Falling (or am I flying?) [Music A to Z Challenge #N - Nirvana & Nitin Sawhney]

in #a-zmusic4 years ago

This is the day I most wanted of the Music A to Z Challenge - letter N.

N of Nirvana and N of Nitin Sawhney!!

Both marked important life stage transitions of my live: from childhood to teenage and a few years later to adulthood.

The challenge today was to pick only two songs...I picked two of each :)

  • Nirvana - Rape me (In Utero - 1993)

    This was never my favorite song, but the one that made me hear and became a huge Nirvana fan.
    I listen to this song in my 13's years old, and by that time my English level was pretty low. Although, I was able to understand part of the lyrics and it messed up with my head. From that point, I needed to understand better what those guys were doing...and Nirvana became the official sound of my teenage angst.

I'm cheating a bit with my second choice because this Peel Session has 4 songs.
(Peel Sessions are live music sessions recorded for John Peel's BBC Radio 1 show, and Nirvana had at least two, one in 1990 the other in 1991.)
Although this session is much worth listening because it has three amazing versions of songs included in Incesticide album, plus D7....I love D7:

  • Son of a Gun
  • Molly's lips
  • D7
  • Turnaround


  • Nitin Sawhney - Falling (Human - 2003)

    This is definitely one of my all time favorite songs! I'm using it has a ringtone since 2007, and without getting tired! We all have our weird stuff, right? The music is great and the lyrics to, check for yourself here:

"Someday the wind will change
And you will see me clearly (...)
(...) falling, falling, falling
Or am I flying? (...)

B E A U T I F U L ! !

I haven't realized until today that two of my favorite Nitin's songs were in the same album! Well...he has other great songs with other rhythms, but these two touch my soul. Once again the lyrics are so poetic and it is sang with such intention...:

(..) I can see you in the dark
Or the flicker of a daydream
From the edge of silent tears
I remember and I smile (...)


Hope you enjoy it too!! This one is special!

If you want to join the challenge, use the hashtag #a-zmusic!


"I see my life in terms of music...I get most joy in life out of music - Albert Einstein

This quote resumes why I'm enjoying this new challenge so much!

My past posts:

Sort:  

Excellent choices! It's difficult to single out just one song, when we love the artists so much. Right!? 🤗

Exactly!! :D I did not even try to search for more, because the list would certainly still being built :)