The Musician I Have Listened And Favorite For 12 Years: Sagopa Kajmer

in #a3 years ago (edited)

screenshot_20210502_113123.jpg source
Hello to everyone. Today I wanted to write about it. Yes, I've been listening to Sagopa Kajmer for 12 years. Music takes up 90% of my time to listen, without exaggeration. The rest is due to necessity and sometimes melody or lyrics that I like.

Getting to Know Sagopa Kajmer:
His real name is Yunus Özyavuz, he was born in 1978 in Samsun. Although he got a degree in the university entrance exam in 1998, he preferred Persian Language and Literature at Istanbul University and graduated. He says that he was always interested in music and owned many records. His parents' interest in music triggered this.

He started to be interested in music and break dance in Istanbul since 1998. He became known by sharing his music on the internet for free. He can both write lyrics, make music and record. He's also a good producer. For example, another famous rapper in Turkey is Sagopa Kajmer, the producer of his famous album Med-Cezir. In the past, he used pseudonyms such as "Sılahsız Kuvvet" and "Dj Mic Check", but finally decided on "Sagopa Kajmer".

In his early years he founded a group called Kuvvetmira and at that time, almost everyone interested in rap music in Turkey gathered in this group. But in the course of time, all of the group members left the group one by one. When he divorced his wife, who was also a rapper, in 2017, he left the group and Sago remained alone in the group.

He has his own record label called Melankolia and he releases his albums with this label. This company still continues its life.

Meaning of Sagopa Kajmer Pseudonym:
He explained the meaning of this name he used in a TV program he participated in:
"A scientist doing research on the pyramids in Egypt ... he writes all the coordination inside hieroglyphs and then dies there because of the currents. Scientists who came after him, people interested in science, as they read from papyri, reveal that the person who made these discoveries, the person who discovered the Sagopa pyramid, was someone named Kajmeri. I also read this in the article during my university years." source

How I Met Sagopa Kajmer:
One day in 2006, when I was in high school, a friend of mine played Sagopa Kajmer's song "Baytar". At first this different style seemed strange to me. I could not understand what he was saying. Then I listened once more, once more, once more, I couldn't stop listening. There is also a skit at the beginning of a song by Sago that describes my situation.

After listening for a while, for some reason, Sagopa Kajmer is off my agenda. But when he released the album "Song Collector" in 2009, I started listening to him again. And I could not take a break any more.

Sagopa Kajmer used to make his songs abusive, as was the general trend in his early years. However, as of his album "Bir Pesimistin Tears", which he released in 2003, he made songs that do not contain swearing and it has gained great acclaim since then. Especially the album "Bad People Recognition Senesi", which he released in 2008, is a marvel.

Sagopa Kajmer's Audience:
screenshot_20210502_112752.jpg source

Generally, the listeners of rap music are young people. Some rappers, on the other hand, can reach a wider audience. Sagopa Kajmer is one of the rappers who can achieve this. It has listeners of almost all ages. Unlike other rappers in Turkey, their concerts are very crowded.

I also attended a concert in 2013 when I was in college. It was a great concert. I also had the opportunity to shake hands with him.

That's all for now. Maybe I can write more specific articles about him and his albums if I find the opportunity in the coming days.

Wikipedia Page: https://tr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sagopa_Kajmer

Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-7fJF4x8vV7Ynyp47h-Zow

Site of the Record Label: https://www.melankolia.com.tr/

Note: I translated the article from Turkish with Google Translation.