Adsactly Poetry - Poets of Sucre

in #adsactly5 years ago


Sucre

Poets of Sucre

Today, in our usual rendezvous with poetry, I want to introduce you to the three most important poets of the state where I live. I'm not going to make an analysis of the poems of these writers, we'll have time to dedicate a post to each of them, but I'm going to tell them about my poetic experience with them and how important they are to our country.

As many of you know, I live in Venezuela, specifically in a state called Sucre and in the capital of that state, Cumaná. Cumaná is a fishing town, bordered by an immense blue sea. It is crossed by a river called Manzanares and although it is now in total abandonment, it was once a pioneer city in culture and history. Considered the first city of the American continent, it has been the cradle of heroes who fought for the independence of America, such as the Grand Marshal Antonio José de Sucre. It is also the mother of many important poets of the country, as they are: Andrés Eloy Blanco, Cruz Salmerón Acosta and José Antonio Ramos Sucre. I will talk about them today.


Andrés Eloy Blanco

I have known the poet Andrés Eloy Blanco since I was born. I remember my grandmother, an Indian with long braids, singing songs to me that were poems by Andrés Eloy Blanco, so it's not strange that she memorized some of his poems. Andrés Eloy Blanco is considered the poet of the people. He was a lawyer, writer and politician, born in Cumaná on August 6, 1897. Along with his career as a writer, he was also a great social fighter who always sought democracy in Venezuela. For this reason, from a very young age he dedicated himself to political activity, opposing the regime that wielded power at the time, which led him to remain in exile for a long time. The themes of his poems can range from love, politics, social issues, to talking about the culture and traditions of our country.


House of Andrés Eloy Blanco

Once, as a very young girl, I won a contest proclaiming one of her most famous poems: Paint Me Little Black Angels, considered an anthem against racial discrimination. One of her verses reads like this:

Painter born in my land,
with the foreign brush,
painter that you follow the course
of so many old painters,
even though the Virgin is white,
paint me little black angels.

I am not exaggerating when I say that Andrés Eloy Blanco is one of the best known poets in our country. I have heard children recite their long poems from memory to earn a little money on tourist tours around Venezuela, and I have seen on some walls of some cities, stanzas of their most famous poems.



Cruz Salmerón Acosta

The poet who continues is Cruz Salmerón Acosta. I met this writer late. I remember that I was a young woman when I went for the first time to his house, which is located half an hour from my city and to get there I must make a boat trip. It is a very humble house that the people of the town of Manicuare have kept almost intact. This is perhaps one of those characters that we should review the life of because it is interesting. Of him we can say that he is considered the poet of martyrdom, that because he was diagnosed with leprosy, the personal doctor asked him to leave his studies and return to his village. After the government of that moment decided to close the university where he was studying, Cruz Salmerón Acosta returns to his village and takes refuge in a little house that was built away from the village and where he lived the last fifteen years of his life. I remember going to that small and remote house, but at the same time so close to nature.


House of Salmerón Acosta

It is said that Salmerón Acosta was in love with Conchita Bruzual, to whom he dedicated the most beautiful and passionate poems. When we read his texts we find that there is much of the landscape that he could see from the isolation of the house, but also from the impossible love that Cruz Salmerón Acosta felt for his beloved. In one of his most famous poems, Azul, we can perceive this dichotomy:

Blue of the landscapes of Abrileños,
sad blue of my lyrical daydreams,
that calms my intimate jitters.

You only anguish me when I suffer cravings
to kiss the blue of those eyes
that mine will never behold again.

During the month of July 1929, Manicuare lived a great drought, while the poet was dying. On the one hand, the whole town renounced God, but on the other they asked for a miracle. The poet, who was already considered a saint, told him that the moment he died, it would rain. And so it was. On July 29, 1929, the poet closed his eyes and it rained in Manicuare, on the land there was a biblical flood that still remains in the memory of the elders. I remember that the first time I went to Manicuare was at an event commemorating the poet's death, and that day it rained torrentially.


The last poet I will tell you about is one of the most important poets in Venezuela and one of the best known internationally: José Antonio Ramos Sucre. Undoubtedly, to speak of Ramos Sucre is to speak of a visionary man, misunderstood, ahead of his time, with an impressive genius, but with a life that marked him to death. To speak of his work is to speak of his fears, his monsters, his life.


José Antonio Ramos Sucre

I began to read this poet when I entered university. His poems written in prose became for me an enigma and a fascination. I was so interested that I visited his birthplace, which preserves a colonial style. There I found furniture belonging to the family, a museum where photos, books and some of the poet's manuscripts are exhibited. It is a beautiful and spacious house, with interior gardens and large windows. To see that house is to imagine a life full of joys and mischief, a life different from the one the poet lived.

He was oppressed by an uncle and a perfectionist mother, of whom he remembers only punishments and orders, as they believed that punishment was the best way to impose respect and conduct. But in spite of all this, he was a studious child, ahead in his studies, healthy, strong. We know about the negative feelings he experienced and everything he suffered through his poems and letters. One of them says:

I spent days and days without going out into the street and then I was assaulted by desperate accesses and spent hours crying and laughing at the same time. I hate the people in charge of raising me.

Ramos Sucre House

Sick, suffering from an insomnia of a thousand moons, and reluctant to continue suffering, on June 9, the day of his birthday, José Antonio Ramos Sucre closed the door of his room in Geneva and accompanied by his books by Dante, Virgilio, Goethe, he took a full bottle of veronal. Although the doctors did the impossible, and after several suicide attempts, Ramos Sucre had succeeded: he had ended his life and his suffering.


Cumaná

When I remember my childhood and my education, when I see my environment full of books, poets and great writers, I think that it is not fortuitous that I love poetry and the arts so much. My heart thaws with every verse, every book I read, as if I were setting in the sun of this land where I was born. To live in the state of Sucre is to love the sea, the sun and poetry. I am a proud and rebellious daughter of this people of poets.


I hope you enjoyed reading this text. Remember to vote for @adsactly as a witness and join our server in discord. Until the next smile. ;)

BIBLIOGRAPHIC REFERENCE

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Andr%C3%A9s_Eloy_Blanco

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cruz_Salmer%C3%B3n_Acosta

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jos%C3%A9_Antonio_Ramos_Sucre

Written by: @nancybriti

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

It is a fortune and a luxury to have you as a correspondent of the Cumanian poetry, @nancybriti, because with your writing you contribute to make known the life and the magnificent work of these three authors that make up what we could call The Holy Trinity of Cumanian poetry . I look forward to your reports and your particular contribution to the literary creation and the dramatic and intense life that each of them lived in the realization of their destiny. It is beautiful to see in this space the photos of our beloved Cumaná. Thank you for your dedication and your educational work, @nancybriti, and @adsactly for disclosing it.

Beautifully done, @nancybriti
Our poets look so good in this post. I'm sure anyone unfamiliar with their work will feel compelled to at least browse some of their verses.
You have made me take a decission. I have never been to Salmerón's house. I think I will before this month ends.
I had been planning a trip to Araya, for other reasons. I'll add a visit to the poet's house to the itinerary.
Thanks for helping propagate the works of our men and women of letters.

That's good, @hlezama. I'm sure you'll be impressed with the little house on top, as some people call it. It's a small, humble house where the bathtub where he was supposed to bathe is the most striking. Looking at the sea from there is a poem! You can imagine where Cruz Salmerón Acosta got so much inspiration from. Ideally, you should look for a guide who will tell you everything. You even know what you don't want to know. LOL. You'll tell me! A hug

A necessary and meaningful post, @nancybriti. It is necessary to spread more to the writers of Venezuela, and in particular of the State of Sucre, land that, as you say, has been the birthplace and residence of great intellectuals. The three that you treat in your article are authors of great relevance not only in Venezuelan literature.
Ramos Sucre is, among them, truly universal. The caliber of his poetic work, its transcendence in form and thought, has transcended, and since several years ago it began to be disseminated, translated and published in other languages (English, French, Italian, German, etc.), and studied in several European universities and in the USA.
I wish @Adsactly and Steemit users in general would be interested in knowing something about his works.
Thank you for your nice post, also beautifully illustrated with those photos of the houses of the treated poets. Greetings.

It would be very interesting for Venezuelans who live in steemit, to make posts that promote our intellectuals, important characters, good things. Promote everything positive that is a lot!I agree with you. Thank you for your comment, @josemalavem

Beautiful publication, @nancybriti, beautiful homage to the poets of our land. Serve your article so that the poetry of Andrés Eloy Blanco, Cruz Salmerón Acosta and Ramos Sucre is known and recognized by the readers of @adsactly. We are fortunate to have in our blood the inheritance of poets. Este poema Blue is one of my favorite. Beautiful photographs to complement your post, @nancybriti. Thanks to @adsactly for spreading it.

Venezuelan poets are so good that they need to be better known! It's a pity that in our country literature, at this moment, is not a priority. Because there is a lot of talent to export! Thank you for your comment, dear @aurodivys!

Indeed, Venezuela is blessed with legendary poets of no mean repute. It's important that one pays more attention to them by searching out to read more of their works.
Thank you @adsactly for this great post, until the next smile!

Poets with a lot of reputation, but perhaps unknown. Poetry and literature in general are not the fundamental things of some governments and some peoples. Unfortunately. Thank you for commenting, @joshuaetim!

Your walk through the poets of Sucre inspired me smiles, tears and also pride. I have had the opportunity to visit the house of each of them and despite being sown in the same land they are very different and the environment makes us imagine how their lives were. @nancybriti thank you to show them to the world and I hope to read your poems soon from your hand in @adsactly

Loading...

Awesome work

Thank you for your comment, @wahab9107

I love how you subtly exalt the poets. Keep on doing great things @adsactly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your comment, @neonilista

Que interesante encontrarme con estos poetas, gracias por aparecer con este escrito, ando en la búsqueda de poesías sobre todo venezolanas. Excelente!

Thank you for your comment, @karynfree

Hi, @adsactly!

You just got a 0.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Me crie en el estado Sucre

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "Caption this photo" and "Finish this story" contests and win prizes worth 12 Steem!

Also check out 1Ramp on Android and Web.