Camping in New Jersey area USA

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

I just read a post by Purepinay about her camping experience in Cebu and it got my memories running wild so I thought I’d write some of it down.

Some of my favorite camping experiences were when my friends and I would go canoeing/camping in the Delaware River New Jersey/ Pennsylvania.

Back in the 80’s things were quite different in that part of the states.

We would get together sometimes more than 10 of us and pack lots of food, beer, alcohol and all of out camping essentials.

Back then we needed everything such as tools, lanterns, lots of food first aid kits, etc. because there were not many places to get food or drink after we shoved off in our canoes.

We would drive a few hours to Port Jervis, New Jersey and rent at least six canoes. We would load them up with all our stuff. One of the canoes would carry a keg of beer. The one in the middle.
We would shove off as soon as we got the in the morning and we would tie all the canoes side by side with bungee cords before we left. We would go on 3 day 2 night trips. The Delaware river was a bit rough depending on recent rain and weather. There are many big rocks and fast currents/rapids at times.

Since the canoes were tide up side by side most of the times we were able to just sit back and let the current take us where it wanted. The canoes would hit part of the shore and rocks but since 6 were tied together they would dislodge and continue on down the river. Wewould party, eat and fish and basically pick on each other the while time. We would sometimes catch some bass and trout. Fresh fish wow!

These were the greatest of times we had. Back in those days there weren’t many people that canoe as there are now so it was very comfortable and felt very free. After canoing for a few hours we would look for a suitable place to camp. We would then pull over and set up tents, look for firewood and get all situated before we started cooking and partying even harder until the wee hours of the night.

Nowadays you cannot have liquor, you cannot join canoes with bungees, you have to camp in designated areas, you can’t make noise and on and on. We still get together and talk about those times coz we felt very free back then and we always had a great time. We’re all in our 60’s now and still get together like we used to but not as extreme. Many of us are still alive. Heehhe.

On the third day we would stop at a designated area and the canoe renters would drive us back to our cars so we can get home.

There’s nothing better for me while camping than making the morning coffee and bacon, potatoes, egss, etc. We ate well and parties well too. Hahahaha

Some pics of me and some of my friends from 1970’s and now. Funny how time flies.

Xmas party!
D0B2FAFF-19C8-43A1-97A3-8455C903F791.jpeg

Snowskiing Hunter Mountain NY
5F7BC531-569E-4860-B1E3-E5894C6E0D7D.jpeg

Xmas party
889B44FC-A931-420A-B8FC-ED30AE5DB1F0.jpeg

Skiing again
4993C584-09BB-4DEA-8FC9-AECE59DBD125.jpeg

Camping/swimming
3CDDFCEE-444E-48D1-9120-34131B4E8122.jpeg

I refused to cut it. Hehe
CA771BB0-2420-475F-ACED-294A4D63A9C2.jpeg

When Steve flipped his car.
CD9C682F-C1F2-4CDA-A4D2-292AEFC58DC1.jpeg

We lost John 2 years ago. Sad
99CE1B7B-DCB2-467A-BA5C-E421AB5B778A.jpeg

Two years ago.
ABB818AC-E523-4D4D-BC3E-AA5F94D38DA5.jpeg

2 years ago.
DDC71D6D-B3FC-4F23-8FED-DEEB32189210.jpeg
What great memories. Thanks @purepinay for jogging my brain a bit. My @soulbella and I will be camping near Bataan in mid April for three days.

I can’t wait!

I hope you enjoyed. I did.
Life is good.

Sort:  

I like your long hair style before...hehehe.

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

This post has received gratitude of 2.32% from @appreciator courtesy of @ivantorres!

That was piece lovely mate. I also smiled at the delightful @purepinays post the other day. Again it brought back memories of simpler times. Funny thing was, tonight an old gang got back to gether for a karaoke night at a pub we used to go to every friday. First time I'd seen some people for 20 years. we're all in our 50s now and we tore the place up. The usual suspects got pissed, other s managed to get into a fight with some youngsters, but we sang, partied and laughed the evening away as if it were just last week we were last out together.
Enjoy Bataan, after 30+trips and a total of months spent wandering the Philippines between 2005 and 2010 for some bizarre reason, I always headed south from Manila and never north into Luzon. I feel I've missed out on so much...but I guess there's time yet !
Have a fabulous weekend, and thanks for a great read....we truly live in a clinical and controlled environment these days. I almost feel sorry for the millenials.....almost ;-)

Thanks sir. Yes there is still plenty if time to enjoy life. It’s not the same but we must make the best of what we have. I will meet my friends again next December and kick it some more. We do he same when we get together. The same fights and just pissing around as we did back in the day. Take care and enjoy because LIFE IS GOOD!!