Trying out another pasta recipe

I'm fond of cooking pasta! Aside from this dish being so easy to cook, its ingredients can vary from different vegetables, meats, and dairies. Usually, I just cook olive oil or tomato-based pasta dishes. Tomatoes are almost always a cheap purchase in the market and it also tastes good, and most importantly, it's very nutritious. I got bored with this recipe since that's been my go-to pasta back when I was still a college student. Pasta is easy to whip and easy to eat too. It's perfect with garlic bread but that's another story.

I've tried this Adobo (pork seasoned in soy sauce) flakes pasta from a gourmet restaurant, sadly, it closed down because of the pandemic. They have the best tasting pasta for me, aside from the Adobo flakes, they add a poached egg on top. I guess that was the inspiration of this pasta recipe I've improvised from the available ingredients in my fridge.


IMG_2226.jpg


This was so easy to prepare and cook. Of course, you can prepare all the ingredients while cooking the pasta. For the ingredients, I used the following:

  • Spinach leaves
  • Shitake mushrooms
  • Basil leaves
  • Garlic
  • Egg (poached)
  • Grated parmesan cheese

  • IMG_2227.jpg


    Everything was easy peasy, except for the poached egg. It was really tricky! It was my first time making this and I had to rely on Google to teach me the step by step process of making poached eggs. The temperature of the boiling water is very important, from putting the egg in the mix of water and a little vinegar to letting it simmer for a few minutes. What we want is to achieve that similar to soft-boiled egg for the egg yolk. The addition of vinegar in the mixture does the job of cooking the egg white perfectly. For the rest of the ingredients mentioned above, I just sauteéd the garlic, mushrooms, spinach, and basil leaves in one pan. And added the cooked pasta noodles in the mix of sauteéd veggies.

    For the finishing touch, I used some grated parmesan cheese to add flavor to the pasta. I seldom use salt to taste and I really love the flavor that comes with parmesan cheese so I am always sprinkling a little bit of it every time I'd cook pasta. What I also love with this dish is that you can easily incorporate the needed macronutrients of our body even in small amounts. It's one thing to conserve time in preparing and cooking for your meal but this should not compromise your health. Happy eating, everyone! :)

    Sort:  

    Congratulations @travelingmercies! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    You received more than 3750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

    You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

    Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day

    spinach and pasta looks yummy! :D thank you for sharing!
    126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
    https://d.buzz

    You can make tasty green pasta sauces with basil and spinach recipes. The pasta will be green in color.

    Love your Foodie post!

    Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

    Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

    Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

    Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

    Well done for mastering the fine art that egg poaching. Looks really good =D

    I haven't mastered it yet 😅but I do agree with you, egg poaching is a challenging and satisfying way of cooking eggs.