Writing Prompt (Week 1)

in #writingprompt5 years ago (edited)

image.png

Here we go, week 1 of my new Writing Prompts contest.

Writing Prompt

A form of writing where a group of people writes a short story based on a predefined theme.

Theme

This weeks theme is tension. You are free to use this as physical or emotional tension.

Deadline

The last entry will be accepted December 9th, before midnight UTC.

Rules

  • All content must be original
  • Stories must be at least 400 words
  • All entries must be written in clear English
  • All entries must use the tags writingprompt
  • Title of your post should be "Writing Prompts (Week 1) - YOUR TITLE"
  • You have seven (7) days to submit your entry to the blockchain

Judges

(Thanks for accepting the role)

Prize

We will select one winner and award them 102 Steem.
(Keep an eye on this, it may go up!)

Want to sweeten the pot?

Send Steem to @themarkymark with the memo of "Writing Prompt" and I will add it to the pot for that week. You will be credited in a post announcing your contribution to the pool.

Contributions

@themarkymark - 10 Steem
@abh12345 - 10 Steem
@pechichemena 5 Steem
@derangedvisions 5 Steem
@paintingangels 2.5 Steem
@blewitt 10 Steem
@smitop 7.5 Steem
@meno 5 Steem
@llfarms 10 Steem
@ngc 25 Steem
@ayasha 2 Steem
@jcalero 5 Steem
@zaku 5 Steem

Feel free to submit a link to your entry in the comment section below.

Sort:  

Nice initiative. I've sent a little over to boost the pot.

Sent 10 over to contribute.

I've been waiting for this, am going to to share it with all my #Freewrite peeps @mariannewest @felt.buzz @wems @fitinfun @wonderwop and many more. Common in here. Let's make steemit more fun.

Let's bring down the steem dip price tension.

We are Steem.

😁 😁 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tag! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, thank you for thinking of us @botefarm

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tag @botefarm😀🙌.

@seesladen get in here. @calluna @jayna

Heh. It's like you picked the theme for me. Tension? The only thing I have more of in my life is pressure.

Looks like I might be the first entry!

https://steempeak.com/writingprompt/@geekpowered/writing-prompts-week-1-steel-tension

Hope you like it. If you don't, lie. :P

Damn. I wonder why I never thought of using a bench vise to juice the lime for my tequila. I've wasted my life!

Posted this on another post of yours. Reposting to ensure it is included in the contest.

"Almost forgot about this! Here's my submission. Thanks for hosting the contest."

I got it, but I will be finding posts via the tag when it closes.

Not quite at the wire, but closer than what I prefer. Thank you, @themarkymark, and everyone else who's contributing, for beginning this writing prompt contest. Please find my entry here—I Am The Night.

Hey, @themarkymark. Does the word tension need to be in the story itself? When you say theme, I figure that means the post should have some form of physical or emotional tension, but the actual word doesn't have to be in it, right. :)

Word no. But the main plot must involve emotional or physical tension.

Great initiative and I’m excited to see the entries!

@honeydue, wanted to make sure you saw this! ❤️

Thank you so much for the shoutout @llfarms <3 I had an eye on it and will definitely enter!!

Hey, great contest! I'll be sure to send something in.

Do you have an upper limit on word count? Not that I'm planning on submitting a novel, but just curious!

While we wait, let's have some !pancakes


Thanks for contacting Pancakes Express!

Would you like to order pancakes?

Please upvote this comment with your order:

UpvoteOrder
$0.01+random delicious pancake
$0.05+excellent pancakes suited for a king or queen
$0.25+party pancakes
$1+best pancakes we have ever made
$?it's ninja!

If you would like to order your own pancakes, just make a comment !pancakes anywhere on the blockchain and we will send you a menu.

@themarkymark, your pancakes are ready!

Source

let me summon my piggy ones

!pancakes


Thanks for contacting Pancakes Express!

Would you like to order pancakes?

Please upvote this comment with your order:

UpvoteOrder
$0.01+random delicious pancake
$0.05+excellent pancakes suited for a king or queen
$0.25+party pancakes
$1+best pancakes we have ever made
$?it's ninja!

If you would like to order your own pancakes, just make a comment !pancakes anywhere on the blockchain and we will send you a menu.

@pechichemena, your pancakes are ready! Oink!

Source

Hi @themarkymark!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 8.034 which ranks you at #28 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 201 contributions, your post is ranked at #190.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Your follower network is great!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I will like to ask how many entries are eligible to win the prize

I had in mind one entry per user per week.

Very good work...keep it up

Wow nice topic,i will submit my entry as soon as possible.great contest

Resteemed. What a nice incentive!

Posted using Partiko Android

Great one but late to participate now. Will do so next time

Awesome contest to encourage more fiction on steemit, and it worked in my case after not having posted in a while. Love the prompt.

My entry - https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@cizzo/writing-prompts-week-1-roland-the-ravenous

Fabulous way to encourage a little more creativity on the platform!

I had a lot of fun with this, Here is my entry. I found it hugely enjoyable and look forward to the chance to give the right brain another workout soon.

Good luck everyone who has entered, for those new to fiction, this is gonna lead to an amazing progression in your craft. Come back next time to hone those skills even further and have a lot of fun in the process 😀

Thank you for the contest, @themarkymark! Good luck with the judging process. Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/fiction/@jayna/writing-prompts-week-1-the-t-a-short-story

I left a Link on one post yesterday, but I wasn't sure if I left it on the right post, and read at the bottom of this post to leave links below. So here it is. Thank You.
https://steemit.com/writingprompt/@shanedustin/writing-prompts-week-1-poem-for-her-obsession-3500-word-short-story

I am going to pull them off the tag, so I will be able to find all of them.