Midnight Gems 2.0 - The written Radio Show - Episode 26 "No More Clowns (I promise)"

Midnight gems session 2.png

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing songs & covers.

Tonight I'm gonna send your mind home, and I'll take your brain to a mental dimension.

After last week's crazy mess, I promise to keep you comfortably numb this week.

music small.svg

She has 17 million followers on insta and I can´t find anything about her on wiki??? How did they get the video to look like an ancient MTV vid? Well it´s not about that, it´s about this little German Gem.

Dilla - Junge

The great thing with starting small is that I can really build up using some some bigger Gems, like this one. Big fan of Phoebe and Brandon so I was sold after the first time I hit play.

The Killers - Runaway Horses ft. Phoebe Bridgers

Keeping it small might be the theme tonight, this is still a very small song with half a million views in three years' time. Because to me this song has Dido quality, such a gentle little piece of art.

Aldous Harding - The Barrel

Now after all those horror clown songs I played last week I wanted to ease into tonight's show, but we can do with a little more speed tonight.
Sorry for that clownish show last week btw if you have a clown trauma, it must be horrible having a Coulrophobia.

Hope you forgive me as we all make mistakes.

The Palms- Future Love

This next song is the true hidden gem this week. I don´t get it the guy has no followers, well he´s got two. Only 10K views while this song is what electronic music is about for me. Using the pumps in all the right places, while still telling the story.

TimToko - Me & My Ego


Let keep that vibe going, but as you know I like it a little darker, and this was a perfect fit

PVA - Bad Dad


Yeah, that bad dad feeling is something I can relate to although it´s probably not my fault, but those thoughts keep ruining my brain.

ÄTNA - Ruining My Brain


Damn that was a nice little session, wasn´t it? Let´s return home slowly because we can´t stay out tripping all night...or can we?

Noire - Baby Blue


That shoegaze sound always reminds me of someone, a little blond British girl that might have saved my life. At least got me away from my ex-wife. That is one mistake I will never repeat, I hope.

This last band I discovered recently and as they make me think of Suede, like all the time, I really enjoy their queer post-punk vibe.

Thus Love - Repetition

Youtube Playlist

All these gems were added to the YouTube playlist.

All Midnight Gems Playlist can be found here

Spotify Playlist:

The Spotify playlist might not capture the whole show but is meant to represent it as well as Spotify makes it possible

music small.svg

Riddle Me This

Guess What, @ablaze Guessed My Riddle! So No riddle this week.

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years...Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this well-known wave of fantastic music and that you still feel like joining me on the next Midnight Gems Session coming soon.

Tag List

@beeber @mypathtofire

music small.svg

Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic
Source Pic

Sort:  

That must be the first Killers song I've heard where they aren't shouting when they sing. Its so different to their most popular songs.

If you liked that one try this one, it´s a secret guilty pleasure of mine...btw I love killers in all type of songs miss Atomic Bomb and Runaways being favorites

thx for letting me shill this one

Thanks, its very nice. Added to my playlist.

The Killers is one of those bands that I never give enough credit for. I mean I know they are there and I enjoy them, but I forget about them for a while, then I hear them again and I think oh dang, I love these guys.

They are very high on my all time favs list not sure why, it´s like Bruce Springsteen and Billy Joel the songs just hit that "damn I feel this" button

Yeah, for sure! I know what you mean!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @whywhy ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.