An unexpected discovery

in #music6 years ago

asc-phr-circuit.png

A few weeks ago I was rummaging through the garage looking for unwanted junk to sell on eBay when I happened across an old computer of mine packaged up in a moving box.

I don't tend to hang on to old computers. Typically I wipe the data with a multi-pass disk eraser, re-install the OS and sell it for whatever I can get to offset the cost of the replacement. So if I haven't flogged it off yet, chances are I haven't formatted it yet.

I pulled the drive and connected it to my PC via a cradle, it was unreadable but according to Disk Management, not Fat 32 or NTFS. A thought sparked, is this my old FreeNAS server? What treasures could exist here. I had to fire it up, or at least see if it booted. It did! And it was indeed my old server. After jumping a few more hurdles, namely network related, it was time to go hunting for treasure.

As expected it was largely my music collection, a stack of early civilisation documentaries and every season of "Time Team". But there was more, something I had not expected, in fact a folder I thought I had long lost. Three letters offered a huge amount of promise "ASC" (Anti Social Commentary). In case you're not aware, this is the alternative rock band I played in for close to ten years.

So why so interested in an old folder from the past?

Well, in 2008 we set out to record what was to be our first full length release - A ten track album titled "The Anti Social Commentary".

Unfortunately during production the recording suffered several setbacks including problems with the quality of the drum track audio and then studio PC hardware issues. After a hard disk failure, the session files for the album were lost for good and it was thought that the only exports that existed were pre-production demos.

To my surprise and excitement, buried in a folder called "Phoenix" (which at first I assumed would be a very average song I wrote in around 2001) was a long forgotten export of eight of the ten tracks in a very near finished state.

I've been chasing closure on this album for 10 years

It's always haunted me that several songs I consider to be some of my best writing never got to see the light of day. At long last, that's all about to change! I recently spent a day in my good friend Erek's studio (Ladd Studios) and we dusted off the tracks, gave them a polish and did what we could without being able to modify the mix. Mastering is a dark art if you ask me and I was glad to have some help on this one.

So stay tuned, because coming soon to Musicoin and various other platforms will be Anti Social Commentary's ten-years-too-late-release: "Fragments of the Lost Album".

Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thanks @illuminati-Inc, @curie appreciate your support!

You're welcome :)

It is so cool that the resurrected folder is called Phoenix!

I know, wild huh! I'm assuming it was part of some sort of last ditch effort to do something with the drum tracks :)