Ngiyampaa Rock Art Mt Grenfell

in #adventure4 years ago

Voices from thousands of years past call out from the Ngiyampaa People. Australian Aboriginal Artwork at Mt Mount Grenfell Historic Site, NSW, Australia.

NgiyampaaRockArtMtGrenfell.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

A fascinating picture. Love the colors of the stone and how they match, between the lights and the shadows that the photo captures, with the painting of these men. The effort of communication put there moves me. I would love to know exactly what they meant, if they ever imagined that their messages would last so long and be seen by so many people. I like this theme very much, in fact, I am a fan of National Geographics.
Thank you for sharing your work. I'll read your interview.

Thanks. I find it fascinating to see ancient artwork around the world. It is humanity speaking back to us from thousands of years ago. Wonder if the blockchain will still be around in a few thousand years ;-)

Actually on site and not replicas like the ones I saw in the museum once? O_O Are thre two different types of rocks or is it the lighting making it look that way?

It is the original art. It is the same rock type; its just a funny perspecive as your looking at the corner of the wall (bottom) and the roof (top) of the cave coming towards us.

these arts were inscribed on rocks?