The worrywise electric company

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

This one looks to be the makings of something much larger, so buckle up and grab some popcorn...

lightbulb-801941_1280.jpg

All at once we come into being and are here to begin our journey back to where we started from. Whatever we do in the time we have, good, bad or in between will be our lot.

So, we are in at the deep end and off we’ve gone and things come at us, influenced by our thoughts and feelings which are a reflection of our desires that come from the things we see that come from our thinking.

Which brings to mind the chicken and egg theory and which one came first? No egg can come without the chicken to lay it, but if the chicken comes from an egg then where does the egg come from?

To know the answer you have to go back to the beginning where there’s no chicken, egg, thoughts or desire, just being, and from the being came the form that is influenced by its environment that creates the shell to protect itself but not first without growth, and it’s in the growth that the form takes on determination which leads to separation and in the separation comes the distance between the inner and outer world.

Eventually the organism breaks through the shell of protection to evolve or grow to realise its nature and in that process there comes the phenomena of attraction.

For the chicken it is food, safety and mating which produces the egg.

For us it is much the same until we realise our true nature that is divine, and then we are on the road to fulfilling our purpose which is beyond the mundane of what we are led to believe, and until we know that, we are caught on the treadmill of illusion.

And now that I have answered that we can now move on to ghosts:

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

AN ILLUSION BEFORE THE FALL

Bad Lip came in the fog and glowed. “Appreciate a Zorro,” he said. And then, raising his sword he cut about in the swirling but was soon out of sight again, and then moments later the silence returned.

The fog is thick today but we have electric eyes that see through walls and friends that glow in the dark, and though I’m not immune to the silence, it’s the stillness that raises hairs.

But still I must be, for the holes are deep and surround me as I move my way onwards, and not the hair of the dog or the holy mumbles can move this more than my feet can tread in the fog that hides all.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

NOT A DOOR TOO SOON OR A WALL TOO FAR

It was only a small finger of doom, but it was pointing at me.

“Come down from there,” it said.

I moved not an inch in my tree.

But doom has ways to make you move. And so, shaking my tree I fell out and landed in the soup. The lady I landed on called out: “Who is that?”

“A monkey from the tree,” I said and ran off to hide somewhere else.

In the cave I found, it was pitch black except for the blue neon lips flitting like a butterfly around and around. As I moved to the back of the cave a flare went off, so I said: “Oh oh,” and waited to see what would happen.

When they came with their flags flying I was not as prepared as I should have been, and so I surrendered and was taken away to a place where the best part of the day was crying yourself to sleep.

I resolved to escape on the next train out, just as soon as I could find a way past the guards.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

YOU ARE HERE

“Is life as good as it gets?” I asked the guard who was delivering my dinner.

“Enjoy it while you can,” he replied about to slam the door on me as usual.

“Oh,” I said, stopping him. He looked at me with his beady black eyes for a moment.

“You cannot live longer than your death,” he said then and grinned his evil grin, and then he slammed the door shut leaving me with the watery gruel they called food in this place. As I tried to process his words I felt a little bit worried.

“Psst.”

I looked around to see where the sound came from.

“Over here,” said the voice.

I still couldn’t see anyone but in the corner a pile of rags began to move.

If you’re afraid of the dark never be locked in a room when a pile of rags moves all by itself because fear can turn to terror and you’ll find yourself trying to claw your way out of there.

Well, anyway, that’s what they say, and now after a long indifference I can see their point.

So after screaming and clawing my fingers to the bone I finally turned around to face the consequences of all my karma I guess, and there was Johnny Mungo the original counter subversive you could only dream of who had become lost in the annals of history.

I’d read his book: Chinese Sardines over and over and so knew him well from it. And now I knew what had happened to him.

THE WORRYWISE ELECTRIC COMPANY

He was wearing a ragged T shirt with the legend: The Worry-wise Electric Company stencilled on it. The tattered ends of his pants stopped well before his bare feet, and his long matted white hair could be likened to a greasy doormat found in any dope house the world over. But the thing that held my attention were his eyes that stared bright and burning from a place I knew too well.

Well I am but what I am so I snapped to attention gave a salute and introduced myself which didn’t amount to much in the circumstances but was the best that I could offer.

“Relax,” he said in a voice that could have been used to scrape fish of their scales.

Yes, relax I thought and flopped down on the sack of straw that was there for such purposes.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

YOU CANNOT LIVE LONGER THAN YOUR DEATH

And then somebody let the rain in and the fog came back and I was twice as lost as before and I found that the only escape I had was to go down the tunnel of some half formed dream I’d left behind me in another life so long ago. But no matter how far down the tunnel I went it always brought me back to where I was, and that was somewhere I could find no exit from, but I was hoping it was some temporary insanity I could wait out, some doldrums a wind would find before it was too late.

But I knew really it was all an illusion before the fall, and anyway, I was too tired to move anywhere. My defeat was total.

And it doesn’t matter what brought me down, it was going to happen regardless.

When they came again I didn’t fight, just let them find a vein to put the stuff in, and as it took hold I knew that this time I was finished.

35 years is a long time to be away from the sun.

End of part one

Part two https://steemit.com/powerhousecreatives/@wales/counter-subversive-part-two-of-the-worrywise-electric-company

Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

35 years is a long time to be away from the sun. That is a pretty profound statement.

That was a good read for sure. Well done mate!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It is of course fiction. I'm glad you enjoyed it...

Really cool collection of short stories in the "Wales in Wonderland" world. Love the way you paint your fictional pictures with your words. Looking forward to part two Silver Surfer!

Thanks nicky. Will put out part two this evening when posting is good...

Good read, Quite spooky, too. I like how the mood is set.
I hope you don't mind I flagged the spammer. If you ask, I shall remove.

Took a while to writ and I'm glad I did now. Thanks for your comment...

UpvoteBank
Your upvote bank
__2.jpgThis post have been upvoted by the @UpvoteBank service. Want to know more and receive "free" upvotes click here

Always good, thanks...

Round and round... just like the chicken and the egg :)
Yes, a pile of rags would have scared the bejeepers out of me
But I wonder would I scream and claw my way out knowing I couldn't or freeze hoping the ostrich trick works hahaha
Good one as always :D

Thanks, glad you liked it, next part later today...

Congratulations @wales! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 60000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Absolutely wonderful...

Thanks for the good read sir! It's really amazing for people to compose this kinds of stories. Anyway, Have a great weekend!

Thank you very much...

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

^flag
!gif popcorn
@popcornexpress

Dear wales:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet