Magical World #29: the outdoors possibilities at Bergse Bos

in #adventure6 years ago

Life at the office

For the first time in my life, I'm spending five days a week at an office. It's a great place actually, and we have three roof terraces where I go and sit for making phone calls or for meetings with colleagues, so not bad for an office environment. But in general, I sit at a desk for far more hours than I ever did before. Which means my body is a lot less active. And then in the evenings and weekends, I feel like moving around.

Bergse Bos

As we had amazing late summer weather this Sunday, we decided to go for a walk in an area close to town where we hadn't been before - Bergse Bos. Turned out to be a great place for a hike, and that there are all kind of outdoor activities to enjoy there. As we were walking around, we first found a tower and went up for the view.

IMG_0094.jpg

The sharp lines of the tower and then the zigzaggy biking paths and the sand and the greenery... I really liked the contrasts

IMG_0095.jpg

The view from the tower was interesting, but also a bit predictable: this is what a lot of the Netherlands looks like

IMG_0072.jpg

On the way down

Unfamiliar objects

Next we came across this item:

IMG_0106.jpg

My first impression was of an upside down egg carton

This object had a sign beside it, explaining that the artist had a railway tunnel in mind when making this. Part of the explanation was that the railway tunnel as an item in the landscape seemed out of place and randomly 'dropped', just like the tower (pictures above) and climbing wall (pictures below) which are in its near surroundings.

IMG_0107.jpg

My husband wouldn't be my husband if he wouldn't try to climb an object like this

IMG_0108.jpg

Wasn't easy, from this side

IMG_0101.jpg

From the other side, he had more luck

Closed for visitors

As we were roaming around the area, we had to go around a long way because of a cycling contest. Turned out to be a bunch of really young kids on mountain bikes, but they knew how to handle their bikes.

IMG_0070.jpg

A ladder into the sky

There were a lot of people enjoying the outdoors along with us. Some cycling, some running or walking their dog, some doing watersport. There was an outdoors activities centre where you can hire a canoe and such, and they also had this huge climbing wall.

IMG_0056.jpg

Watching these people climb I felt it is something I'd like to try myself too

IMG_0057.jpg

On the other hand, I know how learning something new always takes time, how most things are harder to do than you'd think as an onlooker. My guess is, climbing requires a lot of strength and skill.

IMG_0065.jpg

This girl was doing pretty well!

Really enjoyed our time outdoors today! Hope you had a lovely weekend too.


DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

The way you got your drivers license you'll be climbing this wall in no-time! :') This is an amazing part of Rotterdam, glad you found the time to enjoy it :D

Hahaha. I wish. But yes, it really is a lovely area for spending time outdoors when the weather is lovely!! :)

Amazing pictures! I really wish that climbing wall was by where I live!

Thanks! You like climbing? Is it tough?