Weird Advertising Placements

in #advertising3 years ago

I'm sitting down watching the Taxslayer Gator Bowl and have been perplexed by an advertisement that played for Coors Light during one of the breaks.

In the commercial a presumably everyday woman is coming home from a long day. She comes in her apartment finishing her tasks then goes to the fridge to grab a Coors. After she opens that she goes to sit down on the couch while taking her bra off slinging it to her side table. The commercial ends with the text "The official beer of being done wearing a bra" followed by Coors being made to chill.

It's a great pass by commercial to give the impression that Coors is a "chill beer." I imagine its geared to highlight the light beer as something easy for women. It even gets the extra bonus points of highlighting she chose Coors over wine when she opens the fridge and pushes the wine bottle to the side. I'd think that if this was produced today they would have preferred to pass by the wine coolers instead of the wine bottle.

What I find extremely complexing is the venue for the ad to play. I'm watching an American Football game on ESPN. I might be wrong but I presume this is being watched by a 65+% male population. If that's the case why would you chose to run this advertisement over one of their traditional train through the Rockies bits.

It makes me wonder if they just made a poor placement decision or if their marketing teams realize that the market views their beer as being for women already and they are just leaning into the designation. I just can't see playing that kind of ad to a bunch of guys will encourage any of those guys to want to grab a Coors. That being said maybe there is a larger female audience maybe through hitting the couples or families watching together for the bowl to make excluding the male dominated audience worth it.

Either way its been an ad to at least have me thinking about Coors Light while my Cats go on to win another bowl game. That says something that at the very least they reached me to spend time to question their decision and think more about them. That doesn't mean I want to grab a Coors to take my bra off to though.