Game of the Neví - Chapter 10 - A'mara Books

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

game_nevi_cover_02_title_margins_1600.png

Previously...

10

(Terraday, cont.)

A’mara Complex

.
“Want more dessert,” Hira Raiden said, sitting between Ada and the abári.

“Hira,” Ada censured.

“Feel free to have whatever you need,” Rami encouraged. “Extra dessert may be exactly what Hira needs to feel more comfortable with this strange new situation.”

“Thank you, Abári,” Ada replied.

“Please just call me Rami.” The abári looked at Hira. “Shall I take you for more dessert?” she offered.

“Please,” Hira asked politely, then looked at her mother.

Ada nodded.

“Thank you, Mommy!” Hira replied enthusiastically.

Ada watched her daughter go with the abári. She watched the tribal cloak that Rami wore as it flowed behind her, the fringe fluttering as she accompanied her little girl. She felt a strange sense of peace as she watched – like this was where she was supposed to be. Maybe she was safe here.

A few minutes later, Rami returned with Hira who was smiling as she carried a small, but heaping, bowl of multi-colored ice cream. It was covered with chocolate and sprinkles as well. Ada couldn’t help but laugh.

“Feels good to laugh, doesn’t it?” Rami asked.

“Yes. I was afraid I’d forgotten how,” Ada replied.

“Did you find enough to wear for you and Hira?” Rami asked, sitting again.

“Yes, thanks. You have been so kind and generous.”

“It is our job to help people like yourself back on their feet. Of course, if you decided to train with us, you could stay here indefinitely.”

“Train?”

“You are strong, I can see it. Have you never turned off the light by thinking about it?”

“Of course. Most of our tribes can, as you know.”

“But not all grow their abilities. You can. If nothing else, don’t you think Hira deserves the opportunity we can provide for her?”

“I suppose so. I didn’t plan to leave Zley Falls, you know.”

“What happened, Ada?”

“I didn’t want the man assigned to me for a partner. I wanted someone else.”

“I think the Zley are more sensitive than that,” Rami replied. “I’ve met many from your canyon.”

Ada sighed. “You are right, it was more complicated than that. The man I wanted, I was warned against. He was too aggressive, they told me. I was too young as well, but I thought I knew what I wanted.”

“And?” Rami prompted.

“They turned out to be right. But it wasn’t until we were in Joton that I learned the truth. He was an awful man. Eventually, there was a fight and Egan killed him. Egan, of course, then claimed me as a lover. Egan was nice to begin with too, but then he changed.”

Rami took her hand. “I’m sorry you’ve gone through so much grief, but we are here to help you, Hira, and your unborn baby. However, I would recommend that you stay within our Complex until the situation with Egan has been resolved.”

Ada nodded through the tears that had suddenly burst through her previously-stoic composure.

At last the meal was over, the chocolate flan eaten and there was no further excuse to delay.

“Let’s go for a walk along the river,” Frey suggested as they left the restaurant.

Se-orna gladly took his hand again as they walked down the moonlit path, the double moons providing extra light, so close to the equinox now.

Frey led her to the flower garden. Many of the flowers had closed their petals for the night, but others had not. The heady scent of jasmine tickled Se-orna’s nose.

“It’s so lovely out tonight,” Se-orna said.

“It is,” Frey replied.

“I love the smell of jasmine.”

“Me too,” he replied, his arm around her.

“The fountain is my favorite.”

“Mine too.”

She looked at him, wondering if he was just pretending to be so amiable. His gaze was on her. He pulled her into his embrace and lowered his lips to meet hers.

“I have a confession to make,” Frey said as he pulled away slightly, his lips still tantalizingly close to hers.

“What’s that?”

“In a moment,” he said, taking another sample with his lips.

She felt his tongue against her lips.

“I’ve been watching you at the academy for awhile now, though you don’t come very often.”

“I’m not always up for fighting. Mostly when I’m bored or upset with someone,” she explained.

“I wanted to take you out from the first time I saw you, but I was scared you wouldn’t go with me. Earlier though, Jessten said you were interested.”

Se-orna smiled, then she reached for his lips which responded eagerly. She parted her lips and tasted his, meeting the tongue which danced with hers before exploring her mouth. Her hands went behind his neck and played with his hair, keeping him to her.

“Want to come back to my place?” he breathed.

“I can’t,” Se-orna murmured. She was too close to losing control for her comfort. “This is only our first date.”

“You’re right. I don’t want to push you or make you feel uncomfortable. I hope you’re not angry with me asking.”

She shook her head. “I’m not mad at you, but I really should go home. I have to work in the morning.” She smiled again, then reached for another kiss.

“Okay.”

Reluctantly, they headed back to the Complex. Finally, in front of the door, Frey held her to him again. “Good night,” he said then gave her another kiss.

“Good night,” she breathed. Then, she forced herself out of his arms, feeling the night chill on her. She gave him a peck on his cheek, then went inside.

Back in her room, she kept quiet, aware that Jessten was already asleep. Se-orna wondered if Jessten was aware of how much she had done for her.

Freebooter Apartments

.
Joneel Mern scowled as his opponent showed him the winning hand.

Egan Woardly grinned, Marline Seiber sat next to him clapping in excitement. “Another round?” Egan asked.

“How ‘bout Ninn?” Joneel asked, taking another swig of ale.

Ninn Scalaar joined them with a grin. “You don’t like your money too much, do you?”

“Egan, deal. Gotta make sure he doesn’t cheat!” Joneel said, placing some money on the table.

“I wouldn’t accuse him of cheating,” Egan said. “Not if you value your arm.”

“I’ll let him get away with it this time,” Ninn said. “He didn’t mean anything by it.”

“Sure I did,” Joneel added.

“You don’t know when to shut up, do you?” Egan asked with a laugh.

Sheena came in with Xanthine. Joneel watched the woman with covetous eyes. He could really imagine Sheena in his bed.

“You have a death wish,” Ninn observed.

“A guy can dream,” Joneel replied.

“That dream will end badly, Joneel. Best to get over that one now,” Egan agreed. Marline nodded.

“Your move,” Ninn said, drawing his attention back to the game of Wolff.

Joneel looked at his cards and scowled his disapproval, hoping no one would pick up on his lie. His hand was very strong, but was still vulnerable. He picked up a card and put it down into the discard pile. He was gambling on one card being handed to him. Precarious.

Ninn looked at him as he took a card and put it down with the other. It was a good card and would make a great plan B, but only if he sacrificed one of his best cards. Picking it up would give him a better chance at finishing first, but with a lower hand.

“Your move,” Ninn reminded.

“Just trying to decide,” Joneel said. At last, he succumbed to the temptation and took the discarded card. He threw down one of his better cards.

Ninn grinned as he took the card and completed a hand. He took the money on the table and stood up.

“Double or nothing!” Joneel demanded.

“You don’t have enough,” Ninn replied.

“I will tomorrow.”

“Go home,” Egan told him.

He looked lustfully at Sheena again.

“To your wife,” Egan encouraged.

Joneel grunted, thinking about his wife. His beautiful wife… lying in bed, asleep. Unable to deny him. Yes. He would go home and get what he needed.

♥♥♥

NEXT CHAPTER

If you have enjoyed this book, I would be grateful if you could put your thoughts as a review on [Goodreads](coming soon) for me.
Buy at: (coming soon to Books2Read, Scribl, LBRY and Lulu - paperback.)



Other Chapters of this set

Birth of the Neví - Chapter 1 on Whaleshares

Name of the Neví - Chapter 1

Mind of the Neví - Chapter 1

Game of the Neví - Chapter 1

Maps and Guides

Writing and artwork copyright myself 2005-2019 – all rights reserved.
If you are interested in helping me publish these works, please contact me on Facebook or Discord, viking-ventures#2883.

Asking @popcornexpress to bring popcorn!


Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
verified author on Goodreads
find me on Twitter
blogging on: Steem, Whaleshares, WeKu, Hyperspace


Discord Link

banner.jpg

Join us in the Official Whaleshares server in the text channel "the-phoenix-project"