[Movie Review] Predestination

in #review5 years ago

Going with the theme of movies I think a lot of people missed out on, Predestination is one you can't afford to miss.

Starring Ethan Hawke as a temporal agent (Time Traveller) in pursuit of one of the greatest criminals of his time. The movie introduces different paradoxes of time travel.

image.png

I classify Predestination as a mindfuck movie, my favorite type of movie. It will make you think and wonder for days if not weeks later wtf just happened. Based on a short story by a completely unrelated sounding title called 'All You Zombies'. The movie in fact has nothing to do with zombies nor did the short story as far as I know (I need to actually read it someday).

Interesting the story the movie was based on was originally written for Playboy but was rejected and eventually published in Fantasy and Science Fiction magazine.

image.png

This movie is classic science fiction but with a very good story and twisting plotline. I have a knack of figuring out the ending of movies well before Act 2 closes. This movie kept me on my feet for the majority of the movie and well into Act 3 before I started suspecting what was going to happen.

Ethan Hawke doesn't have an official name in the movie and referred to as The Bar Keeper. He devotes a large portion of his life to find and apprehend a criminal going referred to as The Fizzle Bomber. Early attempts to apprehend him left him with massive burns on his face which is reconstructed at the start of the movie.

The Bar Keeper is given one final mission before he is decommissioned. Every temporal agent has a device that allows them to travel in time and is disabled on the conclusion of their final mission. Agents are trained to avoid any disruptions in time and minimize their impact on the timeline.

Things get complicated when The Bar Keeper meets Jane and falls in love. Long-distance relationships are hard, when you are from different timelines it is even harder.

image.png

Don't expect to understand the movie on the first viewing. It's really deep and confusing at times. Even after watching it you are likely to not fully grasp the mindfuckery going on. This level of mind fuckery usually results in a weird quirky and silly movie, Predestination succeeds in avoiding that fate and is captivating and believable.

image.png

image sources

Sort:  

My wife and I watched the movie a few years back and both really liked it. It was definitly a mindfuck. I love time travel movies. They are always a challenge to wrap my head around. Primer was the hardest to understand in my opinion but I got it after a few viewings and posted an extensive review. Anyway, I think predestination kind of violates a few theories of time travel if I'm remembering correctly. But I think I have to rewatch it again to know for sure. It's been about 3-4 years but I actually still have it on a USB. Maybe I'll watch it this weekend.

Posted using Partiko Android

It does run into and play with some paradoxes.

Yeah. But still a great movie worth a watch

Posted using Partiko Android

 5 years ago  Reveal Comment

Ah yes this movie is quite unknown but I find it really good. The theme is dark and messes with time travel leaving me a disturbed ending. Another similar movie is Looper starring Bruce Willis and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

@triplea.cur 님이 본 게시글에 1000 AAA를 후원하셨습니다. 지갑 내역을 확인해주세요.

I wathed this with my friends a few years ago, I was one of the few that liked the movie, despite the little confusion from the 1st time watch. I love this kind of movie too. If you like time-travel movie, you may (or may not) like Project Almanac. It's not nearly as mind twisting like this one, though, but still make you have to focus to follow the story.

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!!

If you think Predestination was a mindfuck, you should try Steins;Gate. I'm a huge fan of Predestination. But Steins;Gate far eclipse even that.