[Movie Review] Equilibrium (2002)

in #movies5 years ago (edited)

image.png

"In a futuristic world, a strict regime has eliminated war by suppressing emotions: books, art and music are strictly forbidden and feeling is a crime punishable by death. Cleric John Preston (Bale) is a top ranking government agent responsible for destroying those who resist the rules. When he misses a dose of Prozium, a mind-altering drug that hinders emotion, Preston, who has been trained to enforce the strict laws of the new regime, suddenly becomes the only person capable of overthrowing it."
- IMDb (Anonymous)

Equilibrium is yet another dystopian movie similar to the world of The Hunger Games. The government has outlawed books, arts, and even emotions to eliminate war. It makes 1984 look happy and exciting.

image.png

The movie stars Christian Bale and has a lot of great supporting actors like Angus Macfadyen, Sean Bean, Taye Diggs, and Emily Watson.

I feel the IMDb rating of 7.4/10 is accurate. I find anything over 6.0/10 is a good movie and 7.0+ is generally some of the better movies I have seen.

Action in Equilibrium has a Matrix-vibe to it. Combat is quick, precise, and calculated, almost supernatural. Some of the action scenes are a true ballet of death using what John Wick series has coined as Gun-Fu.

image.png
Even the cover pays homage to The Matrix

If you like the Matrix, Hunger Games, 1984, Minority Report, Gattaca, and the likes, then you will love this movie. It has elements of all of them but the action sequences rival even The Matrix.

image.png

Trailer

Images: 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

Gosh, I had forgotton about this movie. I saw it at the cinema back in the day and as you say, it came off the back of The Matrix but just didn't quite do it for me.

I notice you didn't use the AAA tag on this post. Have you seen https://www.triplea.reviews/ it's pretty good and kept nice and clean when I looked last time :-)

I've seen TripleA (the bot) but didn't know what it was as I never looked into it.

I'll give it a try next review I do.

Thanks.

Really liked equilibriun. I watched it a loooong time ago and was wondering lately what movie should I watch next. I hope my girl will not fall asleep to this one xD

Anyway, great movie.

Nice film! Very old film with a lot of punches! I still have my film DVD!

it is probably somewhere around 7, enjoyable but not spectacular.

It's been an excellent movie I've seen several times, a kind of big brother government that controls everything, the most incredible thing is that he was part of it until he discovers his true reality: those he has persecuted and killed are really the good ones.