Hawkweed - my entry for The Contests of Petals #yellowflowerday & #macrophotography contests

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

A couple years ago, I discovered this cool looking plant growing near my bird feeders. A short Google later, I figured out it was the awesomely named, Hawkweed.

I took a bunch of shots this morning, and thought the first one would make a good entry into today's #macrophotography contest put together by @juliank (over at @photocontests) every Thursday.

I also FINALLY remembered that @meanmommy33 suggested I check out the @petals contests, and I think I'm getting this in just under the wire for this week's #yellowflowerday - fingers crossed!

Hawkweed 1.jpg
Click for full sized shot

 
 

Hawkweed 2.jpg

 
 

Hawkweed 3.jpg

 
 

Hawkweed 4.jpg

 
 

Hawkweed 5.jpg

 
 

Hawkweed 6.jpg

 
 

Hawkweed 7.jpg

 
 

 
 

Photo credit: Traci York, taken with my trusty Nikon
Blog graphics: created on Canva

1. separator graphic swirls and star, smaller.png

Thanks for stopping by!
All words and images are mine (unless otherwise indicated),
and can sometimes also be found on my various social media sites.
Speaking of...

I have one billion many homes on the interwebz. Here are a few -

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-31T18:29:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 429.90/200.00
Total Photos: 47
Total comments: 148
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

👌 a few nice looking photos 🤘 good colorgrading

Thank you, @marjanko. Much appreciated.

Hey, Traci girl! This is absolutely stunning photography!

The fabulous details coupled with the shadow! I can touch the hairs on the dandelion!

Wow! Tip!

Aww, thanks so much, Denise! Your comments are always so awesome, and I wicked appreciate the tip! 😍

Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Hi @traciyork! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Splendorous Days Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

You got a 2.44% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @traciyork!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Beautiful bright flowers, I love flowers :-)

Thanks, @milaoz. I do too! 💚🌻

It is my opinion that 'flower' falls into the WEED genus .......... rotflmao.
Where da bird pics? {sob}

Not even just your opinion - it's a fact. The Hawkweed even has "weed" in the name...LOL!

Birds and various other creatures will appear soon. I have a backlog of stuff to go through, but the Universe isn't letting me spend much time at my keyboard at the moment... pout

Beautiful shots! Just love flowers! :)

I do too, @letsgetquirky - LOL! And thank you! 💚🌻

very beautiful your flowers, you are a good photographer.

Much appreciated, @luisananava!

It's too cool! Great work on it :)

I was curious if it's a weed, since it's really a beautiful flower. And it turns out to be a medicinal plant.

If I remember correctly, it took me a couple of days to finally figure out what it was, and I was so excited that it was medicinal as well! One of these days, I plan to harvest it. And thanks for dropping by, @kneelyrac!