Imagine you would earn 100,000 Steempower right now. What would you do if ....

in #dpoll5 years ago (edited)


Imagine you would earn 100,000 Steempower right now. What would you do if you'd only act in your best financial interest? And would an increase of curation/stakeholder-rewards influence your decision?


Please be honest and explain your decision.

Background:

I'm asking this question, because I truly believe Steem should incentivize/encourage people to keep what they earn on this platform as Steempower, instead of powering it down. Or in other words: people should want to be whales (big stakeholders) on Steem because it's in their best (financial) interest. If it's not in their best interest, we probably should change that.

Thank you for participating!


  • Power it down and sell it for FIAT.

  • Power it down and sell it for another cryptocurrency.

  • Power it down and keep it as Steem.

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for non-profit.

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

If you want to vote for multiple options, please do so via additional text, as I'm not able to edit the poll after the first vote.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

With 100k SP I would be even more interested in Steem becoming a great success and in my opinion trying to reward authors the way they deserve helps with making Steem a better place. An increace of the curation rewards would not change my answer but could motivate me even more to search for good posts and vote for them.

Why are authors the key to Steem's success?

Good content improves the visibility of Steem(it) in Google and other search engines and could bring more traffic and potentially more users. If users see that good content gets a lot of upvotes, they are more likely to produce good content for our system. Also they are more likely to tell their friends about Steem. I don't know if that's the key alone because there may be other keys to success like games on Steem or a combination of many things.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

Actually a mix between manual non-profit voting and profit voting. I have been around for some time now, usually in curation guilds and personal project. Distribution of the SP is more important than people think, and it doesn't matter if its 100k or 500k if the price is 0.1... I'd rather have 150k in the following 2 years if the price would be $2 than 400k if the price stays the same (or even drop).

On the other thing as a witness I would use SP to negotiate few extra votes, a thing no one speaks about anymore - but everyone is still wondering how are some of the people in top 50-60 without even updating their witness nodes, or doing some shit out there. :)

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for non-profit.

I’d actually have a mix of manual voting, curation profit, delegating for communities as well as delegating for profit.

Long time no chat!

Lets get to the meat of it because I think you pose an important question.

  1. The majority of digital users here either have excess real cash (cash beyond what they need to survive) or they have a cash problem (they dont make enough to spend their savings on things like steem).

  2. People who are strapped for real cash but spend their time here earning tokens could probably benefit from a 2nd job making minimum wage. People can't make $10hr/here, therefore it is not a sustainable way to make money.... if you were to consider the US as the main user base that is.

  3. People who are strapped for cash AND in other countries where their exchange rate to USD is horrendous can be assumed to reliably extract money from this system every chance they get.

  4. Only people who have excess capital to "invest" in this type of platform will ever put money in this platform. But investors are more often then not, inactive participants. They have money, and they want someone else to use it to make money for them (which is the main power of having capital).

For all of the above reasons, everyone will have a different answer because everyone's position is uniquely different.

BUT!!!!

If this ecosystem is any bit of a capitalistic society, you would see high SP accounts find ways to generate more SP. The moment that delegations were a thing, vote bots also became the primary way SP holders made more SP. If that no longer benefits high SP accounts, then why should anyone hold SP?

If i had 100K of SP, I honestly wouldn't even know how to use it. Yes I could delegate it to a project, but I dont find most projects interesting. Neither do I find them practical.

My answer? My SP does not control my life, therefore I would keep it powered up until someone has a great idea. Once that great idea comes around, Ill throw all my SP at it to support their idea.

Right now, that project is Steemit Inc, and im holding SP to bet that they create a solid block chain (the steem block chain) that can be leveraged by someone else to solve some crazy problem that I dont even know exists.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

I would delegate some to SteemFlagRewards, some to SBI, and join FlagTrail.
Yes, profit, but serving the community at the same time.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

Voted for

  • Power it down and sell it for another cryptocurrency.

Swing Trading them is profitable i think. Others are my daily steemit (using the platform soon it will work). Not too high, not too low

Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit) - to support steemians content I like, any profits will be cool.

Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit - 50% of it to services like @ocdb @smartsteem or something similar to have cash flow and liquid Steem so I don't have to power down if needed.

Keep it powered up and delegate away for non-profit - 10.000 I will delegate to my @ddaily community so we can curate more people with more upvote power :)

vote for bring new steemian, and educated

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

I'd put it to work for me. Find ways to help other curation groups, dApps, and the like. I'd help them get off the ground, and get some compensation for the effort.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

Split it. I'd sell about $1k worth(like 3,000 I think) and use that to pay for servers for my projects. Then I'd keep about 10% of it liquid, and power up the rest and do manual vote, and have voteselling at 98% so that no vote goes wasted to maximize curation, manual voting, and to earn a little bit on the side when I'm unexpectly away and not able to vote.

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

I would delegate (say 70%) to profitable projects like @actifit @dlike etc and even bid bots for returns.

I am FOR the idea of eliminating bid bots but in the meantime that the current system permits it, I will equally get involved in the game.

Also, I would will delegate (say 20%) for non-profit. This will be to support projects that foster the growth and adoption of Steem as well as some communities.

Finally, I will hold (10%) of the SP for my daily manual curation on Steem.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

I feel like the ideal situation would be that I could keep it powered up and curate what I like and make a profit without needing to be profit-focused. I also would do some delegation for profit, but with that much Steem power the majority would be voting manually.

Confusing me lol, Just fix it so i can do what i enjoy and be in my best financial interest. - Read articles in my leisure, manually vote on them knowing that i'm making an acceptable ROI compared to other options on steem. For this i would look at increasing my stake. which dpoll button do you want me to tick? :)

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

voted for this as there is no option "continue with what i am doing right now"
i do have some autovotes set up, and rest is just reading what i like and voting for it.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

with this much SP my interest would be an increase in Steem price.

I feel a good way for this would be real engagment and manual curation as long as we are primary a blogging platform.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

In addition, I would have auto-voting enabled to support my fellow Steemians, as time is not available to manually curate every day, all day long. In this way, I would ensure that my voting power was always "at work" doing my part to distribute the resource pool to good content creators.

My selection @therealwolf:

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

In addition, I would have auto-voting enabled to support my fellow Steemians, as time is not available to manually curate every day, all day long. As a long-term oriented investor, in this way I would ensure that my voting power was always "at work" doing my part to distribute the resource pool to good content creators.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for non-profit.

I would mix things up a bit since it is free but mostly non profit and responsible profit delegations, also curation but again responsible curation.

I would keep it powered up and expand my curation projects with my daily curation with @ocd and the @minnowsupport project. Its been awfully hard to convince people to delegate sp thus far, but any sp delegations are always greatly appreciated.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Selling votes will give double the return than simple curation does (if bidbots give back curation of course).

HOWEVER, if a good curator is outperforming others by a large margin, realizing a return that is close to the bidbot's return, then I would choose curation and delegate to him. Even if the retur is not guaranteed and on average 10-20% below bidbots, I would choose that because it's better for Steem. but, 50% below bidbots is too much, I'd sell votes.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

A mix of a few of these.

I would keep a majority delegated for profit for sure, I want to increase my stake. But I would definitely support my favorite dApps, and I would power down 1000€ - 2000€ worth of steem to help me build a better PC and get a VR headset XD

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

I won't use dpoll because I want multiple options.
I would keep it powered up and do all three:

  • Delegate away for non-profit
  • Delegate away for profit
  • Vote manually non-profit

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for non-profit.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Nowadays I have about only 370 Steem Power, and I already selling my vote.
But I also curate (upvote) (mostly) posts manually, and if I would have 100 000 Steem Power, then I would also curate (upvote) manually. Even comments.
Nowadays I rarely upvote comments, because nowadays my upvote is worth approximately/about/around $0.01 USD, which is less less than the payout threshold ($0.02 USD).
If I would have 100 000 Steem Power, then maybe I would even delegate some Steem Power for profit (or even some Steem Power for non-profit to help the community, and make Steem more valuable in the long term).
100 000 Steem Power is a lot.
If the most of us would get 100 000 Steem Power, and if they would act only in their best financial interest, then they would surely go for maximizing their curation (and/or any other) rewards either way.
Nowadays a 100% upvote with 100 000 Steem Power is worth $2.20.
Powering down 100 000 Steem Power would be foolish, and selling it for FIAT would be more foolish, because if you would have 100 000 Steem Power, then people would care (or would pretend to care) about your posts, but you certainly would get many upvotes and comments. Attention in general.
People would hope that they would get a good upvote from you.
Not to mention the fact that nowadays the price of Steem is low, so if you would sell it nowadays, then you would probably regret it in the future.
If you would sell it for any FIAT currency, then you would certainly regret it, because you would not get any better interest anywhere with any of the FIAT currencies.
If you act only in your best financial interest, then keeping (and using) it as Steem Power (in any way) to earn profit is the best option.

Greetings, my friend.

Many are the opportunities that Steemit offers and one of them is to obtain economic profits, for many of us Venezuelans it was difficult for us not to say impossible "to keep or to maintain the steem in steempower". I have met many who have tried, I am even one of them but the economic situation is strong and thanks to the small changes of steem we can solve some personal needs.

What more would I like to be part of that interesting group of whales to help 100% high quality authors and those who are striving to do something good here on this platform.

Voted for

  • Power it down and keep it as Steem.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

With 100k STEEM it would be very much in my interest to see STEEM succeed. In my opinion the best way to make a profit is for the price to rise to higher levels. With a higher price there would be more interest and even more possibilities. To get there we need an active an interested users base to keep everything moving and power up themselves. One of the best way for this to happen is through engagement and bringing in new people.

If our whales were thinking long term then they would be doing everything in their power to make this a good place to be and encouraging use through voting and engagement. I do it as much as I can and keep as active as i can. I would be using to make returns myself but it's vital to spread the love across the blockchain.

Keep it powered up and go up approximately two witness spots :')

Posted using Partiko Android

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Hi! First of all anyway I'm not going to powerdown my Steem power because I beleive in Steem! Sell votes, delegate SP or manual curation it's more deep question for me because I think that SP should work. Of course I'll stay SP for manual curation because there are many excellent authors who need votes and they are just come to steem or needed in support.
If talk at current I'm selling votes for Smartsteem service what in my opinion helps to Smartsteem and I don't waste my SP.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

I would power down later and sell when the price goes to moon. Then buy back when the next cycle ends...

The easy way:

100k is a lot of Steem, to minimize risk I'd turn 50% of it to other assets or crypto. I'd then power up the rest and sell votes until markets start picking up. This enables good enough rewards with zero effort. Then slowly power down and sell and buy back when markets hit the bottom again on weekly timeframe.

Hard way:

Actually use it to manually curate and embed great users to our platform, not caring that you're perhaps putting in a lot of effort while gaining less compared to selling votes, hoping to attract more eyeballs and other great content creators and people to our ecosystem, hopefully turning it into a little snowball that'll grow slowly.

100k Steem power gives a voting power of 2.2 dollars currently. That can do a lot of good in third world countries and has an impact even on western world.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (not focused on profit)

Hi, @therealwolf!

You just got a 0.31% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit

With the growing number of curation trails in Steem, delegating my SP to one of these groups will end up being beneficial both to me (by generating some revenue from that delegation) and to the authors receiving votes from that group. From my perspective I would like to be able to collaborate within Steem but as long as I receive some kind of benefit (better if it's monetary) from such contribution.

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and vote manually (focused on curation-profit)

I would use the opportunity to use it as investment. Only in the case of need I would convert into fiat

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and sell votes for profit

Start an upvoting service.

Thanks for contributing to the dPoll content.

You have been upvoted from our community curation account (@dpoll.curation) in courtesy of This Guy... @bluerobo.

Come, join our community at dPoll discord server.


If you want to support dPoll curation, you can also delegate some steem power. Quick steem connect links to delegate:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP

Voted for

  • Keep it powered up and delegate away for profit
There are 2 pages
Pages