Tastiest Carrot Cake ever!!!

in Foodies Bee Hive3 years ago

1FFC6766-BEFB-4F3B-8B76-C3FD7407E8F2.png

This carrot cake wins the “most requested” prize in our family every time there is a special occasion. It’s not as easy to make as my previous recipes but it is definitely worth the effort.

AC7D3FD3-C91A-429A-8B12-AC6FDC120F79.jpeg

This cake cake be an everyday go to and baked in a loaf or ring tin, but I find it’s best received when serve as an iced layered cake. I made it recently for my mother-in-laws 70th birthday and as you can see there was much left at the end of the day.

FFBA746F-76D6-4304-A32C-7B7C49729F3B.jpeg

28A27B60-8B18-4577-A66F-111F63702637.jpeg

It will save time if you get all your ingredients out and ready ahead of baking - and grate the carrots as your first step so that they are ready to be added when needed as this part is time consuming.

Here you go and enjoy!!!

149D0808-865B-4AA0-9A29-E848851BFBB0.jpeg

CAKE INGREDIENTS
1 cup Oil
2 cups Sugar
2 ½ cups sifted SR Flour
2 cups finely grated Carrots
1 cup drained crushed Pineapple or (2-3 mashed bananas)
1 cup chopped Walnuts or Pecans
3 eggs
1 tsp Vanilla Essence
½ tsp Salt
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Bicarbonate Soda

METHOD
Preheat oven to 180C.
Grate carrots.
Cream together the oil, eggs and sugar in a large bowl.
Add the carrots, nuts and pineapple (or banana) - Mix well.
Add flour, bicarb, salt, cinnamon & vanilla essence - Beat well.
Pour mixture into 2 round cake pans or 1 ring and 1 loaf pan - make sure these are lined with wax paper and sprayed prior to filling.
Bake in the middle of the oven at 180C for 1 hour.
Allow to cool completely before icing.
Can be wrapped in cling wrap, refrigerated and iced on another day if necessary.

E29AA807-E1A4-44A1-9753-CF9D1AD66150.jpeg

ICING INGREDIENTS
250g Icing Sugar
125g creamed butter
1 tsp Vanilla Essence
Smooth Plain Cottage cheese

METHOD
Cream together adding Cottage cheese 1 table spoon at a time. (Up to 4 table spoons - but keep on tasing as you go)
Some orange rind would add tang to the flavour.
Keep the icing in a tub and smother as needed, unless serving the entire cake at once.
Ice between each layer of cake and then rustically slather it over the entire cake.

8B4D5D6D-CD90-45EA-B2AB-173CFF314C45.jpeg

My icing tool was a piece I inherited from my grandmother’s kitchen when she passed away and it is perfect!

My personal favourite is to top the cake with fresh roses. In the past I used white silk roses that also looked gorgeous.

C8A78D73-B706-4990-B773-00FD928FB35F.jpeg

I’m not a fan of fondant or buttercream flowers, as I personally like the cake to inspire freshness, beauty and scrumptiousness.

Here’s an easy downloadable version of the recipe without all my waffling!

F368311D-981B-4B92-A730-9F6CA158C8B8.png

Enjoy!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @zo3d! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day

I love this recipe! What's more, I'm going to save it. I had not thought of combining carrots with pineapple or bananas, I think the flavors will be very interesting. Excellent that you have contextualized your story, by telling us about the occasion for which you made the cake, that is, your mother-in-law's birthday, (by the way, give her happy birthday from me). As I see it, it is a delicious recipe, especially for when there are large families or when we like to eat a lot of cake. Certainly cinnamon pairs excellently with carrot, so it was a wise choice. The tool to spread the glaze that you inherited from your grandmother is great, I doubt that today they make them like that; Hopefully in the future you can inherit it to one of your children.The ingredients to use and the process are very well explained. I really liked the photos of the whole process, but I liked the final photo more, where everyone comes together. A great greeting.


¡Esta receta me encanta! Es más la voy a guardar. No había pensado en combinar la zanahoria con la piña o el cambur, me parece que los sabores serán muy interesantes. Excelente que hayas contextualizado tu historia, al contarnos sobre la ocasión por la cual has hecho el pastel, es decir, el cumpleaños de tu suegra, (por cierto, dale feliz cumpleaños de mi parte). Según veo, es una receta rendidora, especial para cuando hay familias grandes o para cuando nos gusta comer mucho pastel. Ciertamente la canela combina excelentemente bien con la zanahoria, así que fue una elección acertada. La herramienta de extender el glaseado que heredaste de tu abuela, está genial, dudo que hoy día las fabriquen así; ojalá y a futuro puedas heredarla a uno de tus hijos.Los ingredientes a utilizar y el proceso están muy bien explicados. Me gustaron mucho las fotos de todo el proceso, pero más me gustó la foto final, en donde salen todos reunidos. Un gran saludo.

Aaah! Thank you so much. I think for the triple layer cake I made 1.5x the recipe and used 3 ring cake tins.

I prefer the crush pineapple option rather than banana. But yes it’s a real crowd please and so so moist and tasty.

Thanks for the Reblog!!!

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Carrot cakes are easy to make and I love them so much! We can add some variation in the topping as well :)

Yes!! I love them so much. The Cream Cheese icing is just my favourite though!

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @sirenahippie on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Wow! Thanks so much!!!

Woohoo! Thank you @lizelle appreciate the share on Twitter!!! (I’m not on Twitter but so happy!!)

Congrats on the ocdb reward, well deserved! I try and tweet the good ones when I remember, only a pleasure tweeting great blogs like this one;) Your blogs are lovely!