Blue damselfly on green leaf - my entry for today's #colourfulphotography contest

in #colourfulphotography6 years ago (edited)

While I was wandering around our yard with our dog Sandy last Thursday, I noticed something fly past and land on a leaf. My first thought was, "DRAGONFLY!!!!" but as soon as my camera focused, I realize it was actually its smaller cousin, the damselfly.

It was apparently in a big hurry, because it took off as soon as I snagged this (and one other) shot. I was hoping for a macro closeup, but I'm happy I even managed this. I figured it would be a good entry into today's #colourfulphotography contest put together by @juliank (over at @photocontests) every Thursday.

Damselfly.jpg

Click for full sized shot

 
 

Photo credit: Traci York, taken with my trusty Nikon
Blog graphics: created on Canva

1. separator graphic swirls and star, smaller.png

Thanks for stopping by!
All words and images are mine (unless otherwise indicated),
and can sometimes also be found on my various social media sites.
Speaking of...

I have one billion many homes on the interwebz. Here are a few -

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-07T14:54:57
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 442.90/200.00
Total Photos: 49
Total comments: 148
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I can never shoot like this! Beautiful @traciyork.

Thank you so much, @fotografia101! 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

I love blue damselflies. I just like the blue color. :)
Excellent photo.

The first time I saw one, I couldn't believe it was real - the blue is so intense it almost looked fake! And thanks so much, @eto-ka!

Lovely blues. Nice capture on this one. Really caught my eye.

So nice of you to say, @eyeofthemind - thank you! 😊

So fast to fly, I know that feeling (it got away) well in your case almost nice capture @traciyork

It's like they know when you're about to hit the shutter button, isn't it @joanstewart? LOL! And thanks so much!

You're so smart! I never knew that there was a difference. I always thought they were dragonflies! Great photo BTW!

LOL! Thanks, Roger - I only know thanks to the power of Google. 😊

We have these everywhere on our creek at this time of the year, such cool bugs!

I agree - they're wicked cool! 😊

Beautiful, we rarely see dragonfly anymore nowadays, so sad...

In that case, I consider myself very lucky - we have a large number who hang out around our yard every year. And thanks, @roselifecoach!

That's very lucky of you. Thanks for sharing too!

Nice shot @traciyork

What a beautiful looking creature.

I zoomed in quite a bit and you have definitely captured a lot of detail.

Gaz

Thank you, Gaz! 😊

You're welcome. 😃

I love his blue colors and thanks for teaching me that it is not, in fact, a dragonfly but his cousin. This is one of my learned things today 💚

That's wicked awesome, @zen-art! Thanks so much in return! 😊

As usual, this is stunning! I love the dragonfly (and guess I didn't realize that there was a difference/or a thing called a damselfly!)

Gorgeous photo!

I didn't either until a few years ago, when I went a' Googling, because this blue was so unique looking. And thanks so much, @byn! 😊