Local Eats - The Winter Menu

in #foodie4 months ago


unintentionallyfoodie.jpg

I never wanted to be one of those guys. You know, the ones you see taking pictures of their food out in public? Paid to photograph and review restaurants and dishes while us common folk have to pay for our meals. Then it happened. I started blogging on the blockchain where photography and food are celebrated and upvoted! It doesn't hurt that I live in a town with an inordinate number of unique restaurants and bistros, fueled by a renowned chef school.

Working with a number of restaurant clients in town with @town-crier / https://www.towncriermarketing.ca, and attending a few parties last month, I found it was time to share some of the local eats I had the chance to enjoy.

 "image.png"

Indian!


IMG_0333.JPG

One of our favourite restaurant clients is well known to followers here as Raja Fine Indian Cuisine as we visit there regularly. This occasion was a wonderful lunch team meeting and the opportunity to take some photos for social media posts.
IMG_0016.JPG

As I recall, their take-out is equally photogenic and delicious.

IMG_0324 (1).JPG

The snacks and appetizers in this place are unbelievable. Samosas of the perfect size and texture, pakoras and mixed salads with zesty sauces. Man I often skip dinner for the apps.

IMG_0333.JPG

Lunch is something special because they serve slightly smaller portions along with rice, salad & chana masala and delicious naan bread. When you couple that with a beer, I end up taking most of the main course home for lunch the next day.

IMG_0019.JPG

Wonderful, hard-working people who also happen to serve some of my favourite food in town, and anywhere else for that matter.
 "image.png"

Thai!


IMG_8420.jpg

It is quite possible I came to love international food when living in the big city. Before that, Chinese food might have been considered exotic and I had JUST discovered Indian food. Given my appreciation for spicy food, Thai was an easy favourite. While the Thai food in this small town is not as great as I remember in Toronto, there are a few exceptions. One of my preferred restaurants just closed and is being replaced by a Taco Bell and I am not sure how to feel about that. Still a few options and I suspect more will arrive as smaller towns become better choices for newly landed chefs who want to start their own restaurant.

IMG_9087.JPG

The way they make simple ingredients look and taste so special is truly and art form and so easy to photograph.
 "image.png"

Snacks!


IMG_0262.JPG

Speaking of the big city, a new restaurant has opened in town and its owners are fellow transplants from Toronto. The Starlight Stratford is a neat new bistro that boasts Drinks, Snacks and Events. Who doesn't love those?

This neat snack is Arancini which are "Arborio Rice Croquettes, Parmigiano, Mozzarella, Tomato Sauce" and go for $15. A little steep for an appetizer but makes up for it as they are absolutely delicious and a wonderful indulgence of a treat.


IMG_0260.JPG

As for the drinks, 4 local taps, one from each local brewery is a nice touch. My hope is that I can land them as a client as spending time helping this place get noticed and supported would be fun. Besides that, our first experience here was solid and I will be returning.
 "image.png"

Drinks!


IMG_0156 (1).JPG

I never really considered drinks as #foodie material before and I wonder why. They go along with every meal, are delicious on their own, and are simply liquid food just like Guinness is breakfast in a glass. Now I know!

While enjoying vinyl night at one of the more special venues in this town, Revival House, I had to snap a picture of this tray of drinks headed to the lounge. Martinis and beers and highballs and mixed drinks oh my! Definitely not something I would enjoy every night but I sure will love when Hive reaches $10 and is accepted currency at these establishments. Next round will be on me.


IMG_9929.JPG

It is not often that I discover a new IPA at a restaurant in town. Being a #beerologist determined to research and source all of the new beers right when they hit the stores, I usually know of them before they hit the bars. Brch & Wyn surprised me with this one! I had sampled Fairweather Brewing Co. before but was pleased to find this available before I even knew it existed. Trendy labeling and definitely delicious. Haven't seen it on the shelves yet so I may have to return soon.
 "image.png"

Be a Hive Foodie!


IMG_9887.JPG

Whether you are a food critic, foodie or photographer, a blog where support from across the world translates to getting paid for it, you are a professional. Take pics. Enjoy meals you normally wouldn't. Support local businesses like restaurants and bars with your endorsement, content and business. Bake yourself a cake and snap a picture of it because a few bucks in Crypto means you are getting paid for it!

 "image.png"


zekepickleman.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

 "gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Are you a professional foodie?

Sort:  

Indian food and Thai for that matter can be so colourful it just lends itself to photography!

That drink of drinks was class, great to see that the old champagne glass is back in style. I remember my parents had a set of six as a wedding gift, and gradually it got reduced as one got broken after another!

Oh yah I probably was the cause of some of those shrinking glass collections as a kid. Not that there was much champagne at home growing up.

These days, mimosas are popular, especially for Sunday brunch and Revival House has a nice collection of champagne flutes!🥂

Those Asian foods might be too spicy, thus I would drink much more beer to ease :)

I like the way you are thinking! I did have 2 while enjoying the Indian lunch which might have had something to do with taking half of the meal home for later.

!LUV
!COFFEE

You just received 0.05 COFFEE! Good coffee my friend

number of commands left: 3

If you also want to send COFFEE buy them here on hive-engine

The dishes are looking very lovely and yummy
I’m actually not a professional foodie, lol
Nice pictures!

If you have gotten paid here for posting food pictures, I would argue you are already a professional food critic! If not, you already know how to start and build your game.

Places like Thai are actually blessed with a lot of delicacies though

These types of menu will actually be so delicious and taste so nice

I myself like the street food that is local food in this way and it is very fun and the prices are also low so people buy it easily.

Hello zekepickleman!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 7th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by blind-spot

You receive 🎖 1.6 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 188 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START