io/threads/@tattoodjay/re-leothreads-mv5fmvii
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( @tattoodjay ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

😊😊 beautiful sights.. You said.

I didn't grow to like NYC

But with the continuation of your words I think you somehow love the city in one way or the other.. I wish to visit once to take my own few shots too

Oops yes thats true I guess I made a typo I did come to love parts of the city just not the crowds

Yeah.. The crowd is what most people don't like😁😁

Indeed👍🙂👍

in the big apple

👍🙂👍

Looking up not too bad, don't think you would get me looking down !LOLZ

Awesome photography of the city, sometime since you went down memory lane with walks in the Big Apple.

Thanks, Looking up or down doesnt bother me to much, but looking down sure gets to my wife ;)

Once or twice on a dare or a dinner event, top of jungle concrete towers holds no appeal. Otherwise strictly avoided!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Pics looking great, I do have a fear of heights but has to be real high like a 10 floor I cant get closer to a ledge, been inside a building is fine but me outside nop but photos like this at least dont give me vertigo that easy but the second one gets closer, you did a great job with the angle

Thanks my wife suffers from a fear of heights luckily for me not so much

OMG lovely photos! I have been planning to do this kind of photography for Tokyo but I just couldn't find a great shot like yours.

I always have this opinion of NYC that it is great in the morning and late at night. Confirmed, it's awesome in the early morning.

Thanks It's a shot I love doing in NYC

Great shots. Only in the city. I realized the other day that Burlington, the biggest city in Vermont, is only 40,000 people. The little suburb where I lived was 40k population in California. A suburb wedged between two bigger suburbs in a string of suburbs all the way to San Jose in one direction and Oakland/San Francisco in the other.

wow really terrific photos amazing💛💛

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

These are awesome. Kind of has me jonesing for a trip to the big city. Probably someplace a little warmer than NYC right now though! We just got hammered with six inches of snow in a couple hours last night. I hear it is heading that way!

Thanks and yes I think its best to visit NYC in the warmer months

Yes some came out way but not to bad we only got maybe 3 or 4 inches of snow

Lucky you. Sounds like we have another big one coming end of the week.

yes we were lucky, there saying we may get some more on Friday but looks like it will just be another dusting

the sun is out today so I think it will melt away a lot of the snow we have

Oh wow. They are saying up to 15 inches here Friday...

WOW thats a lot, please dont send it our way LOL

They are awesome @tattoodjay 😎 great captures.
It’s nice to change the perspective once in a while.
Very clear too. Thanks for sharing, have a beautiful Tuesday 👋🏻😊

Thanks and yes although I love the beaches and trails I try and mix up my feed so it doesnt get boring with all the same

You are welcome, I understand.
It’s a great change…
Have a nice day 👋🏻😎

Oh I love this. Perspective is my Thang!

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Extraordinary views , I got surprised while watching these amazing angles of photography 🙂

Thanks kindly your support is appreciated

Have a great day

Great shots.👍

thanks :)

Here in Romania, we have a saying that you have your head up (you brag), but when you visit NYC you will have your head up literally, not figuratively.

funnily enough often people are so busy rushing to and from work they dont take the time to slow down and look up

You're absolutely right, in the rush to and from work we forget to look up.

many forget to look anywhere but straight ahead or at the screen of their mobile device lOL

I've noticed this tendency to actually spend hours staring at your phone, especially with children, you can't talk to them anymore because all their attention is focused on that phone or tablet.

OHh yeah that is something that does drive me nuts I must admit

In case you don't have Vertigo, get it in NYC!

Those crazy high buildings are great inspo, love the contrast of the sky and glass reflections.

Thanks and yes your right luckily i have no issue with heights

Wow!! Amazing!! I love these pictures!! The sky in New York is stunning with all those buildings over there! Very creative shots!

THanks the buildings in NYC are amazing

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the March edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal

that really looks dope~ such a fresh angle. Awesome work~

thanks I like trying to mix up what I share in my posts

Vertigo is weird! Heights do not bother me going up, or getting to the top and looking down. No problemo.

But...... when I get to the top and look up even if all I see is sky I get all wobbly, bloody stupid!!!

OHh yeah Vertigo can affect people in different ways, MY wife finds it worse looking down a friend I worked with when in the field and building telecom towers , had no problem climbing them even the bigger ones we did up to 300 Feet high, and could look up and down with no issues, but he had to focus on looking at the tower, he could not look out for distant views that got to him

strange , but it is good we are all different otherwise it would be like living with the Stepford wives

Exactly all our differences is what makes the world interesting

I can't imagine staying 20 years in a place I don't want to be...

Those are some great angles :) ...

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

That’s why I moved out to CT a long commute but a beautiful coastal city

Cheers and !BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @tattoodjay for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.