The Ink Well Highlights Magazine # 130

in The Ink Well7 months ago

TheInkWellMagazine.png

Image modified using a picture by Becca Clark from Pixabay

This periodic magazine highlights a small selection of short stories posted to The Ink Well community that stood out and were awarded a Curie vote. Thank you to all authors in The Ink Well for sharing your creative work!

Important Note

We are showcasing authors who have contributed well-written and edited stories, have read and commented on the work of other authors and comply with all of the community rules posted on our home page. These activities help our community thrive.

The following are just a few of our favorite stories from 26 October to 1 November / 2023.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

[

Featured Author: @universoperdido

In My Arms

image.png

Freepik

I caught a glimpse of her tiny fragile newborn face and it seemed like time stood still. Fear was replaced by a warm peace. There were no walls, no ceilings, no windows around us, just her and me, enveloped by white clouds. I swear for an instant she smiled at me, and all the noise vanished forever. It felt strange but pleasant, and I realized I was under the effects of a haunting. For the people around me, it was only a few minutes, but for me, it was an eternity. From that day on I discovered that you don't have to be a parent to love a child.

@universoperdido

image.png

Featured Author: @arduilcelebren

The album of souls

image.png

Image generated by Leonardo ai

"He isssss a paladin. He is a holy warrior. He has killed many evil creaturessss. He fought hard for his god. He is famous for protecting his friends. Once, he even defended a ssssssmall town until dawn. He managed to defend against goblins when the locals didn't even know how to shoot an arrow. And he saved the town from these goblinssss. So his soul is worth a lot of money," Devil said.

"And how did it end up in this soul album?" the customer in the white dress added.

@arduilcelebren

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @rinconpoetico7

Mrs. MacDowell

image.png

Pixabay

Thomas clicked his teeth against some missing ones, he felt a twist in his stomach, and he thought he should get out of that place soon. At that instant a powerful light came out of the book and caught the boy's attention, the pages turned, and Thomas fell into a spell, he turned to the book and began to read.

Mrs. MacDowell entered the attic and saw the set of lights and Thomas uttering the spell. She shouted at him "Don't do it, you brat!". The woman quickly ran to Thomas to stop him from reading any further.

@rinconpoetico7

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @kingsleyy

The Night Before Halloween's Party

image.png

Source

Returning to her bedroom, she slammed the door shut, her pulse racing. As she steeled herself to continue her shower, the eerie knocking resurfaced once more. Fear now gripped her; her skin crawled with goosebumps. Her mind raced as she approached the door once again, her hand trembling as she grasped the handle. The knocking ceased once more as she flung the door open.

This time, there was a smal red feather on the ground—a part of the Halloween costume she had brought home for an office party the following Friday, Halloween night. She picked up the feather, went back to her room, and fixed the feather back to the mask on the table. To her surprise, the knocking did not resume when she turned away.

@kingsleyy

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @hazmat

image.png

Pixabay

I spent the night reading and didn't plan on sleeping. I had an exam by 8am in the morning, so I figured it was best to stay up, leave for the exam and then come back home to sleep after I was done.
But there are times when you just cannot escape when nature calls. I slept off and was woken the next morning by a loud knock on my door and as I checked the time it was already twenty minutes before eight.
It was my neighbor at the door and he'd apparently noticed I didn't come to the mosque for morning prayers. His kids somehow knew I was writing my exams and when they told him, he decided to come check up on me.

@hazmat

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Featured Author: @mmykel

My timepiece

image.png

Unsplash

I would adorn my wrist with it and walk around the neighbourhood for no particular reason. While strolling, I'd raise, flap, and stretch my arms for no particular reason. To date, I gesticulate with my hands a lot. I guess that's one of the premises on which the habit was ingrained, even though my early romance with rap music contributed a whole lot to my hand gesticulation.

I admired the wristwatch a bit too much. Maybe I was obsessed. When I saunter about, I'd feel the whole world's gaze converging on my wrist. Some people actually admired my wrist, but mostly my sense of importance was bloated out of proportion.

@mmykel

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png
@jayna , @gracielaacevedo , @yaziris , @itsostylish , and @samsmith1971

p.s. You can see the past magazines here: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46,47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67,68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107,108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 113, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 120, 121, 122, 123, 124, 125, 126, 127, 128,129

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

Interested in joining our community? Start by joining Hive!

Join here at Hive Onboard

Already a Hive member? Click Subscribe at the top of The Ink Well community home page.

Questions? Ask The Ink Well on Discord.

TheInkWell Section Seperator.png

We invite lovers of creative writing to visit The Ink Well, a Hive community started by @raj808 and @stormlight24 and run by @jayna, @gracielaacevedo, @yaziris, @itsostylish and @samsmith1971.

How to Follow Our Curation Trail

You can follow our curation trail by going to our hive.vote curation trail page and clicking the follow button.

How to Delegate to The Ink Well

We welcome delegations! These support our community in many ways, including helping us to provide support to quality content creators through curation and contests.

50 HP
100 HP
500 HP
1000 HP
5000 HP
click here
click here
click here
click here
click here


@jayna, @felt.buzz, @agmoore, @marcybetancourt, @itsostylish, @marlyncabrera, @selftheist, @stormcharmer, @iamraincrystal, @preparedwombat, @gracielaacevedo, @timix648, @samsmith1971, @jackdeathblack, @josemalavem, @riverflows, @generikat, @mineopoly, @hazmat, @treasuree, @innfauno12, @kingsleyy, @popurri, @nancybriti1, @marriot5464, @marynn, @jjmusa2004, @universoperdido, @morey-lezama, @evagavilan2, @moneykeep, @mrenglish, @stuartcturnbull, @marilour, @rinconpoetico7, @funshee, @amiegeoffrey, @loveah, @balikis95, @cool08, @rukkie, @raymondpeter, @emreal, @eunice9200, @holler, @tomiajax and @ricurohemi28.

Capture.JPG
Click banner to visit our community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

Sort:  

Thank you for selecting my story! I am happy to be among those selected. My best vibes to everyone else!

Congratulations to all the featured writers. Good job

Congratulations to all featured writers. Good job