Always trapped in fear [EN/PT]

in Hive Learnerslast month
Se preferir ler esse conteúdo em Português, clique aqui.

triple revival!.png


[EN]

I'm not a fearful person. I might even say that, in fact, I'm quite brave. However, of the few things I'm afraid of, I'm really AFRAID. Hahaha Among these few things are coulrophobia and claustrophobia.

Contextualizing for those who don't know what each of them means, coulrophobia is the fear of clowns, and claustrophobia is the fear of feeling trapped and suffocating, more commonly known as the fear of enclosed spaces.

Honestly, I don't know where these fears of mine came from. I just know they exist, and I'll talk a bit about each one and how they affect me.

Coulrophobia: the fear of clowns

It might seem silly to many people, but the mere sight of a clown can trigger an absurd crisis of anxiety and panic. And that's how I felt for much of my life.

As I mentioned before, I don't know when I started to have this bizarre fear of clowns because, as a child, I had little clown toys. Perhaps it was some trauma I suffered in childhood that I don't remember.

For me, coulrophobia has been a constant presence to this day. At one point, I sought some therapy, with the help of a psychologist and psychiatrist, because it affects me a lot. I remember once going to a costume party and, without delving deeper into the theme, I didn't realize it was circus-themed. So, you can imagine what happened, right?!

That was in 2016, if I'm not mistaken. Right at the entrance of the party, there were many circus performers, but no clowns. So, everything was fine. Upon entering the club, my friends and I looked for a corner away from the attractions, to avoid any 'surprises'. But, almost at the end of the party, I was facing away from the stage, and someone tapped me, asking to pass, when I turned around, it was a person dressed as a clown.

At that exact moment, I started feeling sick instantly. I threw up and had to leave the party carried straight to the hospital, with a panic attack. It was horrible. I remember flashes of that day. My friends carrying me, the nurse at the hospital asking what had happened, my friends trying to explain, the nurse laughing with another nurse. The next day, my friends told me that the professionals weren't very empathetic and that when I arrived at the hospital, I was very poorly attended because the team thought I was in an alcoholic coma from drinking too much (but I wasn't even drinking at that time).

Anyway, after that day, I decided that it couldn't be like this forever. I sought some therapy, as mentioned above, and the fear decreased a bit. Today, I can already look at a clown without freaking out on the spot. It just gives me a 'chill' in my body, and I can turn around, take a deep breath, and move on. But I can't, for example, go to the circus or watch movies with clowns.

A random curiosity: even the clown emoji used to make me feel uncomfortable in the past. 🤡

Claustrophobia: the fear of enclosed spaces

Just like coulrophobia, I also don't know where my claustrophobia comes from, but, for as long as I can remember, I've been afraid of enclosed spaces, of being trapped and suffocating. Elevators, tunnels, closed rooms are extremely uncomfortable environments for me.

The mere idea of being in confined spaces already triggers a visceral fear and anxiety in me; and, living in a big city, most buildings have elevators and many floors.

Recently, I needed to deliver a package to my mom, and it was on the 16th floor. I wanted to kill her at that moment. Just kidding.

I took a deep breath and went. I entered the elevator, pressed 16, leaned against the wall, and closed my eyes. Shortly after, a lady with a small child entered, and I think she noticed my fear, and she struck up a conversation with me. She said her son was also afraid. I felt a little relieved, knowing I was in company - but at the same time thinking that oxygen would run out much faster with three people breathing in the enclosed space if there was a malfunction. Yeah, that's how my claustrophobic mind works. Right after getting out of the elevator, I always feel very dizzy and nauseous. I need to stop right outside, lean against a wall, and take deep breaths for a while, until 'the soul returns to the body'. Haha

Oh, there's also a funny fact about my claustrophobia. In the mid-2000s, I lived on the sixth floor of a building with elevator access. Do you know how many times I took the elevator? Twice! I much preferred to take the stairs, even though it was less convenient and more tiring. We didn't live in that place for more than a year because I bothered my grandmother so much to move us to a different building or to a lower floor. 😅


All the content, pics and editions are of my authorship.
Written in PT-BR. Translated to EN-US using ChatGPT.
Cover: created by @michupa at Canva.


[PT]

Eu não sou uma pessoa medrosa. Posso dizer até que, na verdade, sou bem corajosa. Porém, das poucas coisas que eu tenho medo, eu realmente TENHO MEDO. hahaha Entre essas poucas coisas estão coulrofobia e claustrofobia.

Contextualizando para quem não sabe o que cada uma delas quer dizer, coulrofobia é o medo de palhaços e claustrofobia é o medo de me sentir presa e me sufocar, mais conhecido vulgarmente como medo de local fechado.

Eu, sinceramente, não sei de onde esses meus medos vieram. Só sei que eles existem e vou falar um pouco sobre cada um e como me afetam.

Coulrofobia: o medo dos palhaços

Pode parecer besteira para muitas pessoas mas, a simples visão de um palhaço pode desencadear uma crise absurda de ansiedade e pânico. E foi assim que eu me senti em boa parte da minha vida.

Como eu disse antes, não sei em que momento passei a ter esse medo bizarro de palhaços, pois, quando era criança, eu tinha palhacinhos. Talvez tenha sido algum trauma que sofri na infância e não me recordo.

Para mim, a coulrofobia é uma presença constante até os dias atuais. Por um momento, eu tratei um pouco na terapia, com ajuda de psicológo e psiquiatra, porque é uma coisa que me afeta muito. Me lembro uma vez que fui em uma festa à fantasia e, sem ter visto mais afundo sobre o tema, não me dei conta que era tema circo. Aí, vocês já imaginam o que aconteceu, né?!

Isso foi em 2016, se não me engano. Logo na entrada da festa, havias muitos artistas circenses, mas nenhuma palhaço. Então, estava tudo bem. Ao entrar na boate, eu e meus amigos procuramos um canto mais afastado das atrações, pra evitar qualquer 'surpresa'. Mas, quase ao final da festa, eu estava de costas para o palco e alguém me cutucou, pedindo passagem, quando eu me virei, era uma pessoa fantasiada de palhaço.

Naquele exato momento eu comecei a passar mal instantaneamente. Vomitei e tive que sair da festa carregada direto para o hospital, com uma crise de pânico. Foi horrível. Eu lembro de flashes desse dia. Dos meus amigos me carregando, da enfermeira no hospital perguntando o que tinha acontecido, meus amigos tentando explicar, a enfermeira rindo com um outro enfermeiro. No dia seguinte, meus amigos me contaram que os profissionais não foram muito empáticos e que quando eu cheguei ao hospital, fui muito mal atendida, pois a equipe achava que eu estava em coma alcóolico por exagero nas bebidas (mas eu nem estava bebendo naquela época).

Enfim, depois desse dia, eu resolvi que não poderia ser assim pra sempre. Tratei um pouco na terapia, como disse acima, e o medo diminuiu um pouco. Hoje já consigo olhar pra um palhaço sem surtar na hora. Apenas me dá um 'gelo' no corpo e consigo me virar, respirar fundo e vida que segue. Mas não consigo, por exemplo, ir ao circo, ou assistir filmes com palhaços.

Uma curiosidade aleatória: até o emoji de palhaço me deixava agoniada antigamente. 🤡

Claustrofobia: o medo de lugares fechados

Tal qual a coulrofobia, eu também não sei de onde vem minha claustrofobia, mas, desde que me entendo por gente, eu tenho medo de lugares fechados, de ficar presa e morrer sem ar. Elevadores, túneis, salas fechadas são ambientes extremamente desconfortáveis pra mim.

A simples ideia de ficar em espaços confinados já me desencadeia um medo visceral e uma ansiedade; e, morando em uma cidade grande, a maioria dos prédios possuem elevadores e muitos andares.

Recentemente, precisei ir entregar uma encomenda para a minha mãe e era no 16º andar. Eu quis matá-la nesse momento. Brincadeira.

Respierei fundo e fui. Entrei no elevador, apertei o 16, encostei na parede e fechei os olhos. Logo depois, entrou uma moça com o filho pequeno e, acho que ela percebeu meu medo, e puxou assunto comigo. Disse que o filho também tinha medo. Fiquei um pouco mais aliviada, por saber que estava em companhia - mas ao mesmo tempo pensando que o oxigênio acabaria muito mais rápido com três pessoas respirando no local fechado caso acontecesse uma pane. Pois é, é assim que minha cabeça claustrofóbica funciona. Logo ao sair do elevador, eu sempre fico muito tonta e com enjoo. Preciso parar logo do lado de fora, encostar em uma parede e respirar fundo por um tempo, até 'a alma voltar para o corpo'. hahaha

Ah, tem um fato engraçado também sobre minha claustrofobia. Em meados dos anos 2000, eu morei no sexto andar de um prédio que tinha acesso por elevadores. Sabe quantas vezes eu peguei o elevador? Duas! Eu preferia muito mais subir pelas escadas, mesmo sendo menos cômodo e mais cansativo. Não moramos por mais de um ano nesse lugar, de tanto que eu perturbava minha avó para nos mudarmos para um prédio diferente ou outro andar mais baixo. 😅


Todo o conteúdo, imagens e edições são de minha autoria.
Escrito em PT-BR. Traduzido para EN-US usando o ChatGPT.
Capa: criada pelo @michupa com o Canva.

darling.png

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

!ALIVE | !BBH | !PIZZA

@xlety! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @vocup. (1/20)

@xlety! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ vocup. (1/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Obrigado por promover a comunidade Hive-BR em suas postagens.

Vamos seguir fortalecendo a Hive

Metade das recompensas dessa resposta serão destinadas ao autor do post.

Vote no @perfilbrasil para Testemunha Hive.


Your post was manually curated by @CrazyPhantomBR.
banner_hiver_br_01.png

Delegate your HP to the hive-br.voter account and earn Hive daily!

🔹 Follow our Curation Trail and don't miss voting! 🔹

 last month  

Quase não da pra notar que vocÊ tem medo disso, hoje mesmo foi por pouco!

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@vocup(1/5) tipped @xlety