Life and A Not So Very Good Day

in #health5 years ago

SunsetDec29 (2).jpg


Did you ever have a day that was perfectly horrible due to the anger, hurt and fear of 2 family members and you and your spouse are called into absorb the brunt of it and try to be counselors and help these two family members find a way to push through their differences and find a way to live in the same house for a few months?


Well consider yourself lucky, because it made for a hellacious day for me! The aforementioned family members are a grandmother(83 years old) and her grown granddaughter(23 years old) who she raised from age 4 due to her parents not being around! This grown granddaughter has now found herself, husband and 2 very young children having to live in her grandmother's house due to not so wise decisions that led to them having no car and no place to live.


I am spent from the anger and all the hurt that has been revealed to me that exists between this niece and her grandmother(my mother). Let's just say my husband and I found a way to get them to calm down, talk and hopefully live in the same house until my niece can save up money from her husband's new job and their return income tax money.


I'm a praying woman and rely on God's help and guidance, but I'm so involved that I cried enough to give myself a headache and also feel like I had the chills after hearing the loud negative yelling coming out of my niece about everything that was or has been wrong in her life since she was 12. We tried to get her to go to counseling years ago.


Just a note to let you know that this niece's daddy(my only brother) committed suicide when she was only 4 and to let you know 19 years later, the effects of it are still reverberating through her life, her 4 siblings, my life and my husband life. Over the years it has also affected my children and my grown siblings lives.


Mental health needs to be paid attention to. My brother was struggling and trying to find help, but he didn't find it. Also to let you know my daddy also committed suicide when I was 16 (my brother was 15), so my life has had this dynamic a long, long time.


I don't have the answers, I'm just trying to love the family that has been left behind.


My only other action is to pray and ask God to send healing to any and all people that are affected by a family member who commits suicide and leaves the rest of us all to grieve and move on with life.


I'm a positive and praying Christian and I still believe in a loving God and I've also had many, many happy days and years since my daddy passed away when I was 16.


If you've made it to the end of this, just try to make someone else's day/night better...
Hug them, call them, forgive them for some transgression, make them a meal, give them a ride somewhere, say something kind, ask how you can help, talk to them and listen to them.


We are all in this together, this thing called life.
"Try to brighten someone else's day".
I think that's my life motto!


And if you are thinking, why is she sharing this on Steemit - well let's just say I hope to reach more people than I would if I shared it on facebook.
I have met some beautiful, kind souls here on Steemit.


Have a Blessed Day!


violetmed150.jpg


January 3, 2019
Original sunset photo from December 29, 2018

Sort:  

Wow. It sure it hard when someone needs to feel like they are loved, but everything they say and do makes it almost impossible to genuinely share love to them how they need it. Hope she isn't also struggling with suicidal thoughts.

Sometimes when a person is able to free themselves of a debilitating mental block, all other things ruining their life will begin to melt away and life moves forward again. I think it is really scary when a person realizes even their family members can't, won't, or don't know how to help them. They can blame the world and cry about it, or they can choose to develop new strength to channel their own emotions to be positive or negative as needed. Many people never learn this is possible, or how its done.

Hope you find some restoration from this ordeal. Don't let them weigh you down when you are helping others for good.

Thanks for stopping by and your kind thoughts! No my niece isn't struggling with suicidal thoughts, thank goodness!

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Very sorry to hear all of that. There is so much sadness in the world. It was a good service that you did to help the situation.

My problems seem small to what your family has had to endure. Keep up what works for you.

Thanks, I'm just trying to take life day by day, pray and hope for life to be much improved in a few months!

I am both sorry for you and happy that your niece has someone like you to help deflect the situation. The anger she is carrying is being heaped upon the exact person that is responsible for making her life bearable.

Isn't that always the way, hurting the ones we love most?

You are in my thoughts and prayers as you and your family try to navigate everyone into safe waters. I never doubt the power of prayer. May He gather her in His arms and help her find her way.

Good luck to all. Family first. xo

Thank you @dswigle, I appreciate your thoughts and prayers!

You are so very welcome. xo

I'm so sorry that you have to go through this! I'm sure that, while she may not seem to appreciate it now, your niece will appreciate your love and kindness down the road. She is very lucky to have you.

Thank you for your love to pray and wait. I am reminded of John 9.

As he went along, he saw a man blind from birth. His disciples asked him, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him. As long as it is day, we must do the works of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work. While I am in the world, I am the light of the world.”

Thank you for sharing here. It shows the weight many have to carry and really cannot without love. Now is the best time to demonstrate unconditional love. May God continue to give you wisdom, grace and strength.

I am glad you did share it and was touched and felt for you and the family so much reading this post, I will include the family in my prayers and send postive energy that things can improve and there is less stress for your mother

Thank you so much @tatoodjay!

Most wwelcome :)

Wow my friend, your family has been thru a lot. Just show them all the love you can and yes prayer does change things! Sending you lots of love and prayers for strength and guidance in dealing with these family members.

Thank you!

Anytime! Now find your happy place again...

I'm glad I decided to call in and see how you were doing @violetmed and am also very glad you opened your heart and soul today........because although I can't give you a physical hug I can send you a cyber hug but more importantly, I can pray for you and for those around you who are suffering.

I have been involved in similar situations and it's hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel especially when you're in the middle of a very stressful situation over what would appear to be an extended period of time.

I will go to the source of our strength in prayer on your behalf and I want you to know that you're not alone. I wholeheartedly agree with your advice to be kind to one another, to forgive and to reach out to the hurting. It is an investment that will always pay off. I hope you get rest from your nurturing and peace for your soul as you continue to support your family. God Bless. xox

Thank you @trudeehunter, I really appreciate any extra prayers and blessings! I believe fully in the power of prayer! Happy New Year to you!

You're very welcome @violetmed I, too believe in the power of prayer and it's a blessing to support fellow believers in prayer. HAPPY NEW YEAR to you too. Thank you.

Oh my @violetmed. I am so sorry for your pain. All you can offer your family is your love and support. It is so hard not to be able to fix everything. Turn to God for your sustenance. And to help you be there for your family. You will be in my prayers.

Thank you so much for the prayers and I have a good support system with my husband and my bible study prayer group! Of course I believe in the mighty power of God!

Gracias a Dios siempre sigue ese lema y trato de ayudar a las personas de mi alrededor cuando más lo necesitan, y cuando no también. Sería bonito si todos fuéramos así.

Fuerzas, @violetmed. Por favor mantente bien, ojalá todo se solucione. Feliz año nuevo

i wish you all the best for the new year!

Hi @violetmed!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.647 which ranks you at #5471 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 5478).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 218 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You have collected your daily Power Ups!
Learn how to power up smart here!

wow violetmed...you have been through some incredibly tough times! I'm sorry to hear that but I know that God is your strength and He has been with you. I love your advice to love others and your niece is lucky to have your wisdom and counsel to help in these stressful times that her family is going through. God bless you!