A-Z MUSIC CHALLENGE | I : ICR & I MONSTER

in #a-zmusic4 years ago


I .png

Hello music lovers and welcome in our tenth day of #a-zmusic challenge started by @psos. We're almost in the middle !

It is easy to say that there is plenty of artists on every letter, but when it is coming to underrated electronic artists, things are getting complicated. Digging deep in my memories and emotions, I got a pretty reminiscent ride with my favorite atmospheric drum and bass producer

ICR

pobrane.jpg

source

Zoltan Gal, leading producer on the Hungarian drum and bass music scene, very active approximately 10 years ago. He was also journalist in ImpulseCreator, the most influential underground musical zine. With his unlimited resources of creativity, ICR also decided to run a music label for like-minded people - Misspent Music - but with the growing hype around dubstep, attention around emotional sides of drum and bass went down and he dropped all his projects and started experiments with even slower electronic music. I am not entirely sure where is he and what is he doing right now, but his gems from the previous decades will stay with me forever. I would like to recommend you tracks like I'm a Fool, Two Steps Backwards, So Unloved, Untrue but before you will google it, please enjoy his last drum and bass track ever. After this track he went all in into deep and smooth electronic.

ICR - My Only Bad Is The Lack Of All Your Good



I MONSTER

A182441131229925.jpeg.jpg

source

British electronic duo from Sheffield, established in 1997 by Dean Honer and Jarrod Gosling after The Anderson Shelter project ended. Name of their band as well as their recording label Twins Of Evil were inspired by horror films under the same name, with Peter Cushing starring as the main character. Year after founding, first from seven long play albums were ready, opening doors for innovative sounds of I MONSTER. Their biggest hit is almost 20 years old and most likely everybody heard it at least thousand times, but never had any idea about the title. Re-issued 14 times as single and included on their most successful album Neveroddoreven, chronologically second, re-issued 9 times. Finally, 22.06.2020 mystery became solved and secret revealed. Enjoy Daydream In Blue

I MONSTER - Daydream In Blue


CATCH UP PREVIOUS #A-ZMUSIC CHALLENGE EPISODES:
DAY 0: INTRODUCTION
DAY A: APHEX TWIN & AMON TOBIN
DAY B: BJÖRK & BOARDS OF CANADA
DAY C: CYLOB & CYBO3
DAY D: DAEDELUS & DUO INFERNALE
DAY E: ETHEREAL 77 & EXPLOSIONS IN THE SKY
DAY F: FLOATING POINTS & FOUR TET
DAY G: GOD IS AN ASTRONAUT & GLOBAL COMMUNICATION
DAY H : HERBERT & HATTI VATTI


If you're into the challenge like me, don't forget to support other awesome authors that joined it before and already made a huge work :
@psos, @rollie1212, @a-quarius, @rmach, @liliana.duarte, @stefano.massari, @quirk-it, @jnetsworld, @liverpool-fan, @genomil, @serialfiller, @gooddream, @preciouz, @phusionphil, @wiseagent, @biggypauls, @joythewanderer, @qwerrie, @viking-ventures

For those who would like to join the game,

Few quite simple rules below.

#A-ZMUSIC CHALLENGE BY @psos

Each day one alphabet letter
2 Bands or Singers, one song each.
Your feelings about the bands or singers.
Links to the songs.
Use the hastag #a-zmusic



Consider Supporting Author By Adding Him To Your HiveAuto Fanbase


DAILY MUSIC TAGS
Monday Trance by @andyjaypowell
Disco Tuesday by @musicgeek
Wednesday House by @andyjaypowell
Rap Thursday by @flipstar
Techno Friday by @neutronenkind
Dance Weekends by @uwelang
A-Z Challenge by @psos

enjoy
PEACE LOVE UNITY RESPECT

RavingFoxes.png

Sort:  

Well, I hadn't come across ICR before when he was a DnB producer but liking the tune you shared, very atmospheric and may try to squeeze one of these in next month's Platform Project in my "Time Machine" section. Actually, the longer the tune is playing as I'm typing this out, I think we played it out in May's show... it does sound familiar some of the sounds I've heard (but then you hear a few similar samples the more tunes you listen to in this scene!) 😁

Of course, that iconic track from I Monster is one I've heard before and takes me back in time too. Actually heard it last when I was travelling around Australia and was in the Grampians National Park Hostel cooking pasta after a long day's hike. Great memories!

ICR released at least two free albums as well as a number of official releases.
Please give yourself some time to check his tracks "Untrue", "Two Steps Backwards", "One Step Forward", "So Unloved", "Yesterday". I believe that it was more than 12 years ago when I was asking him via myspace for his unreleased tracks and he didn't have any problems to share it with me, even that I was just a fan and he was working with artists like ASC, Bop, Dephecta, Future Engineers, Macc or Mav. He was a cool guy so digging some atmospheric tunes from him would be a nice tribute.

Thanks for the tips here, I'll definitely stop by and have bookmarked this reply so I can check out his tracks when I come round to "crate hunting" weekend at the beginning of July!

to be honest I do not know anything new in drum and bass but feel free to contact with me for atmo dnb/atmo jungle/drumfunk 1995-2010 tips

there is plenty suble audio, scientific wax, inperspective, paradox music, lightless, metalheadz, goodlooking, cintamani, camino blue and fokuz recordings that are worth to be explored. As you wrote in the other comment, that you're not really a "jungle-guy", list can be shorten to atmospheric and liquidfunk possitions only. ;-)