Undas (All Saint's Day) - Beautiful Sunday

in #archisteem5 years ago


My Share for #BeautifulSunday initiated by @ace108


Every year we visit the cemetery together with the family and spend time with our departed loved ones. This tradition has been inherited from the Spanish which is also known as Todos Los Santos. The date is November 1 and is declared as a National Holiday. Although it is a holiday I still had to work and will just be meeting up with the family at the cemetery. Come with me today as I share with you a tradition in remembrance of the departed.


 

Undas (All Saint's Day)




I was rushing to get here from work as it was almost 5 pm. My worry was I would have trouble getting a parking space during this time. It is expected that a lot of people are headed for the cemeteries and if you are not early you would end up parking very far from the place. Fortunately, I still found a parking space near a church although I had to walk a couple of minutes it wasn't that bad.

As I neared the entrance to the cemetery you could already see the waves of people leaving and coming in. The local government organized the the traffic of people very well. They had it cordoned in the middle for the entrance and exit. This also prevent vehicles from trying to squeeze in the way to the cemetery which usually causes blockage of the flow of people.


As I neared the cemetery a lot of childhood memories comes back to me. When I was young I recall during All Saint's Day that the ambiance was very festive in a way. A lot of food and stuff are being sold here. I always wanted to bring home a toy and buy some food.


From the entrance, the police are there to maintain peace and order. I do not recall any commotions that happened during All Saint's Day. They are there to ensure that it would stay that way and apprehend anyone carrying liquor and firearms. Sorry no drinking in the cemetery.



The local government also assists the elderly to get to the cemetery. They give them a ride on this motorcycle sidecar and drop them off.


Who could tell that this is a cemetery? You would think that this is a market place. Just look at those balloons, any kid would want one. As I mentioned earlier, the smell of food emanates from this place and not only that there are a lot of stuff being sold here as well. There is some sort of exciting feeling in the air, seeing people who seems eager to spend time with their departed loved ones.


This place is big and you could almost see all the mausoleum and tombs lit up with a candle. Relatives offer flowers and put up photos of their loved ones.



Some people spends overnight in the cemetery to prepare for this day. They also bring food and snacks to share with the visitors who pays respect.


There are those who spends a lot on flowers and the flower business is very good during this holiday.




This is our spot where our relatives are buried and when the time comes I too shall be buried in this place. We are on borrowed time and we must always make the most of our life.


During this time it is also a family reunion and we get to talk with other relatives and cousins. We get to catch up on what is happening in their lives. Catching up in person is much better than just checking their social media status to know what is going on. It feels more warm and sincere.


The air is getting a bit cold, but more candles are being lit up as the sun is slowly swallowed by the horizon.


My kid lighting up the candles on the tomb of my grandpa and grandma. He never met them, but I'm sure they are glad seeing him visit. When I was young this was my job which was lighting up the candles.


My daughter also wanted to help out in getting those candles lit up.


Here is my aunt and some relatives with beautiful smiles.


Here in this cemetery my other aunt is also here paying respects to his brother. We decided to drop by and chat with her a little.


This is where my uncle lies to rest and he was a cool uncle. He used to take me out fishing and he swears a lot which we found very funny. Like every sentence he was swearing, but we all got used to it and was a very cheerful person.


Normally, it is a bit scary visiting cemeteries here when there are no people around. But this day there is nothing to worry about.


More people are pouring in and before it gets too crowded we wanted to look around a bit. See what food they have and check out the goods for sale.


An ice cream man waiting for customers holding a bell which he rings. Here in our country whenever you hear a bell you know that the ice cream man is outside so bring out your loose change and buy a cone.


All sorts of snack, chips and drinks are easily accessible. You would see a stall almost everywhere you look.


The smell of grilled hot dogs, barbecue on stick and other grilled food would make you a bit hungry. Don't forget to also get the hotdog buns grilled a great way to get that bread hot.



Other food stalls and pedaled to get more access to more people in different locations in the cemetery. They also pedal on the streets during regular days, but in this day business is good.


Nachos, hotdogs and burgers are available at a very cheap price. Here the price of 30 pesos or around $.50 for the price of two burgers. If you want the foot long sandwich it will cost you 55 pesos which is $1.00.


You want pizza it is also available here and one of the popular pizza places in the area.


I do not know if you are familiar with the the most popular fast food chain the the country called Jollibee. They have branches all over the world now and if you ever stumble on a branch do give it a try to have a Filipino taste.


Now why are there a lot of people in this stall? Let's find out.


Turns out that it is Takoyaki which is a Japanese snack. Made from flour and filled with octopus or seafood. A lot of people are buying so let's give it a try.


They cook it in this ball shaped pan to make it round and the ingredients are stuffed on top of it.


This batch has baby octopus, crabstick and hotdog. The octopus looks interesting and I think we will have that.


Here is our order and we are ready to have this quick snack. I wasn't able to take some photos of it as the kids pounced on the the moment it was served. Any way the photo on top will give you an idea and it was drenched it some sauce which was kinda sweet and spicy. Inside the Takoyaki I also found bits of shrimp which enhanced its seafood taste along with the octopus.


All sorts of toys are on display and these are battery operated which lights up.


There are bracelets and other accessories for sale. You could even find coin purses with cute animal designs.


You want gold and silver necklaces. Well, you would not find those here, but instead you would find these cheap jewelry. Fashionable if you are not too picky.


Well, after that walking my son need to use the mens room and I'm glad they provided portable toilets here. Back then it was a problem getting somewhere to relieve yourself. Easy for us to find an empty place with bushes to take a pee, but a problem for the ladies. I'm glad they provided these for the visitors to keeps the place sanitary.


The sky slowly darkens as the sun sets. When it gets dark, the place glows with all the candles lit up. As the air get a bit colder the warmth of the candles is comforting.


The sun has set, but for some it is just the beginning of this holiday as there are a lot here spends overnight.


The warm glow of the candles almost makes the place magical. A lot of people around makes the place so alive and we don't get to spend some time at a cemetery at night too often.



Time for me to go around the cemetery to see other tombs and take some photos. I hope you would enjoy some of the images I captured as I roamed this place at night.




Before leaving I happened to get a snap of my aunt as she arranges a candle on one of the tombstones. It was a very touching sight seeing her offering a candle to a cousin who passed at a very young age.



Most tombs has bars on them, but today they are open with candles to lit up by their relatives.


A sight which you only see once a year. Children at night in a cemetery lit up by the glow of candles with no thoughts of fear whatsoever.





As the night goes deeper, it is fascinating to see beauty all around. You just need to know where to look.



The popular scene called La Pieta by Michaelangelo lit up by Christmas lights which kinda reminds us that Christmas is almost here. In our country there is an exact replica of the Pieta which can be found in the Manila Cathedral. If you would like to read more about it feel free to visit one of my old content where it was featured.

Manila Cathedral


Some tombs are barred shut and left with lit up candles and the light would just die away as night goes.


It is getting late and I think it is time for us go home. No plans in spending overnight as the time we spend here has been sufficient enough in remembrance of our departed. But we must always remember that it is not only this time when we can remember our loved ones. We can honor them, but going on thru life and celebrate how they lived.


As we headed home the houses near the cemetery also had candles and some Halloween decorations still on display. It is not very common seeing Halloween decorations on houses in our country.


On the way out a lot of people were leaving, but still more people are coming headed to the cemetery. As for us, we were headed home and come back again next year to continue the tradition. Remembering those who passed and at the same time remembering the life that they lead. Honoring their memory with little things like cooking with recipes that was shared to us, going to places where they went, playing the songs that they loved and most of all loving the family.


Thank you for joining me today in experiencing Undas in our country. I hope I was able to give you a small window to our culture and tradition. Life goes by so fast and we must live it to the fullest. Until then I hope to see you again soon and do share what you think.

Have a very #beautifulsunday everyone.


 

Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness


Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness

To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 12-32 mm kit lens and Sigma 50 mm









Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://watersnake101.vornix.blog/2018/11/04/undas-all-saints-day-beautiful-sunday/

Sort:  

Dear @watersnake101,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Well, at least it was warm; here it is freezing

Oh what is the lowest temperature there? Too much cold is definitely a bummer and too much warmth is not so pleasant as well. Last summer was very hot here and you would want to stay indoors all day.

nice of them to provide the "ferry" service for the elderly.

Yes it was really nice of them taking the elderly as some of them didn't have anyone with them. It was kinda sad see some of the elderly on their own. Anyway thanks for noticing that @ace108

You're welcome

Thank you for sharing! The nights are the best!)

Oh you said it nights are very magical indeed.

Hi watersnake101,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you for the support and my big thanks to the curator. I appreciate it whoever, wherever you are Thanks.

It is very cool to see how in other places, this type of festivities are celebrated, which is to say, they are very special.
Here (Venezuela), my friends and I couldn't commemorate El Día de los Santos, but we could commemorate El Día de Muertos (Nov.02). Here's a picture of our little altar:

Sin título.png
Pretty sweet, right? ;)

Thanks for sharing your photos

Fascinating how you celebrate there in Venezuela. I love the colors and I would definitely have so much fun taking photos there.

Ah, the Filipino culture! People gathering, too many foods served and even being sold, toys and trinkets on the side. Name it, you have it. During my past visits to thr cemetery, there were even people singing with their guitars. Such glee during this holiday prompted the joke that alive people are the ones having their day instead of the dead. Sa Tagalog, yong mga buhay ang namimiyesta sa araw ng mga patay, hindi yong mga patay. 😊

I am like your son who never met my grandparents on both sides of my patents. All of them already passed away before I came into this world. I've been wondering how it is to have grandparents...

You got great and many shots there in spite of just catching up after work! Thanks for sharing them and our culture about remembering our departed love ones.

Hey kabayan how are you? How was your All Saints Day? Korek ka dyan if you think about it yung mga buhay ang na miesta during this time. Talking about fiesta malapit na yun in our city lol.
I was already a bit tired from the long day at work but I'm glad it turned out ok. I enjoyed taking photos especially when night came. It was like a playground for me. I wanted to go around more but my body tells me to give it a rest. Thanks for dropping by kabayan.

My All Saints Day was just at home. I wanted to join my housemates to go to the cemetery but apparently all of them wanted to go. Nobody wants to be left so I just volunteered to be the taong bahay. I don't knoe but it is an unspoken belief that someone should be at home during this time so there is someone to accept "visitors" when they come.

It was like a playground for me.

The cemetery, huh? 😂

It is interesting to see how you celebrate All Saints in Philippines. It looks like a big party with lots of food and fun activities for kids.

In Slovakia we go to the cemetery to light the candles and bring the flowers to the graves. People keep quiet and nobody talks to each other. You quietly go to the grave, kneel down and pray. When you're done with praying you leave the cemetery and go home. At home you light a candle behind your window. And that's it.

I like your celebration. It's nice to see that people can do something joyful while remembering their beloved ones. Those people who are not with us anymore wouldn't be happy to see us being sad and grieving.

We also don't celebrate Halloween that much. There are some Halloween parties but usually we wouldn't dress up and go from one house to another trying to get some candies :)

Thank you for sharing some details about All Saints celebration. I have enjoyed reading your story and your photos are very nice. I especially enjoyed the ones during the night.

Oh @matkodurko is also from Slovakia. The way you observe All Saints Day is very solemn. Which is very different from us but all our cultures are unique. It what makes our world beautiful. Also about Halloween it is not celebrated much here as well. But I have noticed which started just a few years ago, parties and kids going around trick or treating arranged by the local government can be seen. A few here and there but not city wide. I guess the next generation are evolving our culture. Still I love the traditions that are unique to our country. Thank you for liking my story and photos.

Yes, he is :) We have met here just a couple of weeks ago :)

I hope that you will be able to keep as many traditions as possible. I also enjoy the old ones :)

Have a great day!

Haha the situation with parking places is exaactly same in Slovakia (where I'm from) :D But all the food and festivities are something totally different than in slovakia hah :)

In Slovakia, All Saints are kinda sad. No great food, no fun and laughing...it's kind of pure remembering of the dead members of family. But I have to say I totally approve of your approach in Philliphines :) Dead is part of this world and our lifecycle :) No need to make such big deal out of it :)

You guys found a perfect balance between sad slovakian All Saints and stupid materialistic Halloween from US. I totally totally like your approach and will continue telling people about how u guys do it over there :)

Also, your pictures are absolutely amazing! Great post :)

If I came any time later I would have ended up parking near the end of town lol. I am glad I was able to reach out and share our culture. Thank you very much for taking interest. Never thought about it but yes you are quite right. The balance of sadness and joy can be felt during this holiday. Lots of food and lots of good stories, happy moments to talk about, remembering them with joy is all part of it. I'm glad you liked my photos. I really had fun taking shots in this event. Also for you to share about our culture to other people is an honor for us. Thank you.

I have heard of All saint's day but I had no idea it's celebrated this big in your country. Well, we don't even observe that here (except for Catholics, I think) but I think its such a great day to celebrate the lives of our loved ones that have departed. Well, it shouldn't be on that day that we remember them but having a day for them when we relive those memories we shared with them, the lives they have touched etc. Is great!

I love how there is food everywhere😋, so many delicious stuff, positive vibes, and great relationships too. I mean, it's not all about the sadness it should be some sort of celebration too (because obviously, our departed loved ones wouldn't be happy seeing us mourn on such a day). It's great how the celebration went.

I do love that there is help provided for the elderly too, pretty cool concept. That way,no one is left out on this day...

You have a great family there, I love the smile on your Aunts' and other relatives' face. Your kids are cute too...

Thanks for taking us through how all this happens over there...

I'm glad I was able to make a small window of our culture. You happen to pass by and you stopped to take a look. It gives me joy when people see what I am trying to communicate. This year everything is very much organized. Decades ago you would need to squeeze thru a stream of people just to get to your family spot. Thank you again for taking interest and I also will tell my family of your kind words.

😊 its my pleasure! I do love to see how things are done in other places and I am so glad that you did document this...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Nice. Parang gsto ko n rin gumawa ng blog via vornix. 😅 Or sariling blog lang... 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Go for it. The most important part of it is enjoying what you do. 😊

Hello @watersnake101, I have felt very identified with the publication because I live in a country where there is the same tradition inherited by the Spaniards and celebrates as it is.

I have a doubt, that percentages of Filipinos speak Spanish, I could notice some Latin names in the lapidas.

I like Philippine culture very much because it has an exquisite mixture like the South American, but you have its Asian side, but also English and Spanish. It is interesting how different cultural manifestations converge including the day of the dead or the saints.

Unfortunately I was not near the cemetery where my mother and grandmother rest, I could not go. but every year I go to clean and decorate the family stone, and as you say someday I will also be there.

I think it's great that there are initiatives to move people from the third age to the cemetery.

the food looks exquisite. yumm

Thank you for sharing this significant and cultural post

greetings peace and love

Our culture has mixed influences as we have been occupied by different nations throughout our history. The longest was the Spanish which lasted for more than 300 years. If you could visit our country a lot of spanish churches and structures still stands. I have been covering a lot of churches in previous contents. In regards to the language there are a lot of Spanish words that has been adapted. Also we have a creole language that is a mix of our local dialect and Spanish. Specifically in our city the language can still be heard from the elders. I just regret that I didn't get to learn it. Anyway thanks for taking interest on our culture. I'd love to see you visit your cemetery there. Do share if ever you do. Cheers!

This is SO much better than our Halloween! As always, your photos are wonderful and you make me feel like I was there! Thanks for sharing these great traditions. Nominated to @c-squared and resteemed

Hey @melinda010100. I'm still at the office right now just sneaking in a message. Thank you very much my friend for the support. Hugs to you from all of us here.

I always love hugs from you all! And happy to see all of you doing well!

This sort of festival has been happening in Ireland for thousands of years. It is so interesting to see it in different cultures.

Glad I was able to share. How is it celebrated there in Ireland?

Thank you for sharing this unusual tradition, this way to learn Death probably helps people not to have a fear for unknown and scary thing. I like that colorful celebration, you are right it is difficult to imagine that this is cemetery, looks like market, people cheerful and happy to spend time with their family members, that is really great. Beautiful photography, like your evening shots :)

Ah as you saw in the photos a lot of children playing around without any fear. Also it is a time when they are allowed to play with candles lol. The evening too was my favorite how I wanted to take more photos. Felt like it was a playground for me.

Beautiful post and All Saints Day looks like a very special one indeed. A great tradition to remember lost relatives and the way the candles light up the cemetery at night is magical. You're right, life is short and it's a good reminder to try and do what makes us happy in life (as long as it doesn't bring harm to others of course), living to the full. Thanks for sharing :)

So true do what makes us happy without stepping on others. That is the secret to eternal youth lol. Cheers bro!

What a fantastic post @watersnake101

Very comprehensive and with lots of lovely pictures. We really get a feel for the experience. I love the fact that it is an upbeat and happy occasion whilst getting the family together and remembering the loved ones that have moved on.

Thanks for sharing.

Gaz

It is the perfect balance of paying respect and celebrating the occasion. In some cemeteries there are also some food trucks and a lot of fast food chains set up as well to cater to the visitors. I'm very glad you enjoyed our culture. Thanks for the compliment.

You're very welcome.

What a fascinating tradition. I'd like to see something like that become popular here in the US. We have so many cemeteries, and they are empty for the majority of the year. People go to the sometimes for Veterans Day, which is a day to honor our military soldiers, and for Memorial Day, which is a day to honor our fallen military members. But I don't think anyone would dream of selling hotdogs and pizza there! It is very somber here at the cemetery for any kind of event really.

Thank you for sharing your lovely tradition. I really enjoyed seeing the pictures too!

I am glad I was able to share this holiday and I tried my best to capture the whole experience. It pleases me to see that a lot of people find our culture interesting. Thank you. I hope you also get to share your experience there if given the chance. All our countries and traditions are unique which makes our world amazing.

Yes, I love the variety of traditions! I wish everyone shared their traditions and we could all just participate in the ones we like best.

It fascinates me how some cultures embrace the dead - in a healthy way - making it part of life. Actually, I find it more than fascinating - the older I get, the more it makes sense. Thank you for sharing that tradition. It makes a lot of sense to me.

Seeing the sense of it all gives me the feeling of success that I was able to reach out. Sharing our culture and you found the essence of the celebration. Thank you seeing thru it.

great festivities.
Fun to have childhood memories on holidays.
#steemitbloggers

Oh I have a lot of memories during this holiday. Especially with my cousins. How I miss them as the all have migrated to a different country. Anyways lots of good memories.

you carry on the tradition
maybe they will visit during the holiay

Howdy watersnake101! wow this is such an excellent post about such an important cultural and spiritual celebration, so educational and informational! The photos are great and I learned so much from this. I think it's a great way to honor those who have gone before us and to remind kids especially of the importance of family, heritage and life.

You said it! I'm glad you enjoyed this short cultural tour during All Saints Day. Thank you very much cowboy.

you are so welcome sir watersnake101, it was a great post and I know more are coming!

Great post, It looked like a wonderful time of remembrance. The Takoyaki looked awesome as well...

Hey thanks for taking time to have a look. I appreciate it and by the way the Takoyaki it was my first time to taste it. I haven't tried the real deal and I could not compare if it was good lol.