STV - Visiting Old Friends

in GEMSlast year

My Old Friend

I almost got a tear in my eye when I saw you,
You were standing there all by yourself.
A memory I had to let go in order to follow my dreams.

Somewhere far far away is where you will stay,
for now.
Until the day I come to revisit you.

When I find you again it will probably mean that my parents are no more.
That will be the day that all there is left from my childhood,
from me growing up is that box of memories.


This week all that was needed to get my vibes going was this picture of that picture. Well the soundtrack to that picture, as I wrote in the past; that is the best soundtrack ever in my not-so-humble opinion.

It triggered that little sort of poetic expression and a lot of memories which is a great start to #spreadthevibes

Even that bottom part with the gramophone and all the wires just is perfect. Thank you @bozz or thank the misses for me, but my gut feeling says this is your picture I borrowed.

The picture was the intro to his Three Tune Tuesday set this week.

I can not 100% agree with the Bozzes' pick of Loverboy to showcase the album as I personally would have selected one of these two:

But probably my #1 Top Gun song is:

As mentioned in my post from way back: MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated & Forgotten Songs vol.72 "Best Soundtrack In The World".

music small.svg

But of course, I would not be Spreading The Vibes on a Sunday only to shill an old post.

It was about memories and revisiting old friends, old vinyl friends. The records that made me the musical not-so-genius I am today.
The records I owned before the Compact Disc came to ruin everything.

So what records shaped my musical being, the first one must have been Bat out of Hell by Meatloaf. My stepdad had two of them and it was the first record I got together with his old record player. I must have been seven or eight years old.

Still, this album is probably the root cause of my eclectic taste:

Bat Out of Hell - Meatloaf


I think he gave me that record player just to be able to buy me a record for Christmas because that same year I got my 2nd record well my brother and I did.

Doe Maar - 4us

Awfully good album from one of the few Dutch Super Groups, and I still remember how scared I got by the song about Heroine. That song caused it to be one of the few drugs I never tried, and never hope to try.

Now the compact disc was introduced in 1982, but I did not own a player till the end of 1986. I did not even plan to own one, as I had no CDs anyway. So for my Birthday, my parents ordered me a miniset with two cassette players, but when I took it out of the box it looked weird. My stepdad pushed a button and the weird second cassette player opened and revealed that it was no cassette player at all.

I was now officially the first one with a cd player in our house, which at the time I thought was really cool.

Okay, enough memories. Let's stick to the tunes that shaped me because we still have 2 albums to go. The next one was probably the one that I needed to grow into. They were a hype at school, but I only liked a couple of songs at first. Songs like "Girls", "Fight For Your Right" and "No Sleep".

The real rap songs, not so much they needed a lot of time to grow on me, but eventually, they did.

Licensed To Ill - Beasty Boys

And the album that I probably played most growing up, an album that by now must be one big scratch is from the Boss himself.

Favorite songs?
All of them!
Pick three!
No!
You must or I kill you!
Okay :(

-Glory Day´s
-I am on Fire
-Darlington County/Downbound Train
And all the other tracks😂.

This Album has got not one single song I would skip, and except for the 7th One by Toto there is no other album that I can think of that achieved that status (I might have an eclectic taste I am also very picky).

Born In The USA - Bruce Springsteen

FFW

Now we Fast Forward to 2023 and these 4 albums are still in my Top 10 of fav albums. And here I am trying to be so open-minded and cool with my eclectic musical taste while secretly I am just as bad as all those people that admit to the fact that after their teens they stopped listening to new music.

The only difference with me is that these are pre-teen albums. The greatest albums of my teens, well that is another story and I doubt that there will be 4 of them that end up in my top 10 of all time. Just from the top of my head, I can only think of two.

Maybe one day this old fart will bore you with those when someone triggers me to write a Spread The Vibes about those dark days.

What is "Spread The Vibe?"

If you want to know more about the #STV challenge not a challenge then here is the launch post: please clikerdeeclick me and find out more by the hand of its creator @edje .

Source Pic

Sort:  

Hey, I have Born in the USA on vinyl too. I also picked up Born to Run a bit ago. My other two albums that I played just about as much as the Top Gun soundtrack would have to be Huey Lewis and the News "Fore" and "Sport" classics. It was hard to pick on song from Top Gun, they are all so good.

The only song on Top Gun I don't care fore too much is the Berlin one, it´s the one I used to skip. Thanks for inspiring this post!

No problem! Glad I could help. Keep an eye out for my three tune Tuesday post this week. I think you will really dig it.