Born Slippy [Music A to Z Challenge #U - Underworld & UXU kalhus]

in #a-zmusic4 years ago

Step by step (from post to post) I am reaching the final stretch of Music A to Z Challenge created by @psos :)

For the letter "U" I thought I couldn't remember any good song, but...once again I was wrong! I've selected Underworld and a portuguese band UXU kalhus!

When I opened a web search finder and entered "U artist"..I immediately saw "Underworld", and despite not knowing their music in detail, the "Born Slippy" marked an important moment in my life: The first time I went out at night to a disco!! Oh yeah!! I don't remember how old I was, just that I was under 15 and it was during summer vacation. Obviously I went with my cool aunt Fernanda!! This was the song I enjoyed most that night :)

It seems I was not the only one picking up this song, right @rmach!? (Music A to Z challenge #U - My choices: Underworld and UB40)


UXU kalhus is a portuguese folk group whose sound is somewhere between fusion and world music. They sang in portuguese and often make folk versions of traditional portuguese music, which makes me go in a journey to my childhood.
I also recommend the "Saia da Carolina" which is usually taught to young kids at school, but I found out it can have a double meaning, making it a cheeky song too ;) The song mentions the skirt of Carolina and a lizard tail which might be associated with man's arousal.


Hope you enjoy it too!!

If you want to join the challenge, use the hashtag #a-zmusic!


"I see my life in terms of music...I get most joy in life out of music - Albert Einstein

This quote resumes why I'm enjoying this new challenge so much!

My past posts:

Sort:  

So it seems! Underworld have been on my playlist for a looooooong time.

It is quite hard to add something new about one of the biggest anthems of electronic music, which already wasn't said and written, about Underworld - Born Slippy but the UXU Kalhus is something interesting! I've never heard about them and it is the first time ever for me. I must admit that they sounds very modern-folk, energetic and positive. Lovely vocals too. Could you please recommend me something more from them, as a good start before I will decide to dig through everything? :)

Jeez, I repeated the two suggestions I already mentioned in the post! Sorry about that :)

no problem at all, extra attention around the post ;-)

Besides "Saia da Carolina" i also love "Erva Cidreira"

:)

that lady has a musical taste)

Ahah, the lady of UXU Kalhus? ;)