MusicMonday: Grand Funk Railroad

We're an American Band!

image.png

Source

Hello Music Lovers! After a short absence due to a very busy week and vaccine side effects, I'm back with my weekly MusicMonday post, where I explore some of my favorite bands or personalities in the world of music (and mainly rock n roll).

Today I'll talk about one of m favorite 70's bands that, in my opinion, never really got the attention they deserved, despite doing a very good job: Grand Funk Railroad.

The band was originally formed as a trio in 1969 by Mark Farner (guitar, keyboards, harmonica, vocals) and Don Brewer (drums, vocals), and Mel Schacher (bass) but had a few changes over the years. They are still active but Mark Farner is no longer in the band.

As I mentioned above, they never really achieved huge commercial success, at least not compared to other bands from the same period, but they did know how to put up a great act and that's what I'll try to show here with a few pics out of the band's great catalog!

We're an American Band

This is probably the most iconic Grand Funk tune. Feel the energy of the guys on the stage! Notice that the drummer is also the lead singer, which is not something very usual.


I'm your captain

This is one of m favorite sons by GFR and this live version is specifically nice. Not hard to understand why a lot of people say that they are one of the few bands that actually sound better live than on the studio.


Heartbreaker

This song has nothing to do with the Led Zeppelin classic, despite having the same name and being released shortly after it. It's a whole different song and also a really good one. I really love the guitar on this one!


Black Licorice

I think this song is very underrated! It doesn't come up too often when people talk about GFR but I think it's a great one. That bass line really gets the funk going!

Locomotion

Their version of this classic song is a real lesson of how to put up a great show. Just look at that stage energy that's going on there! I'm not much of a dancer but it's hard not to get my hips moving when I listen to this!

And that's a wrap!

I hope you enjoyed this week's post and make sure you check out more of Grand Funk Railroad if you don't know them! I promise you it's going to be worth your while!

See you all next week!


Posted via MusicForLife.io

Sort:  

!LUV classic rock

I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for stopping by!

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@tfranzini, you've been given LUV from @mineopoly.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (9/10)