Kim's Taste #30: Lunch at Allegro Restaurant in Maribago Bluewater Resort and Spa

Hello Hive!

This is my first time posting here in Foodies Bee Hive community and this is also the revival of my food series Kim's Taste after one year and four months of being stale. My last post in this series was last October 3, 2019. How many of you here can still remember tasteem.io? May it rest in peace! ✌

This post is still part of my Maribago Bluewater Resort and Spa series. My first two posts were all under photography which both showcased the beach portion of the resort. I haven't shared the overall look of the resort yet. You can find the link of those two photography posts below:


Sunset by the Beach
Maribago Bluewater Resort and Spa

After this, that's the time I'll share in one big post everything about that particular resort here in Cebu. If you're wondering why I separated them in different posts instead of lumping together in one super long post, well, that's just my style. For me, I wanted to showcase one particular aspect of the place in one post while having the other aspects separated to prevent some confusion. Wait, why am I explaining myself?

So much for that very long introduction, let's now scrutinize the restaurant in review.

Allegro Restaurant is located in a pavilion near the main swimming pool area of Maribago Bluewater Resort and Spa. It provides alfresco dining by the poolside patios. It offers Filipino and American menu. They're known for their ala carte menu options. Because of the pandemic, they adhere to social distancing rules. Only 30% of the capacity is allowed.

Menu


I guess I'll never get used to those range of prices. I understood that time that we were in a resort and prices are not the same with other restaurants, but maybe because I'm poor and unrefined, I won't pay for such prices if given a chance to have options.

Our Orders

We didn't order any appetizers. We just went directly to the Specialties and Mains, Pizza, and Pasta. We were six in the group and our money's barely enough so we planned that we would order one dish each and just share with everybody. There was an eat-all-you-can lunch buffet, but we forego with it thinking we could save. If we had known the serving size, we would have pushed through with the buffet. It would have been worth it, at least.

Brick-Oven Chicken. Half-chicken tender with mushroom sauce for Php 690.00. With that price, I can already buy three (3) lechon manok! It would have been a feast! The chicken was moist and tender, but for me, it lacks some spices. Maybe due to my unrefined taste buds that I can't taste sophistication. 😂

Kare-Kare. Beef stew in thick savory peanut sauce served with shrimp paste and green mango for Php 640.00. Not just the kind of beef stew that I imagined. Again, maybe because of my unrefined imagination. It looks like a deconstructed kare-kare. Chefs really love deconstructing dishes. Those blanched vegetables on the side? No taste at all. Now, I begin to wonder why fine dining and tasting menus are so expensive and the serving size is barely enough for one person. Just imagine if you share that dish with six(6) people. Quite an experience I must say. 😂

Smoked Pork Ribs. Smoked, basted with coffee-barbeque sauce for Php 600.00. Isn't that mouthwatering? Seriously, I think that's the only mains we had that I love. Maybe because of the familiarity of the barbeque sauce. Still, with that price, I can buy two (2) pork ribs.

Carbonara. Fettuccine with creamy gorgonzola cheese sauce and rosemary focaccia for Php 470.00. I'm biased towards carbonara so I would take this for its price. I haven't had enough though. I had to share with other five (5) people, remember? It felt as if the pasta just barely reached my throat. 😂

Hawaiian Pizza. Pineapple, ham, green peas, parmesan and mozzarella for Php 450.00. It's the only pizza we ordered because we can't understand the other types. Where were the green peas and parmesan? I feel so cheated! 😂

Time for the desserts!

Moist Chocolate Cake. Choco-coffee cake layered with dulce de leche for Php 390.00. In fairness with the presentation. I guess those who can afford are really after the presentation more than the taste. But in fairness to that chocolate cake, it's really moist. I'm also biased towards desserts so I'll pay for that price, but just once. 😂

Maja Blanca Cheesecake. Cheesecake mixed with creamed sweet corn and tablea chocolate sauce for Php 370.00. I'm also biased towards cheesecakes so I'll take that, but I bet Big Mom of One Piece would have a tantrum for not having enough with that serving. 😂

I had a fresh mango shake for my drinks, as shown in one of the photos above, but I regretted that choice because I finished the whole glass even before I finished the main course. It's priced at Php 300.00.

This review is not a mockery of the restaurant, rather a mockery of our poor and unsophisticated taste. It's quite an experience though; one I could tolerate once in a while. Thanks to Sir Christian for sponsoring half of the bill due to his membership at the resort!

I guess that's all for this post. See you in the next! Maybe I'll continue with that big post or I can go back to my Moalboal series. Let's see.

Kim Ybañez

Welcome to Kim's small corner in Hive. He is a chemical engineer by profession, but a blogger by passion. He is a wanderlust and an adventure seeker. Join his quests as he visits secluded destinations, climbs mountains, tries new and exotic dishes, and explores his country (The Philippines). He's also a trying hard photographer so stay tuned as he shares his photos and his thought process while creating them.

If you like his content, don't forget to upvote and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want to. Also, don't forget to follow him to be updated with his latest posts.


Sort:  

I bet Big Mom of One Piece would have a tantrum for not having enough with that serving.

Hahaha, I love what you said there. When I was looking through the photos I was also wondering how did you divide the portions. When I eat at a fancy restaurant and while I'm browsing through the menu, I'm already thinking of the dishes that I can get for a cheaper price in another restaurant. After ordering I always hope that the dish will be worth the price through the quality, if not I just charge it to experience haha. Sometimes we just have to be practical in life.

Anyway, thanks for sharing your experience with us. I bet you looked for more food after that hahaha

😂 We even questioned ourselves how we divided it. Needless to say we had to find another food outside during the afternoon. 😂

You mean you shared everything here with five more people? How did you guys do it? All this coupled together isn't even enough for one person especially a foodie.
As for the taste have you checked your system lately? You might be running on malaria without even knowing :)

There's no malaria here. 😂

As for dividing the portion with six people, I still don't know how we did that. 🙈

rather a mockery of our poor and unsophisticated taste

Hahaha, you can actually be right, some dishes with great presentation don't always taste good but looking at it alone makes one hungry. Its only bad that after tasting it you won't feel like eating it again because it didn't meet to its expectation.

Yes! Rich people eat with their eyes. 😂

That's totally right lol

@ybanezkim26 I think I know you from Tasteem and was a part of team. Sometimes I think why there is no Tasteem-like dapp in the Hive Blockchain ehehe.

Maybe I have to start to create contest on Foodies Bee Hive Community.




Your pictures are better than my phone! Lol. Did you editing apps?

I was not part of tasteem team. I think you should have a contest too! That will definitely increase the engagement in this community.

I use Lightroom to edit the photos to make it more presentable. 😄

Is it okay if I running the contest with my personal account? I dunno if I can have access to community account or not

Yes! No problem

Wow, Great post!

Yum! Your post is awesome! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of @FoodiesUnite. @anggreklestari has also recommended your post for our weekly Foodie Truck curation post. Keep an eye out for it each Monday.

Thanks for joining the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Thanks for spreading your gastronomic delights!

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much!

Ah, you have a Kim's Taste Series! You had me at Kare-Kare, it is one of my favorite Filipino dishes and I would eat it 7 days a week. At 690 it is pricey for the quantity they've provided. I also prefer the veggies drowning in peanut sauce where I couldn't tell the difference between the banana heart and the meat and each bite is a surprise hehe. Perhaps it's because that was how I was used to eating it growing up. Great presentation though.

The choco coffee moist cake looks yummy, even for a non-dessert lover, I'd order it and probably split/share it with someone.

😂 Deconstructed kare-kare. You can really distinguish the bokchoy from the banana heart. I think we have the same version of kare-kare that we know.

That choco-coffee moist cake is the redeeming factor. I love it!

Deconstructed kare-kare, so posh! 😅 When you mentioned:

"This review is not a mockery of the restaurant, rather a mockery of our poor and unsophisticated taste. Rich people eat with their eyes. "

This brought me back to a remark from a former Cabin Crew friend who served First Class Passengers. She noticed that the richest clients she had onboard only ordered a glass of water and they didn't eat. I don't know what the reason behind this is perhaps they already ate at the First Class Lounge prior to the flight. Somehow the quantity of food on the plate served in high-end establishments has some relation to their light eating habits?

Somehow the quantity of food on the plate served in high-end establishments has some relation to their light eating habits?

Probably this. They're trying to maintain their calorie intake. Whereas the poor doesn't care about calories. They want to be satisfied.

Poor - Quantity
Middle Class - Taste and Quantity
Rich - Presentation

You've unraveled the mystery 😄 I like how you've defined the class distinction.

😂😂😂

I have an idea, I'll write that on a post-it note and attach it to our fridge door lol 😅😂🤣

Those meals look so appetizing and I love the presentations. That juice, was it a Mango Shake? I can't take my eyes off it and it's tempting me to go to Panagasama for a Mango Shake tomorrow.😅

They are so appetizing! That's undeniable. But the price and serving size? 🤔 That's why it's a mockery of my unrefined persona. 😂

Yes! That's a mango shake. Now that you mentioned it, I think I need to withdraw some of my HIVE to buy one tomorrow. 😄

Yeah, the price for a small glass means you only buy one, because you pay for the entire kilo of mangoes🤣 They need different marketing strategies.
The weather has been crap here, hope it's nicer in the city.
Looking at that shake, I'd say it's worth the Hive withdrawal🤑

It's been raining here, but not as frequent in the previous week. Mostly it rains in the afternoon.