Silver conch shell coin from The Bahamas/ Re-blog lottery

in FreeCompliments8 months ago

I lived in Miami, Florida for a bit back in the nineties. I had a friend who loved fishing and diving just as I do and we used to make a lot of trips to the Bahamas for just that reason. The fishing is phenomenal as well as the diving. You can see so many different sea creatures and beautiful reefs all around the islands. If you get a chance it's worth the trip!

While I was there I always tried to pick up a coin or two for my collection and found this coin in a shop. It has a great design with a marlin and flamingo on the front and a beautifully designed conch shell on the back. Take a look:

About the coin:
Country: Commonwealth of the Bahamas
Denomination: One Dollar
Mint : The Franklin Mint, Pennsylvania, US
Year: 1978
Mintage: 6,931
Composition: 80% silver/ 20% copper
Diameter: 34.54 mm
Weight: 18.14 grams
Thickness: 2.44 mm
Edge: Reeded
Obverse: The Bahamas national arms with lettering: COMMONWEALTH OF THE BAHAMAS FORWARD UPWARD, ONWARD TOGETHER
1978
Reverse: Queen conch shell and a small fish and lettering: One Dollar

I've always liked this coin, it's beautifully detailed which one would expect out of the Franklin Mint. They produced some really stunning coins back in the seventies and eighties. It's one of several I have from the Franklin Mint that was minted for the Bahamas, and I haven't run into any others in coin shops here in the US over the years. So they aren't all that common and definitely great coins to collect or for stacking!

Now for some cool queen conch pictures!


sunrisebeachclub.com
A decorative shell


thoughtco.com
One on a reef turned over so you can see the conch

communityconch.org
On the sea floor

Most of us have seen conch shells at some point as they are used for decorations and even musical instruments. Conch are sea snails that are commonly eaten as seafood throughout the Caribbean. The species found in the Americas and Caribbean is the queen conch. They are a common part of ceviche or soups depending on the country you happen to be in. In the Bahamas they are served in soups, salads or fritters, and are very tasty!

Something that I didn't know is that queen conch is that they can produce pearls. They are fairly rare with the most common color being pink but can be white, brown, or orange. They have been highly sought since Victorian times and can be slightly iridescent due to small crystalline fibers near the surface of the pearl. Out of curiosity I started to check prices out and was shocked to find that most start at about $1,000 US and some selling at much, much higher prices. Below is the picture they have in Wikipedia, it was one of the nicer ones I could find.


Wikipedia

I guess I should have done some conch fishing too, maybe I would have found a pearl!

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post. I appreciate all of your support! If you have any questions, suggestions, or comments please feel free to leave them below. Thanks again!

References
https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces21127.html
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conch

Re-blog lottery
Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 23 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! You guy are the best! The people who re-blogged were:

@abbak7
@bitandi
@bitphoto
@blitzzzz
@caleb-marvel
@edeyglezsosa
@flaxz.alive
@florakese
@ganjafarmer
@henruc
@hooiyewlim
@kungfukid
@kunschj
@ladymisa
@maurojd
@monsterbuster
@olaf.gui
@pepetoken
@stekene
@trautenberk
@trumpman
@vrezion
@vrezyy

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @florakese !
You will receive 3 HSBI!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Sort:  

Oh, that fits in really well with the precious mermaid!

The Bahamas sure has some gorgeous commemorative coins, this would go nice next my 1973 Independence Anniversary Silver ship also from the Bahamas.
https://peakd.com/piratesunday/@kerrislravenhill/the-1973-bahama-independence-proof-issue-usd10-silver-coin-part-two-of-two

That's a cool one! Where did you pick that one up?

I'm green again! Super awesome I am so tickled that I'm in the green area!

Awesome work awesome content and I hope you really keep it up!

You almost won too! I was cheering for you but it clicked barely over!

How does it keep getting better... at least it's 80% and not sterling that would be too much 🤣

A lot of the Franklin Mint's were sterling, I was kind of surprised this wasn't too.

Well they making it to their customers specifications right ?

That's a really cool coin, both sides have a great design.

I had no idea conch produced pearls. I live in South Florida
I may have to look into this. !lol

Cats can learn up to 50 different words and commands
They just don't want to.

Credit: reddit
@thebighigg, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of maddogmike

(1/2)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Maybe it's time to go conch collecting and see if you get lucky. I didn't realize they made pearls either or I might have tried my luck earlier!

I think I have this. I may be mistaken!

I think you may have shared it once upon a time, I think I recall seeing it.
!luv

Always love seeing coin currency from around the world. In this case, I'd love to see a colored version. I think some hints of orange and pink for the shell, pink for the flamingo, blue for the merlin, the colors of the crest... It would be lovely!

I've never seen any colorized versions from the Franklin Mint, but this was back in the seventies. I wonder if anyone did that aftermarket? I've never seen any. But since they were limited in mintage no one may have done that since it could diminish the value of the coin with some collectors. Colored coins are becoming more accepted in the collecting community now though, so hard to say!
!pizza

Oh no, I doubt anyone colorized an original, because as you said, the value would diminish. However, if they wanted to make a 50th anniversary edition that was colorized, that would be really neat!

...And a new coin to collect 😄

Thanks for HSBI!
!LUV

You're welcome!
!LUV
!LOL
!HUG

Dear @florakese, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thebighigg.
(2/3)

How can you tell if your smartphone is good at playing music?
By the number of gigs it has.

Credit: reddit
@florakese, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of thebighigg

(6/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

!ALIVE

@thebighigg! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ pepetoken. (2/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Nice biology class from a coin ;)
!PIZZA

I'm finding it's more fun to share animal coins when you actually talk about the animal. Animals are always cool, unless of course they are trying to kill you!

I had no idea they could produce pearls, they look stunning, both visually and in price!😇😀
Another very nice coin addition to your stack, it always pays check out the local coin shop!🤗

Thanks! I had no idea about the pearls, maybe I should have been collecting conch when I was diving there!

Yes, definitely, they look beautiful, I can see why they command a high price!😇😀

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @thebighigg.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
gwajnberg tipped thebighigg
@thebighigg(1/5) tipped @gwajnberg

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/1) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

You received an upvote of 19% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thank you ssg-community!

!DHEDGE

Never seen the coins you showed in this post before. I'm Italian, here you wrote that you live in Miami, Miami should be a beautiful place. When I was little I also went fishing