It is OK to vote! Voting power isn't broken, it just got reset.

in #hardfork206 years ago

image.png

I know a lot of people are holding off voting due to the Voting Power concerns. This is actually a bad idea and there is a lot of confusion about what your voting power is currently. This is just a UI issue and not a voting power issue.

You will not use any more voting power than you did before the hard fork. The equilibration is for resource credits, which is the new bandwidth, not voting power. I understand many people are low on resource credits (aka bandwidth) but voting will help.

The equilibration will help calculate how much every action on steem should cost, right now for example commenting has an excessive cost assigned to it. The more organic voting that goes on, the better the system will normalize.

Everyone who has been voting normally within five days of the fork will have had their voting power reset to near 0% voting power. We are all recovering and most people will be between 30-46% voting power at this point. Using your voting power right now won't drain your voting power any more than if you drained it to 0% on the 25th and started over. It will always use 2% of your remaining voting power.

If you vote less than (10) 100% votes in a day, you will still recover voting power (aka mana). If you want to speed that up, vote as normal and just use 50% of the power you normally would. You will still engage with your community and recover your voting power on a steady basis.

As always, vote with your heart!




X48EJ

Why you should vote me as witness

Witness

Active, Present, Passionate


       

My recent popular posts

STEEM, STEEM Power, Vests, and Steem Dollars. wtf is this shit?
The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

Sort:  

Sorry, but it is easy to say all this if you have a vote that is worth something in the first place. With the fall in price of steem a lot of us have been trying to keep our vp above 80% at all times in order to have some impact when we vote (i've been vesting too). You've (witnesses) fucked our voting power and are now complaining because everyone has decided to fuck off for a few days to recover. Boo hoo, you're not getting any votes. The pool can keep it's upvotes. I won't upvote until I can make an impact on people who need it (the people who don't get much of a vote anyway). Sorry if all this is impacting on the big boys income. No I'm not sorry. I'm fucking pissed off. And you've made me use some RC when I'd promised myself I wouldn't comment until it was up to 80%! So now, I am doubly fucked off.

Posted using Partiko Android

Us witnesses did not write the code. I’m not complaining at all, just trying to explain to people the current situation with voting power as there is a lot of confusion.

Most of us are upset about the lost in voting power and the resource credit changes. We all have been impacted and lost a lot of potential rewards.

With 2k sp one comment won’t impact your resource credits at all. Comments don’t drain from your voting power.

I wasn’t asking anyone to vote for me.

I'm still voting, but doing a little less so my vp grows again. What I won't do is buy votes. Will the vote sellers be struggling too? That could be a good outcome. I saw one notorious self-voter is only getting about a tenth of what he got before the hardfork :)

If you vote less than (10) 100% votes in a day, you will still recover voting power (aka mana).

You would need to use a lot more than 10/day to stay where you are. At 30% VP a 100% vote uses 0.6% VP, and you still get 20% per day, so equilibrium there is more like 32 votes.

Even if you're spending 10/day or 15/day you'll eventually grow back to the point where that's equilibrium, just a little bit slower.

Of course, more than half the accounts in the system can't currently use 32 votes in a day anyway, so that becomes kind of moot.

Agreed, but wanted to keep it simple. Each vote uses 2% of your remaining vp not total, so as your voting power drops you will use less. Wanted to more remove the stigma of voting right now.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

LOL at your comment delivery service.
I always vote with my heart. And since in my mind's eye you = your avatar I vote for the Captain of the Serenity a lot.
So if voting as normally as possible helps equilibrium, does commenting help too? I've been able to comment with caution since yesterday, and I have about 200 SP. By the looks of it I could almost resume normal use, maybe - since my normal is <10 comments most days and maybe 1 post a week.

I think all transactions that are done organically will help find a balance. My main point is voting power was just reset, it doesn't need to find a balance so holding off voting to get to 100% isn't necessary. You can still vote, just vote a little less if you want to recover all the way to 100%.

I see a lot of people avoiding all voting as they see one vote drop their VP 60%, but that's just a display bug.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Thank you, this helped me understand the voting and convinced me to get back to voting and commenting. Looking at percentage, not actual numbers, that makes sense. Visiting Steemit has been a part of my day since I started, then for two days I couldn't interact at all, no way to even ask a question! My 'mana' was in the minus billions and I didn't know what mana was!

But now that I'm following your advice and started interacting as I usually would, my numbers are growing, not depleting, and I'm feeling a lot better!

I don't know much about all this but understand that after one day of HF20 all is ok for high SP steemians like more than 2000SP.
The voting power is charging from 0 to 100% after HF20. on day of HF it was goes to 0. That's OK. This will happens some time when changes are done.
Now, it will take some days to come normal to all steemians. For me, no matter VP is 100% or 5%. but important is, it should work. and Now it is working good. Our 24hour vote value is same only quantity of votes increase or decrease respectively VP decrease or increase. This is vice versa phenomena.

So, it would seem just ok to wait another day and recover a bit, or limit voting until recharged and carry on as normal?

Now steemit is back to its normal state and we should not worry about RC .I know we will take time to overcome that stress and panic state but one thing I liked the most is

Always vote with your ♥
Vote those whose work you like because we are humans and we need motivation.
When a person don't get appreciation even if you like their work at some point they lose motivation and leave what they love to do irrespective of being good at it because they think it's not worth it.

Now RC is totally normal you can vote comment post easily and normally like you used to 😊

I didn't care and was just wiping out voting power, since RC cost so much more that in effect I would never run out of voting since the recharge rate was much lower than the RC cost to do any actions as they were 1:1.

Well said!
Just do thing normal.
No exaggeration nonetheless
Let it be.
Keep on postin’

Are you saying that where we would have done a 100% upvote we should do a 50% upvote and it will have the same effect on VP/mana as previously?

It won't have the same effect, it will just allow you to vote organically, and support who you want to support (at 50% strength) but still allow you to recover your mana.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Nice to see your comment delivery service is working 😉

I'm simply confused by it all. I would have never allowed my voting power to get this low before, and it seems insane to vote when it is below 50%

Not really, it will still recover if you vote less than (10) 100% votes in a single day. So if you usually vote around (10) 100% votes a day, just do (10) 50% votes for a few days. You won't recover as fast as not voting, but you will still be engaged and still recover to 100% voting power just about 50% slower. Not the end of the world. This is a time you want more engagement on the platform, not less.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Rightly said @themarkymark we need more engagement right now...but how we engage when our RC keep sinking with each comment. I see post hf20 and introduction of RC there is now limitation on comments....and with each comments it will sink further...how we recover it ? Even if we edit any post or comment the cost get involved into it.

Engagement only comes with comments...not much with voting.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you have low Steem Power, comments right now will butcher your bandwidth and you should minimize commenting until the system stabilizes or if needed is patched.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Then ...mere through low voting enegagement is not possible . when we do not have much Resource Credit , it is hard to enegage on steemit...now as the new patches move the RC nack to 100 % hope to see more user engagement

Posted using Partiko Android

When this is all said and done will I be able to make an unlimited amount of comments to stay engaged or will comments be limited?

with about 1800 SP (effective after delegation) you should able to do quite a bit without a problem.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Thanks for the clarification. I think a lot of people are scared and confuse by the change. I have redeemed your post.

However, I am more concern about the commenting aspect, how people without significant SP can only do one or two comments a day. Yes, that would stop bots from spamming, but it will also stop a lot of real users. I know for a fact that we have a large group in the Chinese community who is dedicated to produce good content and meaningful interaction, which they cannot do now unless they pay up.

Exactly! How can we be engaged if we can't comment! I do not understand this at all.

Witnesses are patching now to prepare for v0.20.4 which will drastically increase RC limits by 10x.

It still may not be perfect but will be a lot better.

I hope many find this information useful. However, I'm still worried about the unintended consequences the lauching of HF 20 could bring to the steemosphere

There are a lot of discussions on this, it's not being ignored.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Voting more will lower the cost of comments? Because that's what I've been worried about looking at my numbers today. Right on, if so - let the voting party begin!

It will help establish a norm but it more the idea of not holding off voting and engagement. You can vote less just don’t give up voting because you are lower VP. If you vote just as much but for half of what you normally would, you will be full in a couple of days without having to give up engagement.

Thanks for explaining - I am so confusulated...

Really good news and should calm some folks down that are scared to see the voting power so low.

i’ll admit. i hate seeing it so low for myself because i love to upvote stuff but i see it coming back slowly

appreciate the post!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is great to read, still trying to wrap my head around it all, didn't quite know what to do about voting so I appreciate this :)

I'm not convinced, @themarkymark. So, as an experiment, I am going to give this post a 100% upvote. My bet is that the same thing that happened yesterday will happen again: Even a single vote will result in a massive reduction in voting power.

So here goes nothing: The screenshot before:

Yup, that's what I thought. Here's what ONE 100% upvote did to my VP:

So unless you have some other explanation, I'm not buying, sorry. And yes, I tried to vote a couple of times yesterday, and lost about 30% (not 2%) of my VP with each vote...

You were never at 64% VP, steemworld is not accurately reflecting your voting. Use Steemd.com which has been updated for hard fork 20. Try one more 100% vote you will see it will take like 1% of your voting power.

When you voted, you just updated your VP to the accurate number, which is in the 40's like most everyone right now.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Appreciate the explanation... I hope all these different "skins" get their apps calibrated.

Ahahah... finally i found it! I did this same experiment and got similar results as you @denmarkguy. I was getting confused and frustrated reading different posts and trying to understand what was really going on with voting power. I Thank you @denmarkguy and @themarkymark

So if we keep commenting, the RS cost per comment will fall as the system adjusts to our behaviour.

To the behavior of Steem as a whole, not your specific behavior.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

The VP is very low and voting got no value at all and that situation puts me still.

Posted using Partiko iOS

We are all at very similar VP levels, but that will resolve itself in a few days.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Are you @mnur on weku? because if not someone plagiarized this word for word on weku, I want to call them out but not without knowing for sure. I will not provide a link unless you request it because of all the phishing scams going on.

No, I am not, please provide a link?

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

https://deals.weku.io/community-deals/@mnur/it-is-ok-to-vote

I also reported it to the weku plagerism cleaners as well

Found it, yeah plagiarism.

My default account with like no stake was able to flag him for like $20+. I have no idea how that is possible but felt good.

I am glad to see someone else who shares my opinion on voting during this time. I've been telling anyone who will listen that they should be voting right now, that there is still a reward pool in need of distribution. Glad to see the same advice coming from a witness. Makes me feel a little less crazy in my assertion!

Posted using Partiko Android

If people start voting more, commenting costs will go down as the system reaches equilibrium. Am I understanding this correctly?

In theory, comments may not go down, they may even go up. But the equilibrium will be found faster if people interact with the blockchain organically.

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

i am trying to find out something, but have no success. there was a talk about small votes (0.001, 0.006...) and how they are not going to the poster and curators but going back to the reword pool? is it true for posts and comments, just comments or not at all?

Small votes are called dust votes, on a comment, it is required to have 0.02 cents before a comment will pay out (this is after curation). So small votes that don't bring a post to 2 cents after curation will be returned to the reward pool.

Prior to hard fork 20, votes under a certain amount wouldn't be allowed at all.

so it is only on comments. and i think this should be widely known because if you are under 500SP even on 100% you will not hit 2 cents. and people should know that so they don't throw away their VM thinking they are rewarding people for comments but all they are doing is spending mana.

I think it is for posts too, but I am not 100% sure on that one.

I do recommend looking at @dustsweeper, it will upvote any comments of yours that have votes that won't make payout. All you do is send them some steem (recommend just 1 steem) and any comments that are below payout will be boosted above payout. It's a non-roi service, but you make ROI by getting votes you would never have been paid out for. This could equal a few dollars a month to like $50 a month for a whale.

I can confirm it is for posts too.

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks both of you

My voting power is at 50% according to steem world. 0.02. I turned off my autovoter as well because I don't know what affect that might have. Thank you for a decent explanation though on the voting power.

I have been able to vote and comment right through and I get it that steemworld etc weren't showing correct MP but my small 100% upvote (around 20c) is even smaller at less than 60%. I'd prefer to be able to give people more than 3c so I am waiting to recharge more before I vote because that 3c is likely all they are going to get with so many people locked out. I have done a little bit of voting but this is painful

Completely understand, if you are only able to give 2-3 cents, I'd wait until you are full. In practice, I recommend always trying to give more than 2 cents if you can so you are not giving dust votes (although this is more important for comments).

This comment was provided by @themarkymark new comment delivery service.

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to explain. Scott and I appreciate it very much. You could have just kept quiet and moved forward, but you stepped out and explained what you felt needed to be explained.

Secondly, we are not so much concerned about the voting power, but with the comment issue. We came to SteemIt and found an extremely active community that encourages via social interactions. I get so much more excitement when I see people interacting on my posts rather than upvotes. Don't get me wrong, the upvotes are welcomed and appreciated but i crave the conversations. SteemIt has been limiting the upvotes so people have chosen to encourage by social currency, using comments. HF20 seems to have put a break on this system. We have yet to see a good explanation why this, the lack of commenting, is good for the Steem community.

We are only 40 day old in this community, but we growing in our SP quickly. While our votes are not worth much at this point, a well thought out comment can make someone's day. However, because a comment is now costing almost five times the RC of an upvote we have to limit our commenting so we can post. How is this good for our community?

Thanks again for the explaintion and encouragement .
Scott & Ren

**checked our % after the above comment and it took us from 40% down to 24%. Now, i fear, i wont be able to make our weekly post.

Congratulations @themarkymark!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following categories:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 9 with 195 upvotes
  • Comments - Ranked 4 with 54 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 6 with $ 31,7