Late Winter in Farragut State Park

in #adventure3 years ago (edited)

The sun was shining today and it was a balmy 52 degrees F, so I decided to drive to Farragut State Park to take a walk with my granddog. The two main entrances, Farragut North Road and Farragut South Road, were blocked by gates, but there was access to a small parking area farther along the highway, which passes through the center of the park. From there, it was a very short walk to a paved road where we could walk comfortably. Alas, the sun was playing peek-a-boo behind the gathering clouds, so it wasn't as warm as it might have been. And a brisk breeze had sprung up as well.


20210302_145738 trimmed_1.jpg

My elderly canine companion trotted along bravely for quite a good distance, stopping frequently to sniff invisible interesting things. We walked as far as the flying field for model airplanes, where I took the above photograph.


20210302_150145_2.jpg

On our way back to the car, I noticed this mound over in the woods. It's about two to three feet in diameter, and the holes were big enough for my mini-dachshund to have entered, had he chosen to do so. I would like to know what critter made this home for itself in the edge of the woods. Any ideas?


20210302_152835_3.jpg

The pooch was starting to look tired, so we got back into the car and I drove farther down the highway. A third (and less-used) entrance, Locust Grove Road, was open! By making a right onto North Kinglet Road I was able to access the lower section of South Road and drive all the way to the scenic viewpoint. I was here last fall when a wildfire was burning in the mountains across the lake. The view looked quite different today, with snow on the slopes rather than thick smoke. You can see my pictures from the fire here to compare.


20210302_154031_4.jpg

Since I had originally planned to walk along the lake, we did walk a very short distance there. But I didn't want to completely exhaust the poor old dog; he has heart problems, and I wouldn't want him to drop dead on a hike! So we returned to the car and drove home. It was a good way to spend an almost-springlike afternoon.


20210302_195414_1.jpg

Louie

All photos taken on my Android phone.

Sort:  

What a beautiful trip that was. I love the mountains. The pooch is adorable.

Thank you! His mommy and I sure think he is the best.

Wow, that is a beautiful place. Thanks for sharing. ... The only guess I can make about the hole is groundhog, but I don't know if there are any in Idaho.

According to the internet, we have marmots instead of groundhogs. I would need to do a little research to find out what marmot homes look like. We have ground squirrels all over our property, but they don't build impressive mounds like that.

I'm in love with your granddog. I can't keep any halters on mine - he chews them off, the more expensive the halter, the sooner he turns it into garbage.

What a gorgeous place you have for hikes! I even went back to see the pix with the smoke. Really love that first photo.

Prairie dog? Do they live in the Pacific northwest?

I don't think we have prairie dogs in Idaho, although they are as close as central Montana.
Glad you liked the pictures!