#BeerSaturday 332 - IPA Fun Box ver. 7!

in #beersaturday7 months ago (edited)


zHops1.jpg

332 weeks is a very long time to have a drinkin' streak and I am going strong!

Being The Blockchain Beerologist definitely has its perks, including but not limited to getting paid to tour breweries and sample new beers! When I am not globetrotting and chugging pints, my fridge looks like a colourful mosaic of regional craft beer I enjoy sharing with the #beersaturday alliance of #beer bloggers on #hive.

This week, I discover an IPA tasters pack that might seem familiar to long time followers of #beersaturday!

 "image.png"

IPA Fun Box! 7th Edition!


IMG_9657.JPG

When I am at the beer store, I know my responsibility to legions of followers is to find and sample the newest and wildest beers. When I find a taster's pack, variety pack or gift pack of varied beers, that makes it easy! When it is all IPA (which is my preference) then that is a bonus. When it is part of a series that I have enjoyed and shared before, doesn't get much better than that! Here we are back again with Refined Fool Brewing and another IPA FUN BOX!

funboxes2.jpg

This is the 7th Edition of the IPA Fun Box and, as with the others I have sampled, there are some familiar and repeat brews like Van Full of Weirdos which has been in all of them. I will skip those and get into the new ones for this review.
 "image.png"

Tracksuit


IMG_9693.JPG

A tracksuit is nostalgically ironic so I am wondering about its relatability to the actual beer. The website describes it as "5% SMaSH IPA: This pale, creamy, slightly hazy crusher brewed with Nectaron hops provides a welcoming face punch of passion fruit, peach, grapefruit and pineapple with almost zero bitterness." Alright, so just some random name.
IMG_9694.JPG

But look at this pose! Is he just trying to distract me from the fact there is no such thing as a Smash IPA? 5% ABV makes it seem like more of a session ale but I guess I have to give it a taste.


IMG_9695.JPG

Well, I suited up and crushed this pint pretty quickly. Nothing too special except its mediocrity when you expect a Smash IPA. As far as a session ale goes, not bad at all! Possibly a gateway to IPA from smooth clean beer because of the extra taste without being bitter. Underwhelming bit but a little creamy, smooth, unfiltered and smashable! I don't hate this beer.

 "image.png"

Darren's Internet Search History


IMG_9689.JPG

Yes you read that right. The branding geniuses at Refined Fool had either completely run out of ideas for a beer name, or are straight fucking with us and not even trying anymore. At this point, I don't even care who Darren is and assume his browsing history is as screwed as the rest our ours is. And we are talking about a Melon IPA. This is not a thing either. You can foul a beer with anything and it becomes something besides a beer by some purists and these guys chose melon. What the hell is going on in Sarnia?

IMG_9690.JPG

When you consider the beer, get lost in the label and peel back the layers of the weirdness, you almost get in the right mindset to enjoy a "7% Melon IPA: Brewed with Belma, Cashmere and Enigma hops, this IPA is bursting with flavours of sweet fruit and melon." Solid hops and a reasonable smoothness to a fairly strong, hazy beer. I pick these variety packs in hopes of finding something good and different. Once again I have and must chuckle along with the brewers on the adventure I keep accompanying them on. Not a damn bad beer and I think I should grab one if I see it solo on the shelf. Flippantly branded or not.

beerologistapproved.png

Thanks again for a change of pace and proving that you are as adventurous if not quite great at what you do.

 "image.png"

#BEERSaturday!


I AM a better dancer after a few beers! Dance your way into golden deliciousness with @detlev and instantly become a beer blogger [here](https://hive.blog/hive-187719/@detlev/beersaturday-332)
This week for #BeerSaturday, I would like to invite @ramon2024 as I KNOW they like beer in Valencia Spain. Take a few pictures, tag #beersaturday and raise a glass with us on Hive! Beer = retirement fund!

Cheers to our global family of beer-drinkers!!

blockchainbeerologist2.png

 "text16.png"
 "zekepicklemanbeerologist.jpg"

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Would you enjoy a smash or melon IPA?

Sort:  

Great marketing on the cans! Track suits lol. I think I had one in grade school for the hockey team I played with 😂

What is a smash IPA? I've never heard of that.

We called them !PIMP suits when I was much younger.. I think it was LL Cool J that made them famous.. might be Kool Moe Dee.. I don't remember.. but it was a long time ago


You must be killin' it out here!
@davedickeyyall just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @leaky20.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/2 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

😂 nice! I don't remember how they became trendy so I'll go with your explanation.

To me, things like India Pale Lager, Smash IPA and such are just shallow attempts at standing out in a crowd. In this case, I think it is just a cool way to say session ale which are great when you want something a little lighter for a pub session or beery gathering.

Not bad!

Okay gotcha. Yeah that makes sense. There are so many different "styles" of beer now. Half just seem to be made up 😆

!BEER? WTF I thought IPA stood for Insert Penis Aqui.. that's a fun box I could really... get behind

Haha! It takes all sorts I guess. Good thing there is a beer variety for all occasions! !WEED

@davedickeyyall!

@zekepickleman passed you the virtual joint!
If you do not want to receive these comments, please reply with !STOP

Yes, maybe it's true that they don't even know how to choose names anymore and these Beer-Boxes as well as the cans are very colorful. But the content is important!
And if it's good for you, it will certainly be good for someone else. I only have Kalea Beer Box to choose from and even that I can't order what comes in the local shop. Well, I better not complain, because that's not bad either.
But I would still like to have one of these colorful collections!
!DHEDGE

They are so good, I purchase them over the old favourites I know I will love just because of the variety and progressive tasting. Sometimes I even find a new favourite but have an adventure either way.

Those colorful IPA Fun Boxes are like liquid freeze pops for grown ups -- with better flavors and other benefits!

Who comes up with the bizarre random names of these IPAs? Asking for a friend!😅

You know what goes good with beer? !PIZZA

Congrats on your 332 week beer drinkin' streak! @zekepickleman🍺

Oh yah pizza definitely goes well with !BEER

I picture bearded, plaid wearing chubby hipster brewers as the ones who come up with these goofy names. Maybe all the good ideas are taken and they have to resort to strange ones? ;)

Coming up with unique names for the IPAs would be fun. Thank you for the beer token. Too bad my !PIZZA never showed up.

!PIMP
!LOLZ


You must be killin' it out here!
@ninahaskin just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @zekepickleman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


Hey @ninahaskin, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

THank you for the nomination! I love beer! Can't wait to drink with you all!

It is a great crew and a nice Saturday blog if you are into daily content creation. Plus, when you stay at it long enough, the rewards can pay for your !BEER


Hey @ramon2024, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Enjoying your support and sending a !BEER to you

Thanks for starting this those hundreds of weeks ago, occasionally buying the next round and waving the flag for a legion of beer guts old friend!

The IPA FUN BOXES are colorful but, it's just that the box looks like candies box lolz.

Am salivating here because I haven't tasted any IPA product before

The kids call them Daddy Slurpees and they are definitely a treat!

If you haven't had IPA before and enjoy beer, they will most likely be too strong and taste too bitter until you are used to them. Careful though as once your palate becomes accustomed, regular beers become pedestrian.

Ok, but it's like am opposing the motion hahaha. Yes, I finds pleasure In bitter tastes rather than sugary tastes.

So, send me one IPA let me have a taste

SMaSH IPA is defiantly a thing. it stands for Single Malt and Single Hop, it is a beer made with a single hop and a single malt rather than what usually occurs which is a mixture of different hops and malts. It's normally used if you are trying to highlight a particular HOP variety, relatively rare and not something you would generally market but it exists, so I would give them a pass on that. I can't give them a pass for the apostrophe in the sentence 'Six Foolishly good IPA's' It's a plural not a possessive (How does this shit get past the printer), and the internet history well that's dumb too. But maybe that's the thing, maybe as Refined Fools they a deliberately making mistakes, and creating a parody of beer names - but I'm likely giving them too much credit.

Refined fools is their name afterall......hmmmm!

I have seen a bunch of single malt single hop brews and never seen them called that. Thanks for letting me know and that does make sense too.

They are nice beers
They seem to be...
Happy Sunday!

332 week? That is really consistency

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@ninahaskin(1/5) tipped @zekepickleman (x2)

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @seckorama! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.waiv

@seckorama has 14 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @davedickeyyall for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.


Hey @zekepickleman, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Smart people make things like this wisely so that their product gets publicity. Enjoy your drink. Cheers.

Hello zekepickleman!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 10th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by blind-spot

You receive 🎖 1.9 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 115 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START