A Pitcher of Flowers Watercolour Painting

in GEMS4 years ago

P_20200726_224139_HDR.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share about the process of my recent painting which is a pitcher of flowers. I just followed a tutorial by a YouTube artist called Thefrugalcrafter (Lindsey). Click here if you would like to check it out.

Tools and Materials

  • A paper that can absorb water
  • Buncho water colours
  • A small round brush
  • 2 containers of water (one to mix paint and one to clean brush)
  • A palette to mix paint
  • A HB pencil to draw
  • Tissue to absorb excess paint/water

Method

P_20200710_183322_HDR.jpg

This is my drawing. I just used a HB pencil to make a basic sketch before beginning to paint.

P_20200710_192433_HDR.jpg

I did not follow Lindsey's painting method completely so my painting turned out a little different than hers. I began my painting by using some golden brown colour and I painted the entire pitcher in it.

P_20200711_010114_HDR.jpg

Well, a mini disaster happened! I was so happy and excited to paint, that I didn't realize I was painting some of the leaves in purple! Imagine the horror after realizing that. It was hard to lift colours from this paper so I just gave up for a moment.

P_20200711_015245_HDR.jpg

I just thought I will cover up the purple leaves in green later and continued painting the other parts. I painted all the flowers in purple. I added some pink in the petals and some dark blue in the edges of the petals as well to create some gradient effect.

P_20200726_184030_HDR.jpg

I painted some orange and yellow on the pitcher to make it more vibrant. Then i realized that this is a bad quality paper (it was my old sketchbook). The paper could not take a lot of water but I managed to continue the painting. I also painted some of the leaves and was experimenting with various shades of green.

P_20200726_201653_HDR.jpg

I painted all of the leaves and the centers of the flowers as well. I also added some airy looking flowers at the back to give an impression that there are more flowers apart from the three main flowers. This painting was more about having fun so I just mixed the colours as I went with the flow. By the way, I added some shadings to the pitcher with orange as well.

P_20200726_224156_HDR.jpg

I added some touch ups here and there, especially on the leaves. I also painted some colours on the ground where the pitcher of flowers was placed to give some perspective to the painting, I tried to keep the theme of purple, pink, blue and green.

P_20200726_224139_HDR.jpg

Finally my painting was done. I am glad I did not decide to get rid of the paper when I painted the leaves in purple earlier. It bothered me so much I told my cousin and she said I can always start fresh if I choose.

bitmoji-20190118051746.png

Thank you for dropping by and I hope that you enjoyed reading my post and mistakes I made while painting. Have a great day ahead!

Sort:  

Great work, you've got a nice talent there.. keep it up ^^

Thank you so much! =)

I like the purple in this one!

That makes the two of us =)

Hello cute girl @yashny

This pitcher of flowers painting looks beautiful. Thank you for putting efforts in this type of art and sharing it among us. keep sharing...

Thank you! I am glad it turned out ok as I almost gave up in the beginning =)